We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B!”
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Snow Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We recently went back to the River House Inn (we were there about a year ago) and once again had a great weekend. This place is wonderful! Very relaxing, scenic, and the nicest people run the Inn. THE best part about the Inn is that we can take our dogs- and they love it too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was the most relaxing weekend we've had in a long time. Rick and Dwayne are wonderful hosts and the breakfast Rick whips up is delicious. Snow Hill is in a beatiful area. We enjoyed a great afternoon on the river canoeing - you can rent equipment a short walk from the Inn. We're definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the River Cottage. Cute, free-standing unit for a little extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We first stayed here a few years ago, under the previous owners, and this time found the place as enchanting as ever, with the historic house, the pool (which is a nice amenity), and the shaded lawn sloping down to the beautiful Pocomoke River. However, we were sad to notice a little general shabbiness compared to before: an area behind the porch - where guests frequently pass - was a bit of a junk heap, and the area around the pool kind of dirty and cobwebby. We only hope this is temporary as the new owners couldn't be nicer and the place is still generally wonderful. Aside from this, we only have two other minor issues: we wouldn't have minded an earlier breakfast and a little better signage - it wasn't easy to figure out where to go in when we got there, where to go in for breakfast, etc. etc. But all in all, it's a special place and Snow Hill is a charming town. We wish Rick and Dwayne the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful restful experience. I would recommend it not only for couples but for family. The service was great and the staff went over and above with being helpful. Rick and Dwayne were great host and their breakfast was great. Thanks for such a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed their for three days July 2012, it was awesome. the Ivy cottage was convenient to us as a family a wonderful style, breakfast was great, my daughters enjoyed the pool and the nearby river. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet vacation, few miles from ocean city.

Room Tip: I've tried the rooms was great same as the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zainab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I had planned a trip in Virginia where power went out due to a bad storm. We scrammblled to find a new destination and were greeted warmly by Rick and Dwayne and told thet they had an opening for us.

We have been to countless Bed and Breakfasts over the years and this was by far out best experience! We shayed in the Yacht Room which I highly recommend on the water, it was impeccably clean and well maintained. The fridge was stocked with soda and a Jacuzzi tub with was icing on the cake.

There was a beautiful front porch that overlooked the water with access to canoeing and many other arts and outdoor related activities with a heated pool to boot.

Without even asking, Rick and Dwayne booked us for the evening at The Palette which had amazing food and atmosphere. It was exactly what we were looking for.

We were close to the ocean, wild horses and running trails which all took our interest!

We have already scheduled a trip for October when we hope to visit again. I have never felt so much like family at a B&B before.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennisteve_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for an overnight trip to visit Assateague Island and picked it mostly because it seemed nice and allowed dogs. The place is very nicely maintained and the room we stayed in, the Lighthouse room, was great. Nice size bed with all the basic amenities, plus drinks in the fridge if we wanted (just be sure to make sure it's plugged in).

The breakfast was delicious! We ate so much that we waited quite a while for lunch. The waffles, crumb cake, eggs, etc were just great.

Overall, we just really felt welcomed, even though we were only there for one night. If we ever do another overnight trip to Assateague with our dog we will be sure to stay here again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SarahJS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snow Hill
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#2 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,373 reviews
17.2 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
810 reviews
17.7 mi away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#1 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,307 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#3 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
1,295 reviews
17 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Address: 201 E. Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Snow Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snow Hill
Price Range: $130 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Victorian bed & breakfast that overlooks the Pocomoke River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing