We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Way to Visit Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at this Comfort Inn from April 19 to 23, 2009. It was easy to find with free parking in an area right behind the hotel which seemed secure. The front desk staff was pleasant and checked us in quickly.

Our room on the fifth floor was clean and modern. The bed was very good and the flat screen TV included lots of channels. Each morning we took advantage of the free breakfast in the lobby area. The selection of items was fairly standard for a Comfort Inn - cereals, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs and fresh waffles. We found it to be a good breakfast to start a sightseeing day.

The biggest benefit of this hotel, however, is its nearness to the Silver Spring Metro station - about a 15 minute walk through a modern and safe-feeling area of condos and apartments. A one way Metro ride to the downtown Metro Center (near all of the major sights) cost us $2.85 during the rush hour period. Also, near the Silver Spring Metro station were a number of nice restaurants at which we ate.

The only disappointments with this hotel were:

The small size of the breakfast area. If you don't arrive early, you will not get a table;

The lack of restaurants nearby. The hotel website lists a number of places that are "adjacent". These spots are 15 to 20 minutes away by walking.

Otherwise, I recommend this as a good and reasonably-priced place to stay if you want to see Washington without spending a fortune.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dbakerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 313 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

was welcomed by very pleasent staff allocated a clean fresh room. found room as i would have expected . as my stay was for a long period i requested a fridge/microwave which i received with no problems. it is good to have helpfull friendly staff well done

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnyman191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I would highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Maryland or DC.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Stayed for a night with my family of 8. We had 2 adjoining non smoking rooms with 2 double beds each. The rooms are very clean, big and pleasing. There is a flat screen for each room. The beds and pillows are comfortable, the bathrooms excellent with enough hot water. The hotel is located in a good area, and seems close to public transportation (we had a car though) Front desk are helpful and nice. I did not get the chance to sample the breakfast offered so I can't comment on it. Overall a very nice hotel and worth the money (we paid $112+ each room inc. taxes). My family had nice things to say about the Comfort Inn but our cousins staying at the nearby Day's Inn were disappointed with theirs.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This hotel recently changed from a Ramada to a Comfort Inn. It is an older building, but it was just renovated, quite well I might add. The new furnishings are beautiful; very modern and elegant. It looks very upscale. My stay was fine. The room was small, but it worked well. The desk lamp had extra outlets, which was great for the laptop and cell phone chargers. The room felt big because the window stretches from one side of the room to the other. Good lighting abounds. The skinny closet was funky. Great wireless internet. The room was very quiet. My only compliant is that the mattress was too soft and squishy for me.

The breakfast was really good: Belgium waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, cereals, muffins, juices, fruit, and good coffee. The breakfast area was very clean, and a decent size. The attractive lobby had a computer for guests to use. The staff was friendly and helpful.

You can easily walk to the Metro and downtown Silver Spring. Montgomery College and a 7-Eleven are across the street, and a good car wash is next door. There are many excellent restaurants in downtown Silver Spring. I know them all, for I used to live there. Sergio's, in the Hilton, is my all time favorite. Second is DeMarco's, down and across the street from the Hilton. Both are on Colesville Road (Route 29).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank orangeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Hotel is located near the Discovery center and is close to the Metro station. The desk clerk that checked us in was friendly and gave us great directions to the subway.

There are some good restaurants near the hotel and a convenience store next door.

Everything in the hotel looked and smelled new. I looked around for a good price in a safe location around DC and this fit the bill well.

I will stay in this hotel next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kieran212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

It was nice place to stay. I stayed for 5 Nights. Liked the flat panel TV. Enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. For dinner, we went out to Subway, Oriental East, and the pizza place, Pizza Boli's. There was also a 24 hour laundromat close by. There was a 7-Eleven next door. I went to the gym three time to run. You have to get a key each time though. There is L.A. fitness about 4 blocks down. Parking is hard if you come late in the night. Looks like it was recently renovated for carpets, furniture, walls, lobby. I enjoyed my stay. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Subraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Address: 7990 Georgia Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range: $131 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing