We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Complete Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute using Hilton Honors reward points & cash when I was passing through the area and needed a place to sleep and rest before continuing up the East Coast home from the South. It was available for the reward stay and I knew Silver Spring was a nice area to hangout, grab some good eats, maybe catch a movie and relax before hitting the sack for some zzzs for the drive.

Downtown Silver Spring was nice; Doubletree Silver Spring made me lament being cheap and having not booked the Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites across the street on Hilton Honors instead.

When I pulled in I was greeted by a valet who was okay until he got in my car.
Then he sat there for a few minutes until I realized that he could not get my car out of park with the push button break (which isn't all that unusual on new cars). Didn't exactly leave me feeling safe about leaving my baby in his care. I saw the signs which said they weren't responsible for anything in the garage despite forced valet (no self park option) so I went back and showed it to him and removed my camera from the car.

When I checked in I was not offered an upgrade (as I nearly always am at Hilton properties because of my status)- and I didn't ask for one because the desk girl didn't seem particularly enthusiastic. No problem, got a stay for cheap with the points (that I pay thousands of dollars for annually in brand loyalty), not going to press my luck.

When I went to the room I was thirsty so I called down to find the vending and ice; I was told the ice was on another floor (Hilton Honors floor which I was NOT put on, instead put in a room next to construction) and I was told since I was a member water would be sent up. Yeah the water came up three hours later. When I went trekking about to find the ice I was met with two staffers standing around BSing in the middle of the day loudly and flirting with me.
The ice bucket BTW REEKED of "sour"- smelled like mildew.

Room did not feel clean. It looked clean but didn't feel clean, lots of residual smells as if the bath tub was sour too and the carpet was dirty. Windows were dirty in the room.

On the positive side, room service was excellent as was the bartender Joe.
The desk person in the evening, a young guy was really helpful too in navigating the area.

Mediocre to great staff; really good restaurant, old hotel dressed up. Would not stay again as there appear to be better, newer options in the area where I don't have to worry about my car getting being mishandled by inexperienced valets or feeling neglected despite being such an active Hilton Honors member. I mean they don't have to kiss my butt but why else do consumers do the hotel membership thing if not for the perks?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonysaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I do appreciate you taking the time to post a review and do apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with various members of our management team to use as a continued training tool with the staff. I assure you, your stay was not the norm and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in the future. We do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    287
    220
    131
    92
See reviews for
335
124
56
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The staff was awesome! The room (2 double bed suite) was interesting. I think because I had a corner room, it made it a little different.
PROS:
-Staff
-Rate for room (good price)
-You are given a complimentary (and delicious) cookie at check in
-Location to downtown Silver Spring. This hotel is in close proximity to almost anything you need. CVS, WholeFoods, the Fillmore, a shopping center, a huge 20 screen movie theatre and great restaurants. I even saw an outside ice skating rink.
-Bedroom in my suite was separated from 'living area' by glass doors.
-Breakfast buffet was good (but not free)
CONS
-Not enough lighting in the bedroom
-Mirrors not placed in good areas around the room for maximum use (ie- one mirror was in the living area, but because of the furniture, it was hard to get to.)
-No microwave or mini refrigerators. You have to rent a mini refrigerator that is brought to your room by housekeeping.
-Living area was a little small. When the refrigerator was brought to my room, furniture had to be moved to get it next to an outlet.
-Your vehicle has to be parked at hotel via valet. There is self-parking garages in the area, but not connected to the hotel.
-Glass doors to bedroom blocked view of TV from one bed, and blocked full access to the living area from the other bed, when fully opened.

Room Tip: -The room I had was in a corner of the building (Rm 828). Not the best of views out of the small wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for the post and hope to see you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been to my share of Double Trees and I know how they can be a hit or miss - this was a hit! It has been updated with a classics contemporary feel. Rooms are nice and spacious. Bed was super comfortable which made for a great nights sleep. Located in center of town near lots of restaurants and shopping. Bar tender was super friendly and room service was on time and very good. All staff I encountered were pleasant. Only neg is that walls are a bit thin, I could hear conversations and hair dryers and toilets etc but since I was on top floor it wasn't so bad. I would stay again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you return soon should your travels take you back our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms very well kept. The location of the hotel is excellent in the fact that it's only a block to "Downtown Silver Springs", where there are plenty of resteraunts and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. The hotel is situated in downtown Silver Spring, Maryland and is beautiful hotel with wonderful accommodations. The staff was fantastic and I would love to come back for my anniversary or a summer event. Thanks to them my wedding came out just right!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review and glad you found the hotel and staff accomodating.....will certainly pass on your praises and hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

have stayed here three times in the last 6 months and each time has seen improvements. on the plus side the hotel is clean, convenient, and the staff is very considerate. The room was comfortable and clean and internet connection was excellent. Room carpeting is dingy. The heating system did not work very well and it was difficult to heat the room. If heat left on through the night it was too noisy. All in all this s a very convenient, friendly place to stay. The hotel is gradually renovating and improving. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank amalaPrinceton_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments and glad you noticed the marked improvements over the past several stays. As we continue to upgrade and enahnce the hotels physical and mechanical systems, we look forward to seeing you again soon and I am confident that the defeciencies you noted will not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has the most friendly, helpful, and solicitous staff I've almost ever met. The front desk clerk at check in was super-efficient and nice, and she went above and beyond and moved us to a two-room suite so we'd have enough sleeping space for us and our kids. When I had to call and ask for a replacement coffee maker, the evening concierge was up in minutes with a replacement, apologizing and asking if he could do anything else for us. Literally, every person I ran into - housekeeping, manager, life guard, desk clerks, parking valets - was friendly and eager to help. Yes, the actual building is a bit tired and dated, but the beds are comfortable (good pillows and linens) and the staff made the experience great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgeMiddleClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for the kind words - will certainly share them with the team. Hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing