We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit pricey for what they have here - found it a bit boring myself!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Annmarie Garden

Annmarie Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.34*
and up
Gardens and Grapes Winery Package with Lunch and Dinner
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Solomons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Annmarie Sculpture Garden & Arts Center is located in scenic Solomons, Maryland, where the Patuxent River meets the Chesapeake Bay. The sculpture garden features a 1/4 mile walking path that meanders through the woods past permanent and loaned sculpture, including over thirty works on loan from the Smithsonian Institution and the National Gallery of Art. Artists in the collection include: Antonio Tobias Mendez, Barbara Hepworth, Cesar, Robert Engman, Jean Arp, Kenneth Snelson and Fransisco Zuniga. The award-winning Arts Building includes rotating exhibition space, a gift shop, and a sunny patio. Annmarie presents a variety of popular annual festivals, rotating exhibitions, family activities, and creative public programs. The Studio School offers classes for all ages and abilities - from pottery to dance - taught by professional artists and arts educators. Come explore this special place where art and nature meet!
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
427 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A bit pricey for what they have here - found it a bit boring myself!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm not really into gardens, flowers, bushes and plants, or artwork, so maybe my opinion of this place should be disregarded by those that do enjoy them. I found the grounds to be a bit spread out - check for ticks when you leave! Some of the artwork inside the main building was of interest, but not enough of an interest to justify the cost to enter. At least thats my opinion. I'd rather go camping in a National Forest for free and enjoy the fauna there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annmarie G, Manager at Annmarie Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your candid post about the facility. Although this parcel of 30 acres is constantly under development and grooming by master gardeners, it is also home to a permanent collection of several outdoor sculpture works and ever-changing exhibits in the main gallery and the smaller gallery upstairs. We strive to understand our unique niche and strive to keep with that vision. The harmony between art and nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    26
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice sculptures in a quiet forested space and lots of local artists works peppered throughout. It was fun to find the local arts project/challenge of the moment nestled in between the permanent sculptures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gianessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annmarie G, Public Relations Manager at Annmarie Garden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Annmarie Garden and were able to relax, explore, and enjoy the creativity along the path and throughout the Garden. Thank you very much for your positive comments! We are always trying to encourage creative expression and create a place where all visitors feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK I guess....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Visited during the summer as something to do for the kids since we live in the area. I'm not big into arts so I found it quite boring. Kids and wife seemed to enjoy it however and it is a popular stop for visitors and locals alike. Sure there are bugs but that is to be expected on a walking trail in the woods. I'd go back to keep the kids entertained and support local establishments but aside for the occasional art work that seemed interesting, I didn't get much out of the visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moochf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annmarie G, Public Relations Manager at Annmarie Garden, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that your children and wife enjoyed Annmarie Garden! Please consider attending Father’s Day Fling on Saturday, June 15, 10 – 2pm, where you can build a wooden catapult, with your family, and fling paint at a blank canvas (create your own artwork). Alternatively, bring your bike (and dog, if you have one) and take a ride along the path. You may get lucky and spot a bald eagle, an American bull frog, blue birds, box turtles, or find a four leaf clover. Alternatively, pack a picnic lunch and delight in the Butterfly Garden. If nature is not your thing, plan a date night and attend one of the Annmarie After Hours, enjoy music, beverages, and art in one of our galleries! We hope that you return to Annmarie Garden. Please let us know what we can do to make your visit more enjoyable. Email: info@annmariegarden.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRANDYWINE
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annmarie Garden, a Hidden Cultural Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Take a trip south, through beautiful Calvert County, Maryland. Be sure to plan on spending the entire day exploring small historic towns, Chesapeake beaches, and Calvert Cliffs on your way to Solomons Island. You might want to have dinner at one of the exellent seafood restaurants in Solomons Island. But on the way there, don't neglect to visit Annmarie Garden, an associate of the Smithsonian.

Turn left from Route 4 just before you reach Solomons and travel less than a mile on Dowell Road before turning left through the beautiful marine motif tile and ceramic gates. The quiet austere beauty of the garden in winter, the flowering of spring, the green of summer, the autumn colors, or the incredible holiday light show provide beauty no matter what the season.

Inside the main hall you will find a an art gallery, usually featuring local artists. For a small fee, you can wander through the upper and lower galleries, the grounds and gardens, the gift shop, or the art lab. The main gallery's huge windows look out on lawn and woodlands, a perfect setting for the works within. The grounds make the art accessible to everyone. Kid friendly scavenger hunts, as well as a playground make it fun for the whole family. Giant sculpture or tiny ones, formal fountain or woodland birdhouses, you can enjoy art in a natural setting. No snobbery here! The staff is friendly and informative, and will leave you to enjoy your visit or answer any questions you might have.

Art classes, interactive displays, rentals, programs, festivals, crafts, and markets---something is always going on, and you can be sure that this site will end up on your list of places to revisit. Who knew? Art is alive and well and living at Annmarie Garden.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BRENDA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annmarie G, Public Relations Manager at Annmarie Garden, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
What a lovely review of both Solomons and Annmarie Garden! We are located in one of the happiest seaside towns in America...so how can one not be happy here? Thank you for such a comprehensive summary of all that we do at Annmarie Garden! We are so grateful for positive feedback...it is reassuring. We have a full time staff of seven and strive to provide a wonderful visit to each guest! We could not do it all without the help of our dedicated volunteers, members, teachers, artists, students, creativity of staff members, and supporters/sponsors! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“boring not worth admission price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found it pretty boring. All we did was walk through this long path filled with bugs to see some art and not good art bad art. It was not worth paying to get in imo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank booknerd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annmarie G, Public Relations Manager at Annmarie Garden, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback...many of our plants, trees, and flowers are dormant during the winter months...soon they will blossom! Please know that your $4.00 admission fee will go towards new plants and our newest program, the artLAB (a creative reuse center where recylced items are made into art). Many of the outdoor works/sculpture are on loan from the Smithsonian's Hirshorn Museum and Sculpture Garden and The National Gallery of Art. We hope that you were also able to visit our indoor galleries, which currently feature the exhibit of Marc Castelli: The Art of the Waterman and The Living Gallery (visiting artists who have their studios in the main art building). Should you have any ideas about how we could have made your visit more pleasurable, please email: info@annmariegarden.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annmarie Garden also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to Annmarie Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing