We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Crab House”
Review of Stoney's Solomon's Pier - CLOSED

Stoney's Solomon's Pier
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Crab House”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The view is splendid, but the restaurant is very noisy, and the service was a bit chaotic. That said, the food was very good. My soup (a Cajun style cream of crab) and blackened rockfish were particularly delightful. Definitely worth a visit when you are in Solomons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snidudad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    148
    71
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a seafood eater, but my wife is. She says the petite crab cake was all crab meat and no fillers. She said it was delicious. I had my normal hamburger in a seafood place, which are usually very good and this one was just that . . . Very good. Also had homemade beef empanadas, which were actually pretty good. They were served with a chipotle dipping sauce. Service was great. Our waitress engaged us in talk the whole time. Very sweet young lady. We sat outside overlooking the inlet. Very serene and quiet. Prices were medium, 20 bucks for a crab cake, which about normal for the area. 11 bucks for the burger, which would be on the high side. Oh, almost forget, the onion rings were scrumptious. Took a walk on the boardwalk afterwards, which is directly across the street and overlooks the Patuxent River.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hughesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place and staff.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are here three times in two day and could have made it four times! For lunch we had the mac and crab and crab soup. We did get a gnat in our ice water, the waiter fixed that quickly. We came back for steamed hard crabs and old bay fries outside on the back porch. The view was great just like the crabs and the staff. The staff came back to check on us a lot while we ate crabs. They have about 6 beers on draft. We came back the next day for a late supper snack. We had mac and crab again, crab soup, and old bay wings on the back porch. Once again the staff was great and we drank a couple of beers and ice water. The view on the back porch with the boats, ducks, birds and the full moon was beautiful. The manager was very kind to us for coming back for the third time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryNC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A must to eat when there.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate the special sea bass on spinach and the cold combo plate (tuna salad and the cold crab imperial). The waitress said the cold plate was their top seller. Both of them were very good! We stopped there for some steamed hard crabs around 6pm. We sat at the bar and drank a beer and found out they were out of crabs. The front lady at the desk told us to go down the street for crabs. We always have a great meal there and are treated with kindness from the staff. The bar area on the pier is just a fantastic place to relax

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryNC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Appetizers on the deck!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I were just a little hungry and decided to sit out on the deck and order some appetizers. My husband got the pork tacos and I got the crab and shrimp dip. They were both excellent. The view was beautiful and the service was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arubagirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney's Solomon's Pier also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing