We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of tranquility amidst one's crusade!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility amidst one's crusade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

The date I mentioned was a visit for the Solomons Christmas boat parade, which is quite a spectacle ... and a better view of it cannot be had than from The Inn's own back yard. Stand on either of their piers and you're 100 feet from the boats as they pass by.

But ... this trip was the latest of about 40 that we've made to The Inn. It's a place of refreshment for Judy and me, and we're always there in the spring and fall. We chose it for our 40th anniversary. The Great Room is a beautiful place to spend a rainy day reading and looking out over the extraordinary gardens. Throughout the house, walls are decorated with the owner's paintings. 50 feet from the north pier is a pylon with an osprey nest on it, and -- at the right time of the year -- you can stand at the end of the pier and photograph them bringing food to their young. We've stayed in all of the rooms, and each has its own, very distinctive, charm. I would say that it feels like being home when you stay there, except that few of us have a home that nice.

The breakfasts? I have only two complaints -- too much and too good! Eat in the comfortable period dining room, or at garden tables. My favorite is the eggs Benedict on Saturdays.

Location? Within walking distance of a great maritime museum, gift shops, a superb boardwalk ice cream shop, an eclectic art gallery without a snob in the place, and at least 7 excellent restaurants of all price ranges -- most with outdoor marina dining. A moonlight walk out the causeway and around the island and back to The Inn again is about 2 miles. We've spent weekends there when we didn't move the car until we, reluctantly, left for home again. Take a ride over the Patuxent River bridge to St. Mary's county and get a view of about 20 miles of the river, then visit many historical spots going back to the early 1600's ... plus a great used bookstore in Leonardtown ... and don't miss Patuxent River Appreciation Days (Solomons) and the Oyster Festival (St. Mary's Co. Fairgrounds), usually on successive weekend in late September or early October. See where all the rehearsals for D-Day were practiced. Enjoy the museum at PAX River Naval Air Station, just across the river from The Island itself. I enjoy sitting in The Inn's back yard and watching a variety of "super-spook" Navy aircraft flying around.

Carol is a great concierge, and she can have reservations waiting for you at an excellent restaurant for your first night there.

The Inn is catty-corner to a Catholic church, and there are two Protestant churches within easy walking distance.

The Back Creek Inn is one of those enchanted spots that we always go back to. The staff are friendly and helpful, and nowhere in the world will you find a better-stocked cookie jar!

  • Liked — Comfortable beauty
  • Disliked — Deciding what to rate at 99 instead of 100 is too difficult
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wilditralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
79
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nowhere
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Nice B&B, good location, great gardens and a dock over the creek/bay. And the food was quite good. The room (Rosemary) was smallish, but we didn't intend to spend much time there, so it was fine. Great spaces to hang out in the indoor community areas. The best part was the outdoor areas with well tended gardens, grassy area, and a dock. The only negative was that the place, while comfortable, felt a bit business-like, missing that quaint touch that live-in owners of a smaller B&B would impart. Intangible, yes, but still felt it missing. Perhaps it was the size of the place: this B&B seemed like it had many rooms since a large addition was added to the main house. Overall, though, it is what you'd expect. Solomon's Island itself was a bit disappointing for a destination. Definitely check out the Marine Science center and Maritime Museum.

  • Liked — Location, gardens, breakfast
  • Disliked — Business-like feel of the place
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timotheos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We had a friend staying with us from the UK and wanted to take her on a short trip to another part of Maryland. We found this Inn online and when we arrived we were overjoyed. The first thing you notice is the glorious garden (reminiscent of an English country cottage garden) which has obviously been given a lot of care and attention. The situation of the Inn could not have been better and we felt immediately at home and peaceful.

Our rooms - we had Peppermint and our friend, Chamomile - were lovely. Spacious and thoughtfully furnished, with comfy beds and all the extras one would expect from a top class Inn. Dont expect lots of Victoriana and pretentious furnishings and loads of antiques - it is not like that.

We especially loved our screened in porch, just inviting us to sit and read a book. The fact that we had a sitting area in our room was great so that the 3 of us could enjoy a relaxing drink after returning from dinner (super restaurants within walking distance).

The Innkeepers, Lin and Carol, were exceptionally pleasant, welcoming and fun. Monica had welcomed us on our arrival and went out of her way to be helpful.

The breakfasts were a delight and we could choose to have them served out in the garden if we wished.

I am almost reluctant to post this on Tripadvisor because I dont really want to share this secret with anyone and have it booked up all year ! - we will certainly return. We have stayed in B&B's all over America (being from the UK, it is our preferred type of accommodation) and this one is right at the top.

  • Liked — Location location location, plus the close access of some great restaurants and near to lots of interesting places to visit
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

We really just needed a place to stay overnight, nothing fancy, so this place was a bit more than we needed. We stayed in the "Thyme" suite which was furnished with a big comfy bed with nice linens, a small flat-screen tv, a nice bathroom, a coffee maker, and a small fridge. A gas fireplace added to the atmosphere. The inn-keeper met us when we arrived and showed us around the property. Everything was clean and lovely. Some nice extra touches included a small assortment of sample-sized beauty supplies, soaps with the name of the Inn engraved on them, and cookies in the kitchen. Our suite was in the detached part of the house, so it was private.
Breakfast was served when we arrived in the kitchen, and we ate outside on the lovely patio that overlooks the water. It was quiet and the food (eggs benedict, served with fruit) was perfect! THe coffee was good too.
The only complaint I had was the christian music pouring out of the stereo in the morning. Neither my husband and I are christian, let alone religious -- and although it certainly doesn't bother me if someone wants to listen to that, i could see others might object to it.
Nice place, nice price, nice inn-keeper!

  • Liked — It was quiet and relaxing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

Room was comfortable, well-furnished, everything worked well -- AC, plumbing, cable TV -- all those things that are sometimes quirky in B&Bs. Facility is on the water, with a pier. Innkeeper (Carol) is personable, very helpful, made dinner reservations for us at a great restaurant. Breakfast was very good, and "pre-breakfast" coffee, juice, tea bread is available for early risers. There are also beverages (non-alcoholic) and a cookie jar available all the time. Nice touches include bathrobes, toiletries, lots of magazines, free daily newspaper, mini-fridge in room. Carol is also an artist, and her work is hung throughout the facility. We will go back if we are in Solomon's again.

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable, good food
  • Disliked — Some noise from room above.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed at the Back Creek Inn for a short weekend getaway!

What an amazing place, the food was great - - including the always packed cookie jar!

We stayed in the cottage....very clean and very quiet....

We were looking for a relaxing weekend and we go it.


(try the dry dock for dinner it was excellent!)

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TofanelliL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Back Creek Inn for our 30th wedding anniversary. This was our first experience at a B&B and it was exceptional in every way. We chose it because each room has a private bathroom and the property is waterfront which really added to the ambience. We stayed in the Chamomile Room with a beautiful handmade quilt with the Back Creek Inn motif, and the largest of the bathrooms. The gardens are beautiful and well kept. It was so peaceful to sit outside and read or have breakfast. Solomons "Island" is within easy walking distance as is the Calvert Marine Museum . Our best meal was at the Dry Dock Restaurant (also a short walk away). We both had seafood that was very fresh and expertly cooked. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were wonderful. The cookie jar was always filled and oh, so tempting!! An unexpected surprise was the original artwork by one of the innkeepers, Carol Pennock, that was displayed throughout the house.

  • Liked — on the waterfront/view
  • Disliked — unable to use computer to check internet information
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan5619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Creek Inn

Property: Back Creek Inn
Address: 210 Alexander Lane, Solomons, MD 20688
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic southern Maryland, the Back Creek Inn offers a unique blend of old and modern conveniences. For over 125 years, this waterman's home has stood on the tree-lined banks of Back Creek. First a private residence, this home now celebrates its 28th year as a waterside Bed & Breakfast Retreat. The Back Creek, one of southern Maryland's scenic waterways along which the Inn is nestled, merges with the Patuxent River and the Chesapeake Bay. Sailing and motorized boating guests may dock at one of the two slips available at the Inn's dock. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing