We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Walking distance from Silver Spring Metro which is ideal. The Hotel is located directly in the center of Downtown Silver Spring, so there is a ton of restaurants, shopping, movies and a whole foods and CVS within blocks. The only negative is that the bathrooms are tiny. Windows in rooms don't open, which is typical, but unfortunate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thanks for the nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

The breakfast was not good at all, the quality of the food, not good, it took 20 min to cook two eggs and they came out wrong, the orange juice was so thick in pulp, the biscuit were hard and cold, the valet parking is a joke

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and do apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations in the restaurant for breakfast or our valet parking services. I have shared your review with members of my management team so thay can follow up accordingly. We do appreciate your business and hope the other elements of your stay were enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Chose this hotel because it was near friends. Being from a city where everyone drives their own car everywhere, being 3-4 long blocks from the Metro doesn't really equal 'close to the Metro' but apparently in DC, it is. Anyhow, the hotel looks and feels older with a few positives and negatives. Positives - rooms are big. We had 2 room suite with 2 double beds, pullout couch and a couple of chaise lounge type chairs that were probably big enough for small children to sleep on. There were 2 pretty big flat tvs and decent cable. Front desk staff was very helpful and apologetic for problems. Pretty good size hotel for the money. Negatives - Only one window in sitting area which left bedroom rather dark. Layout of room was weird with no natural light directly in bedroom area. Breakfast was included in our rate but honestly the food was less than impressive hotel buffet food. Got tired of eating it after 2 days and ate elsewhere after that. There was a communication issue between the front desk and waitstaff at restaurant whereby every morning the wait staff took our breakfast vouchers while the front desk kept telling us that they shouldn't be doing that. Anyhow, front staff gladly replaced our vouchers each morning. Housekeeping - for 2 days in a row, we were left no towels. Nada. Zip. I noticed also that at the nice heated indoor pool there were no towels also. Interestingly, there are also no house phones that I could find. The only phones in the exercise or pool area call 911 directly. No way to call the front desk. I had to go down 9 floors to the front desk to notify them of the lack of towels at the pool issue. Probably took 30-40 minutes for towels to arrive and when they did they were hot. Like fresh from the dryer. Same for our towels for the room when we were left without any. I suspect the laundry is either painfully short of towels or housekeeping needs revamping. The area around the hotel has its share of homeless people but never felt dangerous though we never stayed out late. There are a vast array of ethnic restaurants in the area but honestly none of the ones we tried stood out vs eating near The Mall where the eateries were much better. Would I stay here again?? Probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WarpNine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and will certainly review them with the staff. I am happy to hear you found your room comfortable and the front desk staff accomodating. I do apologize for the dealy with the towels as we have had many large groups staying with us that has put some extra workload in our laundry department. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to service your travel needs as we do value your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel is economical and rooms are spacious. Bed very comfortable but bathroom a little small and could use updating. Confusing parking and check in requires patience...and may be in due to renovations?? Would stay again due to location and nice price point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 643kennethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thanks for the nice post and glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if the entrance / parking facility caused any confusion during your arrival. It is however located directly under the hotel with the main entrance on Coleville Road. Hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We moved to a two-room suite at this hotel after leaving a different hotel in the area. Their weekend rates were amazing, but you do get what you pay for - including worn furnishings, water pressure issues, children running laps in the room above and people across the hall throwing a full-blown party in their room until 4:00 in the morning. (I should have alerted management when I saw their luggage cart full of food and drinks instead of luggage when we rode up in the elevator together!) While it was nice to have the extra room, it would have been better to pay a little more and actually get a good nights' sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polygirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thanks for your post and do apologize if the noise that other guests created hindered your experience. I do hope you allow us another chance to service your travel needs should you come back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Was super closed to shops and metro/bus station. easy access to interstate and close to everything. Mall, Marshall, panera bread, red lobster and many more. Valet parking very helpful and reception area was nice and modern. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jawaly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic comments and hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was in DC for work and stayed at the DoubleTree. Everyone there is great from the check in at the front desk to the restaurant staff. Only thing I would recommend, is not going to DC in the Summer. There are a lot of school kids there either on vacation or field trips and the hotel even puts themon the 8 floor which is the HH floor. Pretty noisy at night, but it settles down by 12.

Hotel is a block from all the action in downtown Silver Spring, and it's a easy ride into DC, not too far and without the Highway traffic.

Restaurants are within walking, about a block away. Will be staying there when I go back next Month. Love it being close to everything.

Room Tip: Get the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks for your post and I appreciate your great comments about the hotel and staff. Please understand that during this busy time of year with so many schools visiting the DC area, we do our best to contain these groups on the same floor and away from our business travelers. At times it is a bit challenging to accomodate all and I do appreciate your patience. Hope to see you return should your travles take you back our way...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#8 of 12 in Silver Spring
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
365 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range: $93 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing