We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average motel”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This motel qualifies as cheap in the D.C. / Silver Spring area. The neighborhood is fine now but used not to be, hence the bullet-proof glass in the lobby. The staff are very nice. The rooms need maintenance -- mine had an exposed electrical outlet and the heater control did not operate properly. The bed was too soft for my liking. But the wifi works great, the refrigerator and microwave are a nice touch, the size of the room was fine with a king bed in it, and the desk and chairs were good. Next time I'll try the Travelodge next door, just to compare.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    61
    77
    170
See reviews for
111
54
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The people were nice, but it was pretty dirty. We wanted a smoke free room and it did nothing but smell of smoke. The walls were dirty and it was down right disgusting. Thank God we only had to spend one night.

Room Tip: I am sorry I wouldn't stay there again. It's a good spot, but they really need to update i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlickRew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Silver Spring hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

There is bullet proof glass at the reception desk but it is an otherwise nice lobby. The same goes for the Subway resturaunt on the property. I walked around the couple block area and it did not seem that bad, just large apartment buildings that have clean grounds. No vagrants hanging around. So I don't quite get it.
The room is about what you might expect for the price. Furnishings a little outdated, there is wear showing on the walls and the drapery rod is pulling out of the ceiling, but it is clean. So there is some maintenance needed, but nothing severe. The reception staff is friendly, and quick to help. I saw whom I believe to be the manager walking the grounds and picking up. So there is some pride here. I would stay here again because of the price, but if I had the budget for it I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a nonsmoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhYou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We couldn't find a cheap hotel to save our lives in DC but we did find this place. It was about a 12 minute walk to the Metro, that wouldn't be bad but my wife was pregnant and it was 100+ outside. There is a FREE Metro shuttle at the hotel but it stops running at 7pm and that just isn't enough time to eat dinner and take the metro back.

The pool doesn't open until 2pm which is pretty lame for families with kids, the rooms were not clean, the towels were dingy and there is not really any place to eat near by, although "Babes" has really good food and the best cheese cake around.

Besides that for a cheap place to stay you cannot go wrong. If it were just me it would be fine but the wife wasn't to thrilled. The office doesn't have a printer so if you are going to print your boarding pass sorry you will have to stand in line a the airport.

Room Tip: We called the hotel directly and paid over the phone, they gave us a $20 discount per night for doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaplesRestaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have only been in this room for about 4 hours and I'm so ready to find another motel. The wallpaper is almost falling off the walls in the bathroom, and there are holes where the floor and wall meet. It smelled a little when we first walked in the room but most motel rooms do. The toilets dont have enough pressure when flushed so it is VERY easy to clog the toilet. But the straw that broke the camels back is: This motel has a bad ant infestation. We threw away a fruit cup that my son ate and less than 45 minutes later, ants were all over the wall and the trash can. When my wife called the front desk to ask for a plunger and some bugspray, they were pretty quick with the plunger but an hour later, they still havent brought the bug spray. As soon as I finish this review, I'm going to look for another motel.

Room Tip: Rad the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpthowdy1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for submitting a review for the Days Inn Silver Spring. Our goal is to ensure complete satisfaction and I'm saddened to hear that you were not one hundred percent satisfied. Please accept my sincere apology. We are looking for another opportunity to serve you, and this time get it right. Please don't hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss this further at 301-588-4400.

Joseph Oden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

First of all, I had a coupon to book the room at 80$ and they would not honor it. It cost 120$ and the night before we had stayed at a 40$ location that was much better than this dump.

I tried to call them to book before arriving but even after calling several times no one answered the phone. Once I got to the lobby there was no one behind the bullet proof window and I had to wait several minutes before the guy sauntered in to book a room.

First of all, the lobby as well as the rooms stunk of bug spray. They said we were getting a "full size bed" which apparently means a small double bed. Although this room was so small, it really couldn't have fit anything better. This hotel advertises that "everything works", well our bathroom lock didn't work, and the tv made a horrible buzzing noise that almost made it impossible to watch. Air conditioner works but was old and very loud. Good to drown out the construction going on across the street though.

The only plus was it was that it was close to the metro, but this place was so disgusting that we got up as early as we could just to get out of the place.

Recommend NOT staying here. I wish we had paid 200$+ and stayed somewhere else. This was garbage. Literally the worst place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubyredgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time in submitting a review for the Days Inn.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to me. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property.
I do apologize that the coupon rate was not available for your stay, and the only rooms that were available was our full size one bed rooms which are the smallest rooms we offer.
It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please don’t hesitate to contact me so that we can discuss this further at 301-588-4400.
Sincerely,
Joseph Oden
General Manager
Days Inn SiverSpring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel half a dozen times in the last year. It has become my go-to place for trips to the DC area (especially after a stay at a Days Inn in Alexandria went awry recently).

I've heard complaints about the area, and I'll admit things can get a little sketchy if you head down the street a little toward the nearby 7-11, but I've never felt unsafe. It is about a 10-minute walk from the Silver Spring Metro Station, and I've made that walk at 11 at night many times without any issues.

It is the proximity to the Metro Station that makes this my preferred place to stay on my visits to the area. I can stay here for a fraction of the price of DC hotels, and make it to downtown in about half an hour.

The front desk staff has always been friendly and helpful, and the rooms I have stayed in have been clean. The strength of the wifi signal varies from room to room, but I've always been able to get a suitable signal. There has been some construction nearby since at least last year and interrupted my sleep a couple times last summer, but on my trips this year it hasn't been loud enough to wake me up.

All in all, this is a good place to stay if you are going to DC and just need a bed and a place to put your stuff. I plan to stay at this location on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilltown76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
15 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Silver Spring

Property: Days Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8040 13th St, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a refreshing stay during your Washington, DC vacations, Days Inn Silver Spring, located off Highway 29, is exactly what you need. With free parking and just five blocks from the nearest Metro station, major DC attractions are easily accessible from our hotel. During your stay, enjoy amenities including an on-site restaurant, free WiFi and our seasonal, outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing