We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise !”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just returned home from this lovely Bed and Breakfast. We arrived and Dwayne welcomed us warmly, He escorted us to our room- the East room. Very comfortable room with a king bed. The room was a little chilly at first, but luckily, our room had the thermostat that controled this wing of the house. It warmed up in a jiffy! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice that was connected to our room. The shower was very forceful and relaxing -they even provide plush robes to use. The breakfast was to die for. Rick is a great cook ! We started out with fresh fruit and chocolate chip muffins, followed by the most airiest, light waffles ever-with pure maple syrup ! This was followed by the yummiest eggs benedict that I ever tasted,along with bacon that was baked and homemade hash browns. The Inn overlooks the Pocomoke River and has an outdoor gazebo with a swimming pool. I would love to come back in warmer weather and enjoy the outside more. The only criticism is the coffee pot that was in our room. It had old coffee in it that was growing mold. Yuck !! I think this may have been overlooked, while cleaning the room from a previous guest. Would I return again? Absolutely....Dwayne and Rick were wonderful hosts, and we look forward going back to see them again !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for River House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night at the River House Inn, on our way home from Florida. From the moment we walked in the door, Rick, Dwayne and Niki were warm and welcoming. After a nice glass of wine, we were shown to our room and it was lovely and spotless. After chatting with a very nice couple who were there to plan their wedding, we all decided to go out to dinner, including the Inn Keepers, Rick and Dwayne! We walked out the door of the Inn and right up the street to The Pallate, a wonderful restaurant and had a fabulous five star dinner, cocktails and desert. The quaint little town is just a short walk from the Inn and has the cutest shops and even a Spa! Each and every person we came in contact with were warm and friendly. We stayed in the West Room and our bed was the most comfortable bed I have even slept in away from home. Breakfast was out of this world, the almond french toast was delicious and you could have had anything you wanted for breakfast, Rick is quite the Chef. Ask Dwayne to make his coffee cake for you, it is to die for and he even gave us a to go bag so that we could enjoy it on the Ferry ride back to reality. We can't wait to come back. If you are planning a visit in this area, do yourself a favor and stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our trip to Snow Hill was in the wake of Hurricane Sandy and so some of the things we hoped to see and do were just not possible, but our stay at the River House Inn was in itself a very enjoyable and a nice get-away. Dwayne, Rick and Teal offer a wonderful B & B experience to their guests and we would not hesitate to stay again if we ever find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a dark and stormy night; raining so hard we could barely see the road. We used our GPS to find a nearby hotel or inn and discovered the River House. We surprised Dwayne and Rick who welcomed us warmly and served a complementary glass of wine. Our room, the River Room (the only room available), was charming with beautiful canopy bed.

Breakfast the next morning was incredible, most spectacular breakfast we've ever had. Dwayne's crumb cake still warm from the oven, Rick's eggs benedict (on Dwayne's home made English muffins), signature waffles, bacon, home fries, assorted fruit and juices and coffee or tea. Our only regret was we were too full to eat more.

We definately plan to return and spend a couple of nights. From what we saw of the grounds the next morning, it should be a great place to relax especially in the warmer weather. The River Room has a private bath, but it isn't in the room (they told us before taking us up).

Room Tip: The River Room is the only room which does not have an ensuite bath.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dwayne and Rick are the perfect hosts - the cabin was wonderful, very cozy with a nice gas fire and a wonderful huge bed! The porch on our cabin was delightful and the view of the River was so nice that we opted to stay at the B and B for one of our 3 days just to enjoy the experience there. The food was amazing. The hosts go out of their way to accommodate dogs and our standard poodle was very happy. It was a "dark and stormy night" when we arrived and Rick bent over backwards to loan us the use of their laundry to get our things clean and dry! We will definitely be back! an experience not to be missed in Maryland.

Room Tip: Cabin facing the river is perfect for solitude, romance and quick dog trips to the huge lawn!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilaMom028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the River House for four nights, and it was among the best B&B experiences we have had. Rick and Dwayne are great hosts. The house is very old (1860's) and very charming. Disregard any reviews from before they bought the place in 2010 - they review the previous owner who let it fall into neglect. The current owners have put their soul into the place, and it shows. From the beautiful front door to the glistening stairway, the house gleams. But the best part of all is the phenominal breakfast. The baked goods that Dwayne prepares are amazing (waffles, english muffins, blueberry muffins, jersey crumbcake, etc etc etc), and the eggs benedict by Rick are the best I have ever had (ask for the eggs benedict on Maryland's favorite crabcake -- it is exceptional!) Not to mention they won the Christmas light competition in the town for the third year in a row. We look forward to our next stay at the River House!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed one night at the River House Inn and experienced wonderful hospitality. The location is on the river as well as in the midst of historic and other natural attractions. The innkeepers are very accommodating.

Room Tip: I had the West Room. It was nicely decorate and the bed was comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
17.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
776 reviews
17.1 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
90 reviews
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
978 reviews
17.0 mi away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
187 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 201 E. Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range: $131 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Victorian bed & breakfast that overlooks the Pocomoke River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing