We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The hotel was spotless, the staff attentive, the room very comfortable. We had a great time an certainly will search out Marriott Residence Inns where ever we travel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkVeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    61
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
17
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kona, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I traveled here for a month long stay and enjoyed to hotel. The people are all very nice. We were satisfied with the free breakfast and dinner the few times we were around to take advantage. The Rooms appeared new or newly remodeled, I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but it feels new. The bed and linens were fine (I slept great!). The exercise room was sufficient, although I would have enjoyed a small weight set of some kind (I did not notice any problems with the treadmills like one of the other reviewers mentioned - must have been fixed). The in-room kitchen was nice to have, but no oven (only microwave).

For some reason I expected to be closer to DC and the metro. The metro station is about 10 minutes away.

I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnQtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Needing to be in the DC area, this hotel had a very reasonable internet rate. We were stunned by the exceptionally clean and well kept establishment. As we traveled with our children it was great to have a pool for them to play in. The rooms were a bit tight for 2 adults and 2 young children, but so clean. I travel very often for work and cannot remember staying in a hotel for this price that was this enjoyable. Breakfast was diverse and tasty, the eggs were not the gross frozen variety so common at hotel breakfasts. Real oatmeal for those eating healthy, and better then served at the breakfast restaurants. So do check it out, I heard from another guest that he was able to get a deal for less then shown on the web by using Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

The hotel is clean but many of the amenities are lacking. The internet service is intermittent. I found myself having to reconnect fairly often. The treadmills are not calibrated properly so beware when you start it up as you'll find yourself flying off the back of it!

There is a small shopping center adjacent to the hotel with Target, McDonalds, Starbucks, a grocery store. There's another strip mall within a five minute drive with Fridays, Five Guys and Panera.

The hotel is very close to 95 and to 29 so that is convenient.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vtbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Very good hotel. Super clean. Nice rooms that are in very good shape. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Quite location. Only complaint is that the fitness room could have been larger and better equipped.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wjstpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This was a business trip I booked via the Marriott website. I normally try and book Hilton properties because of their reward program, but none of them seemed up to par based on the Trip Advisor reviews I read. The Residence Inn is located in a quiet section of the Metro Washington megalopolis. Hotel looks like a condo from the outside, grounds are kept nice. Parking is free - however there are specific warnings not to leave GPS in the car. Check in was smooth. Rooms are wonderful with a living room and a full kitchen set up complete with coffee maker, coffee filters, silverware, etc.. the bedroom and bath are just as pleasing. The beds are very comfortable. There is a free breakfast in the morning mainly cereals, bagels, muffins, and scrambled eggs, it was OK but nothing special. At night they have a different theme each night and serve light food for an hour or two. High speed interenet is available via a CAT 5 cable in the room and was free. The fitness center was pitiful tired looking equipment and only cardio treadmill, stepper, and a bike - there is a Golds Gym about 5 miles away. Washington is expensive even with a special rate the room ran $201 per night..... Gas in MD is running $3.79 right now. I would book this property again, but might try to find one with a better gym set up.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient
  • Disliked — Fitness room is poor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank a1scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram7881
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We've stayed at many hotels but this one definetly top it all. They let us check in early and check out late. The hot breakfast in the morning was excellent and the staff was wonderful. I recommend it to anyone. Our room was clean, the kitchen was wonderful even though we only stayed one night. We will definetly stay again..

  • Liked — The room was wonderful, the kitchen had everything u need to cook.
  • Disliked — Nothing..everything was great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ram7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring North
Courtyard Silver Spring North
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
506 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
19 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Property: Residence Inn Silver Spring
Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Dr, Silver Spring, MD 20904-7857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#5 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing