We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relatively good price and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relatively good price and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After comparing various hotels in the Silver Spring area, we decided to stay at the Comfort Inn. The ratings were good and the price was better than for most well-rated hotels in the area (although a lot higher than for hotels outside of the D.C. area in general). Check-in was slow but not unacceptably so. Parking was an additional $10 and several signs in the parking area (not responsible for theft, etc.) made us worry about whether our car was likely to be broken into (it wasn't). The area surrounding the hotel had both trendy places and rundown places - a transitioning neighborhood. We felt safe in the hotel itself. The elevator ran well although it was not great looking. The hallway outside our room was functional but the carpet was dated. The most pleasant aspect was the room itself. It clearly had been renovated fairly recently and was very nice. The bedding was attractive and the room was roomy. The bathroom was normal - not great, not bad. There was a complimentary breakfast which included eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit, bagels, and some other breads. The food was good. However, there was no place to sit in the small eating area so we had to take our food up to our room to eat. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator. A little noisy in the morning with people rolling their ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

We are planning to renovate the entire hotel and look forward to a New Look.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    56
    19
    20
See reviews for
70
55
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel because every other hotel in DC was booked. I'd suggest that's probably the only reason I'd stay again. The plus side was that the staff were courteous and professional, but I was in a smoking room where the whole corridor stank of stale smoke (I'm a nonsmoker), the decor is outdated, there were stains on the carpet and a hair in the bath. The view was of a gas station, and it sounded like there were a herd of elephants in the room above me. I am truly incredulous that anyone would give this a five star rating. It only got two from me because the staff were pleasant, the place itself only gets one star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiluxsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvenience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

We are planning to renovate our entire hotel in 2014 and I am sorry you were given a smoking room.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My Daughter and I stayed at this excellent hotel during our 1st visit to DC. It was truly a fantastic experience. The staff was very courteous and professional, and address our specific needs. They have a shuttle service to the metro station and other points in downtown Silver Spring during the week, which was extremely convenient. Ms. Hema Azmera, front desk manager, was exceptional! As were all other staff. We will DEFINATELY stay there again! Additionally, they offer a full complimentary breakfast, which saved money for us.

Room Tip: If there's a musty smell, don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the third week of March 2014. It has clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator. In addition, you get free sumptuous breakfast. They serve eggs, cereals, juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, waffles, bread toast, sausage, etc. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. It is very close to Metro and to downtown Washington DC itself. We took a cab all the way to Capitol to catch the early morning guided tour and it cost us about $25 and 30 minutes. It is not a fancy place but provides you clean comfort at the best price.

Room Tip: Best rates on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanthanamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I and my wife with 02 teenagers booked 02 rooms at this hotel for 04 nights on our 1st visit to Washington DC in March 2014, which is about 5 miles or 20 mits away from key attractions in DC.

From the time we arrived everything went wrong and I found disastrous; they have messed up our type reservation made 02 months in advance;. Rooms, carpets, lobby, elevators everything dated and un-cleaned . I really blamed myself for selecting this place.

I gave up every plans in the 1st evening and went around to find another hotel and flowing day itself I check in to a hotel at Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, very clean hotel run by yet another known chain.

The unexpected experience completely ruined one day of our precious trip. We will never ever think about returning this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SriLanka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvenience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had been traveling with our school from South Carolina to work at a nearby convention. And let me tell you, housing a group of 100 students isn't easy! Luckily, this choice hotel met our every need. As soon as we arrived at the hotel they greeted us with a warm, friendly welcome. The manager on site, Donna, was so understanding and easy to partner with. All of the staff, from managers to security guards, were attentive and understanding during our stay at the Comfort Inn. Due to our early working hours we could not make the provided continental breakfast. The staff decided to extend the hours of the breakfast so that we could eat before work. We are so thankful for everyone who made our stay amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDENHURST
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Clean and comfortable accommodations with a nice continental breakfast served on time with a PC nearby. Free WiFI. Attentive staff. Location dictates a parking fee but otherwise reasonably priced for this location near DC and Metro station into DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREDRIC I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing