We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An Oasis in the Desert.

This is a beautiful place! If you like plants that grow, there is an abundance here from the huge... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Howard K
,
Silver Spring, Maryland
Great place for kids

I love this park. It is well maintained, and the kids area is large enough for a ton of kids. We... read more

Reviewed April 13, 2019
Diane M
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
109
44
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
44
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature center brookside gardens train ride miniature train ice skating pine lake horseback riding all ages walking trails huge playground merry go round picnic area rose garden kids will love small lake butterfly house visitor center
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 157 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2019

This large park has probably about 10 miles of trails, some paved and others with a natural surface. Lots of picnic tables and a huge playground for the kids. Even a train!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank kanford46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Great place to go with family for picnic. Take the kids as we did when they were growing up, they had Old McDonalds Farm. Then went back years later with grand kids. Love the train ride. I am especially appreciate the park for taking the gorgeous old Oak Tree that stood on the corner of Layhill and Bel Pre roads and making a monument of it to grace the park entrance. The County brutally and without cause hacked this tree to pieces in the dead of night actually causing a pile up of cars coming to a complete halt with shocked drivers.the following morning. So yes, visit Wheaton Regional Park
and go touch our tree. Take a stroll, jog, but enjoy.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Joann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Caters to numerous outdoor activities for all ages, from young to seniors. From tennis, ice skating, gardens, train ride, butterfly farm, running brooks, deer, horseback riding, Christmas lights, model trains. So much to do and a great place for picnicking. .

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank chakbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

The last time I visited this Park was 7 years ago, in September 2012. We had picnic at one of the Shed/Shelter and were able to hike to the Brookside Gardens.

It was cold and windy during my visit this time. The Carousel and Miniature Trains were closed and some private Children's Party was going on at the Pavillion. Noted the Bikes for hire near the Carousel, they were not there during my first visit.

This Park will surely be very busy in Spring and Summer time. There are lots to see and do such as picnicking, riding the trains and Carousels, walking/hiking to other areas of the Park such as the Brookside Gardens.

Will come back and visit again when the weather gets warmer!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

At any given time of the year, Brookside Gardens abound with flowers in bloom, memorable and picturesque views by the ponds and grounds, and the ducks, geese, and herons join walkers as they stroll through meticulous and gloriously crafted trails. Peace, tranquility, and calm abound and reenergize the spirit as one walks through the Gardens and enjoy the views, the visitors, listen to music, and just be.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank L8111CQalejandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews