We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
St. Louis, mo
2 reviews
“Comfortable family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Silver Spring with our two young children. We booked one of the king suites and were happy to find an updated room with a decent pull-put bed for the kids. We enjoyed a room to ourselves while the kids enjoyed having their own tv for a few morning cartoons. My only complaint would be the limited hours for the pool. Luckily we were too busy to have time to swim, but late afternoon pool hours do not typically work with our travel schedule. We usually like to swim first thing in the morning. I would also typically like to have breakfast included, but I will not complain about this if the room exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kelli401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Do hope to see you return should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    241
    190
    112
    71
See reviews for
278
100
41
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A little bit older but very nice hotel with easy access to the DC Metro system. This is a boutique style hotel which seems to have been recently remodeled. The location in Silver Spring was excellent with easy access to many restaurants and a shopping area. The rooms are a little small but in nice condition. Great place to stay with family or on a business trip - we were there for both a business meeting as well as there to tour Georgetown University.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Glad you found our hotel accomodating and convenient. We are still in the process of enhancing many areas of the hotel and hope you have a chance to visit again soon. Hope your tour of Georgetown was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Silver Spring when we were visiting the area for a weekend of family events, including a wedding. We arrived very late and we were quite tired. Check in was efficient and very friendly - and we loved the warm cookies! The room was small but well appointed. It was exactly what we needed for one night. Wifi was free, and valet parking was fast and inexpensive too. The area has everything you could need - including lots of things in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanceboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoy my stay Metro close by location was great hotel was excellent. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly gave great service. I would recommend hotel to friends family, coworkers. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your return. safe travels........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel location was ideal for travelling into Washington by subway which was a 5 minute walk (20 minutes to center of Washington. Lots of nice restaurants close by, shopping, theaters within 1-4 blocks. Double rooms were fantastic size and nicely furnished. Breakfast was buffet and changed daily for variety. Great value for the money and a nice safe area for walking around at night. Would definitely stay there again - you get a lot more for your money if you are willing to take subways to tour Washington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Philomena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review and glad you enjoyed the hotel and breakfast variety as we continue to make changes to enhance the overall experience. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The renovated facility was very nice, aesthetically, but that is where the strong Hilton brand ended. The service was extremely poor and response to inquiries/request was even worse. Communication with wait staff and counter staff was difficult and the normal Hilton brand of 'Good Customer Service' was non-existent. The standard response to issues brought to the attention of intake staff was 'we are very crowed this weekend and working with limited support'. In all fairness they did reduce my bill in exchange for the inconvenience and I appreciate that consideration. However, as a devoted and longtime Hilton Honors member and a career traveler I will continue to patronize Hilton but will never stay at this particular hotel facility again nor will I encourage or recommend it to colleagues, friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theodoris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts and wish I was made aware of your challenges during your stay so I could have addressed them in a more timely manner. I will personally review your comments with the team and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust should your travels take you back our way as we do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Room was small. No attention to detail. Not very happy with my choice. Grout was dirty in the bathroom. Front desk was not very knowledgeable. Wake up calls were not made at the accurate time.Room service menu very limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank NYCtravelstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet none the less exceed your expectations. I have shared your comments with members of the management team to follow up with their staff. I do hope you allow us another chance to regain your trust as we continue to make additonal service and physical enhancements to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing