We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'm checking out tomorrow after another 6 night stay. I had an issue with the shower that Abby had fixed in under 30 minutes - she is awesome! My reservation came with free breakfast, which was a great start to the day :) The staff is always helpful and Abby always remembers me, even though I am sure she must see so many faces. I always feel welcomed and valued when I stay here. I have stayed at many different Marriott properties and it is certainly one of the best. Thank you Abby and everyone else!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
John,
Welcome Back! I'm glad you were again satisfied with the service that was provided while you were a guest of the Courtyard. Abby will be pleased to know she has been recognized and I will make sure she see's your comments. As always if you noticed anything that we could be doing better, please let me know. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    123
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
85
38
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an excellent location if you're visiting Washington. It's a quick ride to Washington, there are a ton of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. It's a good value too; less expensive than Washington Hotels and the parking instead of $40/day as I've paid in the past, is substantially less. Great fitness center too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-V-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you are taking advantage of our proximity to DC and all that the surrounding area has to offer. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Downtown Courtyard Marriott for 8 days in December. The hotel is pretty standard in terms of room and service. But, the location, right in the center of Silver Spring, is ideal. There is easy access to shopping, restaurants, a Whole Foods market right across the street and a movie theater within walking distance. Our room rate included breakfast, which was excellent, with many choices, although the menu did not change from day to day. There was easy access to parking for a nominal daily fee as well as complimentary access to a real health club on the second floor of the building that housed the hotel on the upper floors. All in all, a very good place with nice staff and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudleywysong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great location!. The rooms are nice and comfortable beds, clean, and very customer service-oriented. Many on the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The common spaces are very pleasant. Be prepared to pay towards parking $2:00 up to $10:00.The Hotel Bistro offered a limited menu but it was ok for my 5 day stay. The only problem was EVERYTIME the staff got my order wrong or left something out. After the third time i called and left a message for the Bistro manager never received a call back. When i did talk to the manager she apoliged and said they never get compliants and would appreciate it if i would not repete what I was telling her (OMG she has no clue!!!) The good thing is your are right in the middle of restaurants, shops and movie theaters I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mk670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our staff to be attentive and that the hotel amenities and great location added to you stay. I apologize for the inconsistent service that was provided in our Bistro and will forward your comments to the appropriate person so that we can provide you with exceptional service on your next visit. We strive to provide the very best accommodations and service and truly appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I come to SIlver Spring regularly for work and have been searching for the perfect place to stay. This place is as close as I have found. A pleasant room and comfortable bed, clean, and very customer service-oriented. Many on the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The common spaces are very pleasant and the food service is convenient, if a bit limited. There is a refrigerator, but no microwave (though they will bring you one if you ask.) Being right in the middle of restaurants, shops and movie theaters is fun. It all adds up to a convenient and pleasant stay. Oh, and there is access to a great gym -- so much more than the typical hotel workout room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalAdventureGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First, the positives: This is a great location if you want to visit the DC area. Loved the free parking on the adjoining deck over the weekend! It felt very safe for walking to and from the nearby pedestrian mall--no need to move the car all weekend. The rooms (we had two) were clean and comfortable. My ratings of the sleep quality reflect issues with noise, not the beds or the bedding.

On the less positive side, there was inadequate response to our calls to the night staff regarding drunken partiers returning to the hotel. Loud talking, drunken laughter, and rap music intermittently awakened us several times between 12 and 3:30 am. Offering to move us in the middle of the night was not an acceptable answer to the issue. Reporting the issue to the staff in the morning resulted in apologies and the “comping” of our breakfast bill but really did not take away the irritation and loss of sleep.

And speaking of breakfast, mine had to be the very worst in memory! Eggs so dry it was hard to pick them up on a fork, micro-waved bacon and dry toast. I really think the whole thing was pre-prepared and re-microwaved. It was delivered to my room in a box by a very nice man who appeared to be the sole person working in the "cafe" Sunday morning. I think the trick here might be to ask for something NOT on the limited menu—I notice that another reviewer had success doing that. And speaking of the menu—what’s with the fact no prices are listed for the items on the menus placed at bedside?

The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a one-hour extension until 1 pm for check-out on Sunday morning however they cancelled our electronic room keys about 10 am while we were still in the hotel resulting in some of us being locked out of our rooms. After being re-admitted once, the keys did not work again so we were advised to prop our doors open to prevent being locked out again. Really?

Maybe weekends are just a down time for this hotel but I expected better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that your room accommodations met with your satisfaction and I do apologize that you were disturbed throughout the evening and that we did not take care of that situation to your satisfaction. I will definitely pass on your comments regarding our Bistro to ensure that corrective action is taken so that we can provide a better experience the next time you return to our hotel. We strive to provide the very best in service and product and sometimes fall short of that expectation. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to the Silver Spring area you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, very comfortable accommodations, extremely helpful & friendly staff & a nice cafe for a small bite. Convenient location, only 10 minutes walking from the metro, across the street from Whole Foods & in an eclectic & delicious restaurant hub. I've stayed here for business on several occasions and will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenwondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Property: Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Address: 8506 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4470
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing