We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
“Not the best experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The clock in my room did not work so I called for a "wake up" call, the call did not come. I normally use my cell phone as my alarm clock but it was damaged during my travels. When I checked out, the trainee at the front desk did apologize - but that did not make me on time for my meeting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for the review and do apologize that your wake up call did not happen as I know that can certainly throw off your day. I do hope the remainder of your stay was pleasurable and hope to have another chance to regain your trust as we do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    242
    191
    113
    72
See reviews for
280
100
41
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I am a regular Hilton guest but this hotel has put me off the Hilton brand. Stayed in a King suite but the room was rather small. The carpet was dirty and the bathtub was stained and horrible. Our room was not cleaned properly for 2 consecutive days, bathtub was left untouched, empty take away boxes left in the lounge area, room service trays not removed. We had to literally beg to have the rooms cleaned, and housekeeping never came round earlier than midday. Towels were never changed despite requesting that they do. Ended up buying our own towels to use! Food was bland. Room service was poor...spent 15mins on the phone ordering breakfast. Asked for muesli which was on the menu but the restaurant kept saying they didn't know what that is and they don't serve it! Breakfast came 45mins later with the wrong order and no cutlery. Manager left his details in all the rooms to call if there were any problems; I called over 3 times and got no response or my call returned. I then called the hotel using my mobile to try speak to the manager but his phone went unanswered and again no returned call. This was certainly not worth $130. Wouldn't recommend this hotel in all sincerity

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I do apologize for your dissatisfaction during your recent stay and would certainly wlecome the opportunity to speak with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly at 301 563 3828 or at jim.salvo@hilton.com. Unfortunately I did not receive any email or voicemail from you during your stay or I would have most certainly followed up with you immediately. Hope to hear back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

College Station, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lighting was poor in my room. To turn on the floor lamp, I had to get on my hands and knees and retrieve a sliding contraption connected to the cord that was positioned under the reading chair. The lamp shades had burn marks where naked bulbs have touched them. Not enough light in the room, poor location of outlets and switches.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and would like to inform you and advise you that the hotel will be receiving new lamps in all guest rooms which will be a welcomed asset. Hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I opted to stay here instead of in DC because the rate was so much better. The hotel is a short 20 minute ride from Union Station on the red line - super easy - and then a 10 minute walk from the station. This hotel is in a great location if you want access to shops and restaurants within walking distance! The staff is friendly and helpful. Say hello to Glenn in the lobby bar. He's super nice. The rooms are very nice, olenty of room and of course the amazingly comfortable beds we expect at Hilton properties. My ONLY complaint was that I seemed to periodically lose internet connectivity. Other than that, this is a great value for the DC area and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pendleton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review and glad the staff took such good care of you, especially Glenn!! Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The staff was very nice and the room was as expected. Bathroom was tiny and a little out-dated but was fine. Breakfast was terrible, not enough staff to deal with the amount of people, they ran out of food and had to cut the buffet short by an hour and a half (thank goodness we got there when we did) and you could only get the buffet and nothing else because the chef had called out?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank lenorac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the post and glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the challenge you experienced at breakfast. The F&B team has reviewed a plan of action should that occur again in the future (though not expected). I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly. Location to shops, restaurants and entertainment is great. Many are within easy walking distance. The Metro is a bit of a walk. It's advertised as 3 blocks. They are very long blocks and it's mostly uphill upon return. There was a shuttle advertised, but after asking about it twice and being told that it was busy and to just walk three blocks to the Metro, I gave up and walked. The walk wouldn't have been a big deal, but I had small children with me and a lot of busy intersections to cross. The hotel is very clean. However, I think we may have had a new housekeeper. There was usually something minor missing, like toilet paper or sugar for coffee. A quick call and we were provided with what was needed. I read reviews about the rooms and bathrooms being small. We were in a one bedroom suite and I thought it was very comfortable. One night the hotel was fully booked and we still found it quiet and comfortable. The pool hours are terrible. It doesn't open until 4:00pm on weekdays. Oh yea, the cookie was very good :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mamie902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks for posting your review and glad you found the hotel and staff accomodating. I do apologize for the tight availability of the shuttle as well as the minor housekeeping misses - will certainly share with the team. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a frequent guest of Hilton brand hotels, HHonors Gold member, this is the worst Doubletree I have ever stayed in.

Great Location-Close to many shops and restaurants; The Fillmore venue for concerts is about 2 blocks away (went to Ziggy Marley concert). The streets are well-lit, safe for solo traveler.

Room: Extremely small; dark stains in several areas on the carpet; lounging chair had spots all over it; Walls are very thin.

Bed-comfortable; down comforter needs replacing: discolored and looks worn and used

Bathroom- extremely small; must close door to have any space; tub paint is peeling off (very noticeable in several areas)

Lobby-dark stains on carpet and chairs: looks nasty

Business center-1 computer in lobby, printer doesn't print

Food-Restaurant opens for breakfast at 7:00AM on Sunday morning. I attempted to have breakfast at 7:10AM. Unfortunately, there was no breakfast at that time because "The chef didn't show-up." An employee informed me that the staff doesn't know what time breakfast will be served/restaurant will be opened because they have to cook breakfast themselves.

Bar- no chilled Pinot Grigio Saturday evening; Great bartender-retired veteran

Hotel entrance from parking garage: No ramp to roll luggage; must carry it up stairs

It's okay if you want a hotel close to the Fillmore, but a Hampton and Homewood Suites are closer and located on the same street. I chose the Doubletree for it's noted quality and the cookie. (smile) However, this location truly lacks Hilton brand quality. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip for choosing a good room. My carpet was disgustingly dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houtrravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I do apologize for you less than memorable experience with us. I would like to make it right - please contact me at jim.salvo@hilton.com so we can discuss in more detail at your earliest convenience, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing