We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location - easy access to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good location - easy access to DC”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Room was small but comfortable and A/C worked well with minimal noise. TV clear and internet speed fast. Friendly bar with DTV sports. Business Center extremely warm no A/C and printer did not print my .pdfs. Good fitness room but no cups for water in morning. Within walking distance to many restaurants and popular night area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NERoadWarrior53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed the TV in the bar area as we have just gone through an upgrade throughout the hotel with enhanced HDTV as well as the NFL Ticket at the bar!! Please know that the business center is due to be fully renovated in 2014 so it will be much more comfortable. Hope to see you return.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    304
    234
    142
    97
See reviews for
359
131
58
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an extremely well maintained hotel and the staff was fantastic. I generally view DoubleTree as a less desirable location, and have had some of my worst hotel experiences at DoubleTree – BUT after this stay I will be trying other DoubleTrees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Duff L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were in Washington DC to attend a wedding. The staff was outstanding and helpful. The rooms were good for the price. The internet access and close proximity to the theater, mall and a host of restaurants. Suites help families feel that they have a little space for privacy, meditation and individualized interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the great post and glad that your enjoyed your time away from home with us. Please spread the word and hope to see you return again soon! Safe travels.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Room key didn't work.
Telephone didn't work.
Lamp didn't work because it was unplugged and it was too dark to find the plug, which required moving the bed.
Room service didn't answer the phone on two calls.
Call to the hotel operator rang 40 times without being answered, Twice.
Dirty food tray left in hallway all night despite request to have it removed.
No ice machine on the floor.
No information in the room on whether or where there is an ice machine.
This hotel reeks of "We don't care."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and do want to apologize for all of the challenges you encountered during your stay as they are certainly not the norm. I do wish I had an opportunity to resolve your issues prior to check out and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in the future. I will persoanlly review your comments with various departments throughout the hotel and again apologize for your dissapointemtn with your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

St. Louis, mo
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Silver Spring with our two young children. We booked one of the king suites and were happy to find an updated room with a decent pull-put bed for the kids. We enjoyed a room to ourselves while the kids enjoyed having their own tv for a few morning cartoons. My only complaint would be the limited hours for the pool. Luckily we were too busy to have time to swim, but late afternoon pool hours do not typically work with our travel schedule. We usually like to swim first thing in the morning. I would also typically like to have breakfast included, but I will not complain about this if the room exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kelli401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Do hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A little bit older but very nice hotel with easy access to the DC Metro system. This is a boutique style hotel which seems to have been recently remodeled. The location in Silver Spring was excellent with easy access to many restaurants and a shopping area. The rooms are a little small but in nice condition. Great place to stay with family or on a business trip - we were there for both a business meeting as well as there to tour Georgetown University.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Glad you found our hotel accomodating and convenient. We are still in the process of enhancing many areas of the hotel and hope you have a chance to visit again soon. Hope your tour of Georgetown was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Silver Spring when we were visiting the area for a weekend of family events, including a wedding. We arrived very late and we were quite tired. Check in was efficient and very friendly - and we loved the warm cookies! The room was small but well appointed. It was exactly what we needed for one night. Wifi was free, and valet parking was fast and inexpensive too. The area has everything you could need - including lots of things in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
20 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing