We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicer than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nicer than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

I had never stayed in a Residence Inn before. I had likened these to a Holiday Inn Motel type of property and I usually stay at 4-5 star properties now that I'm older and picky. This was a very nice place! The room was large - very much like the Embassy Suites except these rooms have full kitchens with stove, refrig, microwave and dishes/silverware. Sitting area can be closed off from the bedroom. Very comfortable bed - small bathroom but clean. Two TVs and free highspeed Internet. Though - I did have trouble accessing secure websites - the ones that have security on them - like my work and school networks. That was my only complaint. It is located in a quiet, safe area and is close to downtown. Free buffet breakfast with oldstyle oatmeal (raisins, applesauce, brown sugar), eggs, sausage, pastries, cold cereal, fruit, juice - very ample. Highly recommend - very comfortable.

  • Liked — Room was very nicely laid out - kitchen and sitting area closed off from bedroom
  • Disliked — Internet access would not allow connection to secure sites
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank catgetsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
15
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

Quick Review: I have always been pleased with the Residence Inn chain, and this one is no different.

I booked this hotel for the annual National History Day competition at the University of Maryland - the hotel is close to the campus and also offered a special rate for those participating.

The hotel is fairly new and seemed to be well maintained. The room was in good condition with no problems whatsoever. It was the generic room for the newer residence inns with a common room with the kitchen, desk, and sitting area (with a pull out bed in the couch), along with the bedroom, and then the new standard two-part bathroom with the shower and toilet in its own room while the sink was apart from those - very handy when a couple of people are getting ready at the same time. There was also ample closet space.

The only initial issue was that it took a long time for the room to get cleaned after the first night, but the manager took care of this very quickly. One morning there was also a very brief power outage (all of one minute).

The pool/hot tub area was a nice place to sit and relax, and the basketball court was enjoyable too. The exercise room was small, but on par for a hotel of that size and price level. The business center was handy for printing out boarding passes and such, it has your run-of-the mill iBahn Lobby PC as well as a regular desktop for other tasks. Sadly Wi-Fi was only in the lobby but the wired Internet worked well in the room.

The complimentary breakfast buffet every morning wasn't exactly exciting in terms of variety, but the staff made sure everything was stocked and the buffet is a nice way to save some money on breakfast. The evening meals weren't stellar, but again, it was nice to have the option available.

Great staff and a well-managed hotel. I can't complain! It was a good stay.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms at a good price.
  • Disliked — Evening meals.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed at this property over the Christmas holidays at the end of 2006. We were in the area visiting with relatives, but the hotel was a welcome respite each day.

The hotel's location is in a fairly suburban area; it is about 10 minutes drive from downtown Silver Spring, and about 10 minutes from Wheaton. With our mapquest directions, the hotel was extremely easy to find. Parking is free, and there were ample spaces during our stay. The parking area seemed very quiet; while it felt very safe, I, as a woman, would exercise caution if parking alone late at night.

Check-in was very easy, and the front desk staff was always extremely pleasant. There was no bellman on duty at the time we arrived which was late in the night. We reserved a 2-bedroom unit, and 5 of us stayed in the apartment. The unit had 2 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, as well as a living room area with a small kitchen. The set-up was very nice, with new furnishings. The apartment was spotless, and everything, including pots, pans, appliances, etc., seemed very new and in good working condition. My only suggestion would be that it would be nice if at least 1 bathroom could be accessed without having to pass through the bedroom. If you have any guests sleeping in the living room area, they must pass through the bedroom to visit the bathroom.

The bedrooms were average in size; they were not small but neither could they be described as oversized. The bedroom would have been far too small a space if you did not have the living area. There is no place in the bedroom for a desk or easy chair. This is not a problem unless you have guests in the living room who wish to have the couch in the open position at all times.

The living/dining area were comfortably furnished, with a couch, 2 easy chairs, and a dining table that could seat 4 people. The living area gave the unit that "at home" feeling. The unit had 3 tvs (1 in living and in each bedroom) and fairly extensive basic cable service.

Beds were extremely comfortable. The sofa bed was fairly comfortable as well. Soundproofing in the units were adequate, but if you have loud fellow guests or neighbors, you will hear them.

We used the free high-speed internet access, and it worked beautifully.

Housekeeping did a great job. Our only gripes were as follows:

1) The weird smell in the hallways. This could be due to what other guests were cooking, but the smell never changed over the 5 days I was there. We think it could be some of the cleaning products, but the hallways really needed some Febreeze!

2) The hotel did not inform us that there would be limited housekeeping on Christmas Day. (We think this is a great idea for the employees; however, the guests should be informed.) We left an extremely generous tip for the housekeeper that day (in addition to the smaller daily tips we had been leaving); the tip was collected, but nothing - not even minimal housekeeping - was done. This was corrected by the head of housekeeping once we made an inquiry; however, she should not have had to do that. I view this as a glitch in service, and will not let it affect my review.

The hotel is next door to a strip plaza which has a Target store, grocery store, gas station, McDonald's, and, most importantly - STARBUCKS. We only ate the complimentary breakfast on one morning, but it was quite good. We also never tried the complimentary dinner as we had family to visit, but the selections looked fairly pleasant.

All said, we enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Strange (but not terrible) smell in hallways
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MIAChels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

We had a very nice stay at this hotel in July, 2006. I was initially put off because we learned, after the fact, that the hotel charges quite an unreasonable pet fee (150.00). This is very high (we travel almost exclusively with our dog and thus have some opportunity for comparison). This sort of high fee is really unwarranted. . .however, we found out about it too late to make other plans (the fee is rather buried on their web site). When we arrived, I was disappointed to find that the two bedroom suite we had booked and confirmed was no longer available -- we were told someone decided to extend their stay and that the hotel could not put them out. I was ready to get rather annoyed as we'd just spent 9 hours in the car. . .however, they quickly offered us two studio suites for the price of the original two bedroom suite. I must say, they handled this nicely from a customer service point of view. . .and when we settled in to our studio with the rest of the group in a studio just down the hall the front desk called, checked to see that we were comfortable, and even waived the pet fee for the trouble we'd had. Again, good example of great customer service!

Hotel is VERY clean and well equipped, all furnishings and decoration very nice and fresh. Free hot breakfast was delicious and very generous. I had never stayed in a Residence Inn until this trip; based upon how we were treated and the accommodations I would certainly stay again!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Staff
  • Disliked — Original reservation being changed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check in early if you must have a specific configuration of room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaphneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 1 month while I was here doing an internship. We had a great experience and staff is very friendly. This is a newer hotel in the area, so everything is clean and up to date. It is located right next to a newer shopping center (we walked there a few times.) It has a target, kohls, petsmart, superfresh, mcdonalds, chipotle, starbucks, friendlys and more. The hotel also has a fitness center, pool, spa, basketball court, coin laundery, business center, and small foodmart. Also all rooms come with high speed internet connection, fridge, stove top, microwave, dishwasher...There is hot and cold breakfast every morning. Eggs, potatos, cereal (hot oatmeal too), waffles, pancakes or french toast, sausage or bacon or corn beef hash, toast, muffins, fruit and more. On Mondays thru thursdays they also have a light dinner. This is some of the stuff we had: hotdogs, pizza, hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, soup and salad, salsbury steak and mashed potatos, tuna casserole, quesadillas...The only downside is if you want to go to DC, you have to drive to the metro in downtown silver spring and park. We enjoyed our experience here and would stay again.

  • Liked — Breakfast, light dinner, bed, decor, cleanliness
  • Disliked — location to metro
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank labibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for one night. It was a quick trip as we were visiting friends at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington, DC. The hotel exceeded my expectations. The service was great. Everyone who worked there was extremely friendly and professional. It was immaculate. The lobby was very inviting with comfy leather chairs and couches, a plasma tv, and a fireplace. The room was also very spacious and clean-- we stayed in a standard studio. We had a small kitchen with very nice stainless steel appliances. The bed was very comfortable. Given the short visit, we literally just slept in the room-- didn't spend much time there. However, I would highly recommend this place. They also offered a free breakfast buffet which was yummy. If you're visting anyone at Walter Reed, it's only a 15-minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in early November, 2005, with our two young children. We were visiting Washington, D.C. and wanted something cost-efficient; this hotel was quite a bargain. We paid $119 a night for a two-room suite with a kitchen, a full hot breakfast, and evening appetizers.

The living room had a fold-out bed which worked well for the kids, and there was a full wall and door into the bedroom.

The hotel was immaculate, and the breakfast was varied - eggs, pancakes, waffles, cereal - and fresh. My kids loved the evening pasta bar and the board games the hotel provided.

Although we had trouble accessing the internet in our room, there was a business center with free high-speed access.

We chose to drive into DC - in off hours, it was a piece of cake, but during rush hour it was quite congested and took us about an hour.

We'd definitely stay at this hotel again when traveling with kids.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring North
Courtyard Silver Spring North
#8 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Property: Residence Inn Silver Spring
Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Dr, Silver Spring, MD 20904-7857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#5 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing