We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Blue Heron is a unique facility that doesn't have the feel of a true Bed and Breakfast, it's much more private. Guest accomodations are excellent, the breakfast outstanding and the hostess goes out of her way to make the guest feel at home. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOWCAY-Abaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

For the high price, I didn't find this BB worth it. My back ached from the soft bed and they didn't bother to clean up the room on the obligatory second day.

I was in the top floor-so it was a long haul to the coffee and tea. I had an upset stomach and really could have used a cup of tea. But the kitchen/dining room is turned into a restaurant each night, so you can not make tea in the evening. Frankly, it apears that the food and restaurant is more of an interest to the owners than the lodging part. It would be a good idea for them to have a coffee maker on each of the four rooms.

I definitely didn't feel that it was worth the money.

Room Tip: The room is in back of another building. So the only view available is the narrow. At first, I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customer111212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for my wedding weekend. All of my bridesmaids got ready here also, We took pictures before the wedding with the gorgeous back drop of the water! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I highly recommend staying here for any occasion! The staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC area
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have 3 words to say about this place..."Will go back!" Amanda's hospitality was welcoming and pleasant - and the gourmet breakfasts were yummy! We stayed in one of the suites and the sunrise views off the balcony are breathtaking! The decor has some nice touches. Great quiet, relaxing, and refreshing 3 day-2 night getaway...but the next time we'll stay longer :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eb_and_lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed a Fri and Sat at the Blue Heron. It was our first choice given the pictures and location. We werent disappointed as the place was charming. Eventhough we didnt have a private balcony the views from the comfy window seats were amazing. The breakfast Sat was very nice and we liked the option of picking our own coffee. We were looking forward to something a bit more special for Sunday's breakfast but it was most of the same ingredients fixed a different way. The main balcony and living space was very nice. After a full day of sightseeing we were looking forward to relaxing on the porch with a nice drink. Since the dining room bistro is open from 530-8 we walked into a filled room. Someone asked if they could help us and we said we were staying there and just wanted to sit outside and enjoy the view. The tables on the porch were occupied by diners but we found a table in the corner without a view. We would have been okay sitting on the lawn but there were no chairs. We felt a bit uncomfortable and here we were the ones staying there. We could have chosen to eat dinner there but still would have been restricted and they serve the same dinner menu all week. We did enjoy the Key Lime Pie bistro in front of the B and B and the people and food there was nice. We would not stay at the Blue Heron again unless we had our own balcony. The new dining bistro should be located elsewhere. It was weird?

Room Tip: If you want to feel at home get a room with your own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose Blue Heron from reviews and for location. We were looking at a boat in Solomons. From reviews, we knew to look for the pie shop in front of the Blue Heron or we might have missed the sign. After a long and sweltering day, Amanda provided us with wine and cheese on the deck off our room. It was relaxing and fun to watch the boats in the harbor. Being a trained chef, her combination of brie and local cherry butter on crostini was delcious as was the breakfast the next morning. She gave us directions to the farm stand up the road that she buys from. We were there only one night but really wished we could stay longer. Some of the few shops were closed on Tues. but the store at the Maritime Museum made up for it. We had a delicious dinner of oysters and crab cakes at (Stoney's) Solomons Pier across the street. They also made an awsome mojito.
The Bistro is only open Thurs,- Sat. Sorry we missed it.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, don't get suite 2- the transom lights let the sun shine at 6:00 am in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron for a little weekend R&R. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The B&B is in the heart of Solomons, but it is a few yards off of the main drag and sits behind a pie shop. The rooms are all on the back of the house, so you can hear very little, if any, traffic. We stayed in suite #1. It was pretty darn spacious, with a large bedroom, huge bathroom with a large steam shower, and a nice little separate "sitting area". The bedroom opens onto a back balcony, and since the room is on the second floor, it has an outstanding view of the narrows and the harbor. Since the balcony is east-facing, you can literally use the sunrise as an alarm clock...when the weather is right the sunrise will be stunning. The bed was a large king-sized sleigh bed that was rock solid and very comfortable. Breakfast is from 0830 to 1000, and is cooked right there by the owner (Amanda) or the sous chef (Joe). We had eggs Benedict one morning and crepes the next...both were outstanding and came with the usual complement of juice, fruit, etc. They have a Kureig machine for coffee and tea, with several different varieties provided. I assume if you just had to have your own personal favorite, they wouldn't mind if you used your own. They have tables set up right off the kitchen or you can eat out on the back porch with the downstairs view of the water. They are planning to open a small bistro later this year. We saw some bikes and kayaks, which I believe are available for guests. We saw several groups of kayak-ers in the not-too-busy harbor. Wine was available for $24 a bottle. Solomons itself is rather small and a bit sleepy...just what we wanted. There are several boat charters, restaurants and a couple of bars, all within walking distance. They have a short, but very nice boardwalk. The Calvert Marine Museum and the Drum Point Lighthouse are only a stone's throw away. This was a great get-away only an hour from the south side of DC...quaint and relaxing, we would recommend it and we'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAFReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
397 reviews
13.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
186 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14614 Solomons Island Rd, Solomons, MD 20688
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing