We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some features you will like some not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located on the fifth floor of a building with access being through an elevator or driving your car up five floors. You then walk across a bridge. The people are great. The lobby is nice. The rooms are dated and worn. The beds ok with a thin matress. You can hear people in other rooms. A nice feature if you like to work out is that it has membership to an adjoining facility. It has a pool for laps, exercise equipment, and some classes. Also across the street is a whole foods store. The Doubletree in town has a more modern room and is less expensive

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. I apologize that you were not comfortable in our hotel. I agree that our location near Whole Foods & Washington Sports Club are a huge plus for us as well as all of the shops and restaurants within walking distance from our front door. It's a great place to be and I hope that you will return again and experience the excitement of Downtown Silver Spring and the Courtyard Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel! Stayed two yrs. ago lobby done over and very nice. Was not happy with check-in, shared I was there two yrs. ago. No welcome back and given a lousy room at first!! WHY?!? Was given a room right away, but again no welcome back, glad you're here.

Room Tip: Get higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I'm sorry you had a less then exceptional welcome when you arrived at the hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to the appropriate people so that we can improve on this service. I hope that when you come back to Silver Spring you will again give us an opportunity to be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights here.The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Silver Spring, MD. It is close to all the Metro station, stores, and movie theather.The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water and clean towels. Despite the fact that it is in the heart of downtown, the room was very quiet. You will have to go past the front hotel entrance and make a right to find the hotel parking lot. You park on the 5th floor and parking is free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for writing in a response to trip advisor. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a nice hotel and the parking is free, you can't beat that. The hotel staff was very pleasant, the area is centrally located by restaurants, bars and shopping. Good for a mini stay-cation. Would definitely go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gthicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. We look forward to the next time we can be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel met all our needs perfectly as we visited family in Tacoma Park. It was a comfortable room, quiet, and we had a simple breakfast in the lobby cafe each morning. The courtesy van dropped us off at our children's home since it was within the range of the free shuttle. A grocery store and CVS were right across the street, which we found convenient. And the price was very reasonable for DC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdermurdermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I spent 3 nights here, it was my second visit as I was here a few years back. The place has been done up and was still getting some work done when I was there. Its not modernism throughout but it has alot fresher feel then it did before. There is a small gym and a bar that servers some average bar food. Breakfast is the usual coffee shop fare. Location is not bad and a trip into the center of Washington in the evening took about 30-40 minutes.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are better for a view of sorts. Plan to get breakfast somewhere else.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I appreciate your comments because it always give me a fresh look at what is working and what is not. I am confused about your comment regarding our gym. Our hotel does not have a gym in the hotel but we are adjacent to the Washington Sports Club which has a large fitness area as well as classes that our guests can join in on. If your just using the fitness center it's free to all of our guests. It's important to know if we are telling our guests the right information. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time you come into the Silver Spring area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Washington DC for a conference that was near capitol hill. This hotel is only a few blocks from the Silver Spring red line metro station, and they have a van that will take you and pick you up from there. It's actually a nice walk if you don't have luggage. It is located in the heart of Silver Spring so there are plenty of food and shopping options nearby. I was especially happy to find a Whole Foods right across the street!

Staff were friendly, the room was nice and the bed was comfy. If you're visiting DC and don't mind taking the metro each morning, I highly recommend staying here for affordability.

Room Tip: Staff asked if I minded if they gave me the handicapped room. If they ask you, just say "no.&q...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to DC. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
523 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring North/White Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing