We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch and great view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Striped Rock

The Striped Rock
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Solomons
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York County
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch and great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were three couples looking for a good place to have lunch. The wait staff quickly moved tables together so we could sit on the porch and enjoy the river. (We did lower three umbrellas at unoccupied tables in front of the porch so we could see water.). It was mid-week and not busy at all. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. The menu needs a bit of tweaking. There were a few items with striped rock in the name-salad, club sandwich, taco-but only two contained rockfish. Dawn was very helpful with recommendations. We had beer and cocktails with crab soup, chef salads, lobster roll, rockfish club sandwich, and a burger (for the non-seafood eater). Portions were huge, especially the salads. Several sides were offered. We were disappointed that loaded baked potatoes weren't available that day. But the fries were seasoned with some garlic and were delicious. Our friends commented that the lobster roll wasn't like the ones they had in Maine but tasty nonetheless.. Don't know anything about the dinner service as this was a one time visit to the area. But I would recommend this restaurant for the food and friendliness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallChange1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    21
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
1 review
“good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate lunch there on a Wednesday. It was slow so we were greeted by the hostess and seated quickly. Our waitress had good knowledge of the menu and made good recommendations. My wife and I both enjoyed the food and outside seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yahoodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a late night dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Convenient location to our B&B and with beautiful views of the river. We went here our first night in Solomons for a late night dinner (9:00 being late by our standards) of sandwiches. I had a cheeseburger while my wife chose a crab cake and neither one of us was disappointed. Friendly, attentive service, reasonable prices and as I said, a wonderful view. Definitely a place I'll recommend to others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfNut1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have now shared two dining experiences with The Striped Rock, and both were amazing! I had dinner there a few weeks ago with a friend, and our server was Carl. He on his, "A-Game" and the food was excellent! I also had breakfast there this past weekend, and we once again, had Carl as our server. The food took a little longer to come than was expected, but was definitely worth the wait! The food was superb as well as the service. The portions are very generous and filling! I would recommend the Mussels and Bacon Cheddar Burger for Lunch/Dinner and the Striped Rock French Toast for breakfast! This will definitely be the "Go To Spot" by next summer! Good job Striped Rock!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Never got seated they were a mess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went over Labor Day weekend on Sunday for brunch. Was not crowded with several outside and several inside tables empty. The three people at the hostess stand told us it would be a ten minute wait- maybe short staffed? 20 minutes later they told us they were setting the table for us but then @ 5 minutes later they never came and got us. We saw two other couples waiting leave before being seated also. They were supposed to call or text our cell when ready. We left and noted later that they have never texted/called us. Never seen anything like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 0beachbum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Striped Rock also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to The Striped Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing