We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Water”

Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solomons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Solomons B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the Water”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose Blue Heron from reviews and for location. We were looking at a boat in Solomons. From reviews, we knew to look for the pie shop in front of the Blue Heron or we might have missed the sign. After a long and sweltering day, Amanda provided us with wine and cheese on the deck off our room. It was relaxing and fun to watch the boats in the harbor. Being a trained chef, her combination of brie and local cherry butter on crostini was delcious as was the breakfast the next morning. She gave us directions to the farm stand up the road that she buys from. We were there only one night but really wished we could stay longer. Some of the few shops were closed on Tues. but the store at the Maritime Museum made up for it. We had a delicious dinner of oysters and crab cakes at (Stoney's) Solomons Pier across the street. They also made an awsome mojito.
The Bistro is only open Thurs,- Sat. Sorry we missed it.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, don't get suite 2- the transom lights let the sun shine at 6:00 am in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mowab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron for a little weekend R&R. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The B&B is in the heart of Solomons, but it is a few yards off of the main drag and sits behind a pie shop. The rooms are all on the back of the house, so you can hear very little, if any, traffic. We stayed in suite #1. It was pretty darn spacious, with a large bedroom, huge bathroom with a large steam shower, and a nice little separate "sitting area". The bedroom opens onto a back balcony, and since the room is on the second floor, it has an outstanding view of the narrows and the harbor. Since the balcony is east-facing, you can literally use the sunrise as an alarm clock...when the weather is right the sunrise will be stunning. The bed was a large king-sized sleigh bed that was rock solid and very comfortable. Breakfast is from 0830 to 1000, and is cooked right there by the owner (Amanda) or the sous chef (Joe). We had eggs Benedict one morning and crepes the next...both were outstanding and came with the usual complement of juice, fruit, etc. They have a Kureig machine for coffee and tea, with several different varieties provided. I assume if you just had to have your own personal favorite, they wouldn't mind if you used your own. They have tables set up right off the kitchen or you can eat out on the back porch with the downstairs view of the water. They are planning to open a small bistro later this year. We saw some bikes and kayaks, which I believe are available for guests. We saw several groups of kayak-ers in the not-too-busy harbor. Wine was available for $24 a bottle. Solomons itself is rather small and a bit sleepy...just what we wanted. There are several boat charters, restaurants and a couple of bars, all within walking distance. They have a short, but very nice boardwalk. The Calvert Marine Museum and the Drum Point Lighthouse are only a stone's throw away. This was a great get-away only an hour from the south side of DC...quaint and relaxing, we would recommend it and we'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAFReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, md
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I wanted to stay in Southern Maryland the night before our daughter's graduation from St. Mary's College and chose the Blue Heron B&B over less expensive alternatives. It was definitely worth it.

The Inn is on the main drag through the Solomon's waterfront, but it actually sits at the end of a long blue driveway, behind a pie shop! From the outside it is a very attactive building with a nice backyard to leads to a dock on Mill Creek. There are several bicycles to use and a kayak, as well.

We stayed in Room 4, a dormer room a window seat that has a phenomenal view (especially at sunrise) over Mill Creek and out onto the Patuxent River. In the early am you see the lights of the crabbing and oyster and fishing boats going up, followed by the sunrise. The other window technically had a view of the Patuxent River, but mostly you saw trees and the back of the pie shop.

Huge, comfortable bed, two nice comfy/cozy chairs. Nothing fancy about the bathroom - since it is a dormer room, the slanted ceiling in the bathroom does lead to head bumping. That, and the fact that all of the magazines scattered around the room and the hotel seemed to be from 2008 at the most recent, are the only minor complaints I had.

You can walk to all the restaurants and shops from the Blue Heron. We decided to slum it, and walked down to the Tiki Bar for Mai Tais, where by 9pm everyone was pretty much wasted and the guys lighting up stogies from the cigar store were adding air pollution to the mix. But if you are down that way, you sort of have to experience the Tiki Bar in full swing.

Another minor complain: breakfast doesn't start until 0830, though you can make special requests. We took a walk, then packed up before breakfast since we had to get to the graduation ceremony by 0915 or so. it was a shame to have to hurry breakfast - the cook made bananas french toast, an omellette, sausage and fried potatos pan by pan. There was also fresh fruit available - a really phenomenal breakfast in a beautiful setting that we sort of gulped down.

They are opening a small Bistro in that eating area. The same cook will cook dinners and I think we will give that a shot the next time we want to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The suites have great balconies with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpescatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We have visited this B & B on a few occasions, the most recent being that we held our wedding there!! Chris & Amanda are friends of ours, and they make us feel at home every time. The location is stunning, waterfront, and all of the rooms have a waterfront view. You can walk everywhere on the island, and I recommend it. Amanda is a fabulous cook, her breakfast is always delicious and the lunch she & her staff made for us at the wedding was incredible! This is one of our favorite places to escape to...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I wanted to take a few days on my own "retreat" at the end of a busy summer. The Blue Heron Inn was perfect for my plans. Amanda and her dear family are charming, but do not intrude on the guest's stays. My room had a beautiful view over the cove and was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was as good and gourmet as other guests have written.
The Key Lime Pie cafe (also joint owned by Amanda)in front of the Inn is perfect for lunches and early supper and a glass of wine- with a lovely view of the Patuxent River - and word is that another adventurous and experienced chef is joing the team.
I will definitely go back and would like to take my family. There are plenty of interesting and fun side-trips near to this convenient and delightful Inn

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Xayadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We cruised from our home near Oxford, MD for a one nite getaway. We docked right in front of the inn. Our balcony suite # 2 was spacious, sparkling clean, comfy king bed, and fabulous view of harbor. French doors to balcony. Amanda is the fabulous young innkeeper, mom, and oh by the way, Cordon Bleu, CIA(Culinary Institute of America) trained Chef. Our sleep was blissful, but breakfast was divine-Delicate crepes filled w/ cheese & hint of rosemary topped w/ fresh plump cherries, bacon, & signature potatoes. Fresh OJ. I liked the coffee so much, I purchased some to take home. The Blue Heron is even worth a detour. We will be back. Thank you Amanda. Pam & Jim Harris

Room Tip: Suites with balcony. Just dont miss breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights during a record heat wave. Room was great, air conditioner cool, and Amanda, the innkeeper and chef, was great. She prepared the breaksfast both mornings that was delicious and made with local, fresh ingredients. Upon request, she will prepare dinner. Ours was wonderful. Go for one of the balcony suites.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohtobeinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solomons
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lexington Park-California
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Inn - a Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14614 Solomons Island Rd, Solomons, MD 20688
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Solomons
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Solomons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing