We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time with me.”

Furnace Town Living Heritage Village
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Snow Hill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Furnace Town is dedicated to preserving the Nassawango Iron Furnace and engaging the public in the culture of our shared past.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This is a nice walk through the early history of Maryland on the Eastern Shore. Nice restorations, historical interpretations, archeological sites, and Visitors Center. Nothing fancy, but educational, family friendly, and economical. In the Fall it is the site of the Chesapeake Celtic Festival. It is pleasant to be able to actually see what life was like in an early settlement, especially one as specialized as a working iron furnace. So enjoy the simple pleasure of walking out in the woods and enjoying nature and history.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank greenlibrarian1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nature trail"
in 5 reviews
"eastern shore"
in 3 reviews
"blacksmith"
in 17 reviews
"festival"
in 8 reviews
"celtic"
in 6 reviews
"broom"
in 4 reviews
"history"
in 9 reviews
"church"
in 4 reviews
"maryland"
in 5 reviews
"signs"
in 4 reviews
"site"
in 7 reviews
"volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"archaeology"
in 2 reviews
"gardening"
in 2 reviews
"school"
in 2 reviews
"gem"
in 3 reviews
"snow"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2017

Heading to Chincoteague, VA, we saw signs for Furnace Town in Snow Hill, MD and decided to add some history to our vacation. We walked around the grounds of the old town. The archaeology of the the buildings and the FURNACE of course. The gift shop offers a free fan to use on the hot days as you roam around. I was impressed with the Print Shop and Garden area. There was a blacksmith, church, weaver house too. There were no artisans working while we visited. We got to stretch our legs and take in a part of Maryland history we didn't know anything about. They have festivals on the grounds and you can have a wedding, someone was there planning theirs while we were there.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank mellosweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Self tour, wish we could been there when volunteers were there enactment. Little dusty and lands unkempt. Creepy yet cool.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

So the first time I visited this place was the late 90s. I enjoyed it then as they had archeological digs you could get involved with as well as various craft shops like the printer, blacksmith and weavers. The craftsmen and women dress in period clothing for the early 1800s.

None of that has changed, they have simply added a visitor center with a small wildlife display and air conditioning. The folks that work there are the folks I visited 20 years ago and they are just as enthusiastic about the history of that place now as they were then. If you find your self in the area i would recommend a stop. Make sure you have bug spray and prepare for ticks, it is in the middle of a pine big forest so lots of little bugs.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017

The furnace and preserved buildings are curated by The Nature Conservancy. There are lovely walks under the loblolly pines and the signs and descriptive text help it come alive. This is a good place to visit on a hot day, it is shady and lovely.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Read S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnace Town Living Heritage Village also viewed

 

Been to Furnace Town Living Heritage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing