We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Sebastian, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

No late night snacks available, a/c didn't work, staff not especially helpful in locating local restaurants/amenities (or else there were none?) No exhaust fan in the bathroom, just not normal Hilton standards

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    258
    202
    119
    76
See reviews for
295
108
46
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was too hot too sleep in despite airco trying with very much noise. Stuffed air, no ventilation possible. Room was left open after cleaning. Coffee and cups were not replaced. And more niceties of this school class filled hotel that is in serious need of renovating. Staff did not even apologise. Exit Hilton from my list of business hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GWBGWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We've addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the Metro and 1-3 minutes from City Mall, a Majestic movie theatre, and other dining and shopping areas. The hotel said there is transportation they provide to and from the Metro but the driver never seemed available when I needed the service, so I walked... which was honestly fine. The neighborhood is safe and quiet during the day and evenings, and overall the people are friendly. In-room dining food is delicious, however purchases via credit card are transacted slow, and the daily warm cookie is a nice treat. Housekeeping sometimes cleans the room in the late afternoon, which I feel is unacceptable and the gift shop has a lot to be desired and is more like a tiny snack shop. Those that noted on the internet the ice situation are correct. Higher floors do not have ice machines and you'd have to go to lower floors to get ice. Also at the time of my visit they were working on the elevators and due to that maintenance the elevators were slow. Overall this hotel is worth being a guest at, and there is a lot to keep you busy in the Silver Spring area and via quick Metro ride throughout DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The service at The Double Tree Silver Spring was the worst service I've ever received while staying at a hotel in the DC/Maryland area. I was there celebrating my 28 birthday & came with food, drinks & a nice size cake but from the time I checked in until the time I checked out the service was just bad. The room was very small, didn't have a mini fridge microwave or anything. If I had a question for the front desk staff they weren't helpful at all. They didn't make me feel WELCOMED AT ALL!!!! I had to find valet on my own to store my bags for me. There was no where for me to store my birthday cake besides my room. I asked for a late check out at the time of check-in & was informed to call down in the morning. I called down to the front desk that morning requesting a later checkout & was informed that the latest I could check out was 12pm. The service was really bad & the employees were not knowledgeable abut their job at all. I recently stayed at the Homewood Suites directly across for my sons birthday & had the best time. From the time I checked in until I checked out all of the employees were very helpful & knowledgeable of their job. We stayed in a suite which had the living room area, a nice king sized bed, kitchen & pull out couch. My kids played in the pool that night & the morning before check out. Any questions or concerns I had were addressed & taken care of right then. I didn't have to search for valet by myself & just feel like I had to do a job that I was not getting paid to do. I asked for a later check out & was given the time of 2;30pm. The rooms their were much bigger & the people literally had more to clean but didn't mind at all. It really was a great experience. I will NEVER RECOMMEND OR STAY AT THIS FACILITY AGAIN. I was a paying customer that was treated as if I DIDN'T MATTER AT ALL! The staff needs more customer service training & should be more knowledgeable about their job. GREAT IDEA GONE WRONG....NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lakia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you felt in any way insulted or offended. This is not typical of our hotel and staff as every guest is very important to us. So I have addressed these issues with our team members, and hopefully the next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience what our hotel is known for: truly award-winning hospitality. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay ever. I am a Diamond and have been Gold member of Hilton. I was amazed to find out that the Hotel TV channel lineup did not include the #1 Cable News Station in US. Also, limited AC outlets and the one by the desk did not even work. We had to run an extension cord to the other side of the room. There is a Hampton Inn across the street, you might want to look there before checking into this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and that our channel lineup didn't meet your needs. We will keep your comments in mind as we are always trying to improve our on-property experience. So again, thank you for your review and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This Doubletree Hotel was choosen for group stay to attend regional sporting meet, easy to find off major highway, quick valet . LOVED the quality towels in bathrooms , lots of close by dining choices and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for one night, Attending to family business. It met all f my requirements. It was clean, safe, There was a restaurant and bar. The food was good. The internet worked. The staff was extremely accomodatng.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Address: 8727 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3903 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing