We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Silver Springs / DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Could have been better. Bathroom was so small that the door had to be shut to use the toilet. Obviously two adjoining rooms were used to create a suite. Bed was comfortable and living space was nice. Bathroom need a lot of work. Had to wait an hour and a half past scheduled check in time before room was ready. Did not provide enough points to cover delay. Staff was friendly though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks for the post and glad to hear that you felt the staff was freindly and the bed was comfortable. I do apologize for the delayed check in as we try our best to turn rooms from the previous night as quickly as possible. Hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

When we occupied the room there were a number of maintenance issues: dirty shot glass on the floor, mold in the bathroom and the tub didn't drain, the lamp was visibly damaged - all these issues should have been recognized by the hotel staff. These issues were addressed when we complained. The service was friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and do apologize for the defeciencies as noted, they should have been rectified prior to your arrival. I am happy to hear that the staff took care of these challenges effeciently and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust as we do value your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel was primarily chosen because of the proximity to The Fillmore. We shared a room with another couple to attend a few concerts on a Saturday and Sunday. The venue is literally a few steps from the hotel which was convenient. There were also several shopping and dining options within walking distance. Unfortunately, there is a daily fee to use the attached parking garage. Luckily, we stayed during a weekend and there was an alternate parking garage in the area that did not charge at all on weekends. However, we still had to carry our luggage 4 blocks down the road to the hotel. Not really a big deal for us but I can see how this could be a hassle for others. Overall the staff was friendly, but they could have made the check out process at the front desk a bit quicker. The room itself was very clean with comfortable bedding. Our biggest issue was the temperature in the room. Although we went during the winter, it is always nice to keep the A/C running low inside the room, especially with 4 adults staying. The thermostat did have a cool and heat setting, however only the heat setting worked! This made the room feel very stuffy at all times and we basically slept on top of the sheets. We spoke to other guests who were staying there on different floors and they had similar complaints. Maybe that is why they offer such affordable rates when compared to other hotels in the area. We would consider staying here again, but only if they adjust the temperature control settings to allow both heat and A/C usage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for your post and glad you found the hotel convenient and clean. I do apologize for the challenge with hte AC system during your stay. The hotel is working on a solution to better provide a wider range of temperature settings during the months where the outside temperature varies so much. I am confident you will not experience this challenge during your next stay with us. Hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The air in my room was soooooo stale I couldn't hardly sleep at night. I had the A/C down to 65 and still was miserable. There was a leak from the sink and I had a small puddle in my bathroom each morning. The warm water in the shower didn't last long if I even had any. The bathrooms were tiny. No fridge in the room. The conference room was always too hot even though the coordinators of our session kept asking for it to be turned down. The breakfast buffet was okay, but I'm glad I had vouchers because the price wasn't worth what you got. The lunch and dinner menu was pretty good. I was thankful for the free shuttle to the metro station. Overall, I've had better stays in cheaper hotels and wasn't happy about what I got for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and I am sorry about the air conditoning challenges. The hotel is undergoing significnat upgrades to the mechanical systems which include the HVAC as we speak. I am sure you will not encounter the same challenge shoudl you travel back our way. We do value your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a work meeting. My room had several problems. The light shade was broken in several places. The sheet appeared to have blood on it. And bathroom door did not quite close all the way. And the hook to hang clothes on the back of the bathroom was missing. I am a diamond member and stay at a lot of Hilton properties. This wasn't a good one.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time for your post and I do apologize for the defecincies noted in your room as they are unacceptable and certainly not the norm. I will be sure to review with our Executive Housekeeper and team. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in the future and woudl be more than happy to assist wiht a future reservation. Please feel free to reach out to me direct at jim.salvo@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was an unexpected stay by me and my wife with two children at this hotel for 2 nights in 2 rooms early March 2014. The staff specially front officer Muchi was exceptionally friendly to provide every possible support in our booking late night.

Its located near everything and about 5 miles from Washington DC. A good place to visit major attractions in DC; you may need a car.

Hotel is clean and lobby area well kept. Rooms were well appointed . But no fridge no microwave. No break fast included, but at an additional price, seems not worth.

Car parking cost $ 15 valet; in and out unlimited.

We will stay again if we happened to be around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks for the kind review and glad you enjoyed your impromptu visit with us. Glad Mucci and the staff took such good care of you and your family. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

During Convention times, Hotels around the Convention Center are outrageously expensive. This Hotel is 17 minutes away by Metro, and an easy 5 blocks walk. The rooms are fairly large and clean, reasonably well equipped, and quiet (at least mine was). I did not like the fact that the windows don't open, but the AC/heat was fairly quiet and efficient (in winter). This was a good option for me. Silver Spring has suffered through the recession, but it offers a nice little Town Center

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks for the kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certainly a nice option from staying directly in the District. Hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
793 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range: $117 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing