We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service, disgusting rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
“Terrible customer service, disgusting rooms.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We reserved a non-smoking king bed for 2 nights. When we arrived the first day our room had been given to another guest by mistake and we were forced to spend the night in a non-smoking double. The employee at the front desk told us our room would be switched to a non-smoking king the next day. We emptied out our room before leaving for the day in preparation for the switch. Upon coming back to the hotel we find that our room was never switched. Not wanting to sleep in a double bed yet again, we tried our luck with a smoking king room. It was the most disgusting hotel room I've ever slept in. The room WREAKED, there were stains all over the carpet and furniture, the bathroom door didn't lock, and there was no alarm clock. We'll never make the mistake of staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on every guest experience. We hope you will allow us to be of service to you in the future.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 301-588-4400

Sincerely,

Joseph Oden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    61
    79
    173
See reviews for
114
55
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My mother-in-law has disowned me after staying at this motel. The toilet didn't flush correctly, the deadbolt lock didn't work (we placed a chair against the door), the light bulbs either didn't work or were missing, the Bible had doodling all over the place, the area was unsafe or at least gave that appearance. I could go on but why bother. Spend a few extra bucks and go elsewhere and continue being part of a family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your feedback helps us to focus on the experience of our guest. It also gives us opportunity to address any issues, and focus on great guest service. Please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

If you would like to discuss this any further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 301-588-4400.

Sincerely,
Joseph Oden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Housekeeping staff was good, but bathroom old & run down. Front desk was helpful with directions; then didn't know English when the refrigerator stopped working & lost ALL our food inside. 1 plug for microwave & fridge but meither worled. Was very close to the free bus which dropped off @ silver spring metro. Tv was TERRIBLE there was a hole w/ splitter hanging out and picture would of been better w/ rabbit ears & foil.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay.

Please know that we apologize for any inconvinnience you've experienced during your visit. Know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are currently in the process of renovating and upgrading our rooms.

Once again we hope that you will let us serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joseph Oden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here Jan 15-22, 2012 and almost everything about this hotel was horrible. They didn't tell me when I checked in that they were renovating the rooms directly next to and above me. They replaced the carpets each night but didn't start until after 10pm when I was already in bed. The banging, dragging, yelling lasted most of the night each night. In the morning they were gone and I left early so I thought they were done. But no, each night they returned. My room could have used renovating and would only qualify as, at best, a one star hotel. The faucet handle came off in my hand, the chair had creepy stains all over the seat, the fridge froze the one thing I put in it, the maid didn't refill the coffee packets, the outlet covers were missing, the headboard had mysterious scratches and holes, the air conditioner/heater had such worn out controls that you couldn't even read it anymore and had to guess by the temperature of the air if you were getting heat or a/c. I hated this place. When I wrote to Days Inn they sent me a lame letter about wanting all their guests to be satisfied. What a terrible experience. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelArtMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
TravelArtMusic, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not find your stay here satisfactory. As you noticed we are working hard to improve the hotel and we hope that you come back. Sincerely, GM, Joe Oden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August start of September 2011 while touring colleges in Washington DC and Baltimore. The good things I can say about this place is that the staff was pretty friendly and the room had a frig and microwave, was reasonably clean but a bit run down, parking was plentiful and the location provides reasonable access to the metro and the Beltway, The bad things are: The bathroom smelled of mold. There was no WIFI access in the first room we had and the second room's access was pretty weak. The property was pretty dirty and run down, the ice machine was broken and the area was pretty sketchy. I've stayed in other DC areas hotels within the same price range which were much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This motel qualifies as cheap in the D.C. / Silver Spring area. The neighborhood is fine now but used not to be, hence the bullet-proof glass in the lobby. The staff are very nice. The rooms need maintenance -- mine had an exposed electrical outlet and the heater control did not operate properly. The bed was too soft for my liking. But the wifi works great, the refrigerator and microwave are a nice touch, the size of the room was fine with a king bed in it, and the desk and chairs were good. Next time I'll try the Travelodge next door, just to compare.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The people were nice, but it was pretty dirty. We wanted a smoke free room and it did nothing but smell of smoke. The walls were dirty and it was down right disgusting. Thank God we only had to spend one night.

Room Tip: I am sorry I wouldn't stay there again. It's a good spot, but they really need to update i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlickRew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Silver Spring

Property: Days Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8040 13th St, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a refreshing stay during your Washington, DC vacations, Days Inn Silver Spring, located off Highway 29, is exactly what you need. With free parking and just five blocks from the nearest Metro station, major DC attractions are easily accessible from our hotel. During your stay, enjoy amenities including an on-site restaurant, free WiFi and our seasonal, outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing