We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabs overlooking the by”
Review of Captain's Table - CLOSED

Captain's Table
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crabs overlooking the by”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great little marina restaurant, prompt and helpful service. Our waitress was spot-on with her recommendations.

The cream of crab soup lived up to its reputation - big pieces of crab, savory Old Bay cream soup. Yum.

My wife and I both had the crab cakes - mine broiled, hers fried. Get the fried (the crispy bits are heavenly) but the broiled were quite fine. Easily a pound of crab on my plate with an ounce or less of binder.

Sides are steam table standard, but certainly eatable.

The wine list was cute - hand written on a "guest check" - if not memorable but you should find something drinkable (we had a Kendall-Jackson Chardonnay).

Soup, two crab cake platters (each a lb of crab) and a btl of wine, $100 inc. tip. A good deal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    15
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"...and bought the T-shirt to prove it!"”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

In general… We visited Solomons (Island), Maryland … for the first time … arriving late afternoon on Friday, August 3, 2012, and departing late morning on Sunday morning, August 5, 2012. Our goal was to visit as many of the little restaurants, bars & grills, and “watering holes” within site of the water.
The weather was beautiful, the environment was soothing, the folks that we encountered were pleasant, and the entire experience was pleasing. However, we might classify this as one of those trips that fall into the category of “Been there, done that, and bought a T-shirt to prove it.” If we are to visit again, it will need to be for a special event, or something out on the water … Maybe we will need to buy a boat and see it from the marina side?!?!
As The Captains Table was conveniently located across the parking lot from The Comfort Inn Beacon Marina, we made it our first stop each evening. Note right away that if it was not a pleasant place the first day, there would have been no way we would have returned on Saturday!
It has a great location at the marina with outside sitting that allows you to “soak it all in.” We opted to sit inside at the bar and “take a load off” at the bar … and the Summer Olympic Games were on. The bartender was very friendly and we enjoyed conversation with the locals … an older crowd as you might suspect … but very welcoming. At the early hour that we visited (Friday at approximately 5:00 PM), there were about six patrons at the bar, and a half dozen or so tables being served in the inside/outside dining areas. There were several telephone calls to patrons and the restaurant of what sounded like more locals on their way. Besides beer, we only had rockfish from the appetizer section of the menu, as we planned to sample the menu at several stops that evening. Having become a recent fan of rockfish, our mouths were watering ahead of time, and we were not disappointed! The breading was light enough that we could enjoy the flavor of the fish, and enhance the taste with one of the two dipping sauces. As always, we take a look at the other dishes that are moving past us from the kitchen to the dining area, and all looked very appetizing, with captivating aromas. We stayed for about an hour, and moved on down the road. In short, nice setting, good service, great rockfish, cold beer, friendly locals!
On the second evening, having spent the afternoon at the pool, we were only thirsty, arriving after 6:00 PM. It was much busier, probably double the population as the evening before, requiring us to stand along the wall/ledge behind the bar. Ditto on everything said the night before other than we did not eat anything.
Having noted the night before that the restaurant logo on the back of the server’s T-shirt was unique/eye-catching, we opted to buy a logo T-shirt and a logo hurricane glass. Thus, as Solomons (Island) goes, “we have been there, done that, and bought a T-shirt to prove it” … thanks to The Captains Table!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reccenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for lunch and had one of the specials - seafood quiche and soup. Mine was cream of crab - YUM! The quiche was very good also and the portion was very generous. It's waterfront dining, which is really pleasant. Very highly recommend this one!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“VIEWS AND GOOD FOOD...OFF THE BEATEN TRACK!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A family gathering drew us to Solomons, stayed at the Hilton Conference Center, within walking distance to this restaurant...it is next to the Comfort Inn right on Back Creek, also just a few yards(+-) from the Calvert Museum. Ate breakfast here, excellent thick french toast, (we ordered a la carte but they offer a breakfast buffet for $10 each),wait service fine, views exceptional of boat docks and river. Had a front outside patio but ate inside. Would love to come back in the evening someday looks like a fun place to hang out and try some of their evening menu...scallops!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Get the Cream of Crab Soup”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Captain's Table is a nice place for lunch, but pass on the cream of crab soup. Very thick, odd flavor and not very much crab. Sticks in your throat.

Great location right on the water and great service. The other crab cakes and crab melts coming out of the kitchen looked fabulous,

If you are looking for a fancy dinner, best to head over to Zanhisers. Captain's Table would be good for families with children.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongsPeak2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing