We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Very nice and comfortable. Hotel Bistro food ok but service sucks!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great location!. The rooms are nice and comfortable beds, clean, and very customer service-oriented. Many on the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The common spaces are very pleasant. Be prepared to pay towards parking $2:00 up to $10:00.The Hotel Bistro offered a limited menu but it was ok for my 5 day stay. The only problem was EVERYTIME the staff got my order wrong or left something out. After the third time i called and left a message for the Bistro manager never received a call back. When i did talk to the manager she apoliged and said they never get compliants and would appreciate it if i would not repete what I was telling her (OMG she has no clue!!!) The good thing is your are right in the middle of restaurants, shops and movie theaters I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our staff to be attentive and that the hotel amenities and great location added to you stay. I apologize for the inconsistent service that was provided in our Bistro and will forward your comments to the appropriate person so that we can provide you with exceptional service on your next visit. We strive to provide the very best accommodations and service and truly appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 351 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

I come to SIlver Spring regularly for work and have been searching for the perfect place to stay. This place is as close as I have found. A pleasant room and comfortable bed, clean, and very customer service-oriented. Many on the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The common spaces are very pleasant and the food service is convenient, if a bit limited. There is a refrigerator, but no microwave (though they will bring you one if you ask.) Being right in the middle of restaurants, shops and movie theaters is fun. It all adds up to a convenient and pleasant stay. Oh, and there is access to a great gym -- so much more than the typical hotel workout room!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalAdventureGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First, the positives: This is a great location if you want to visit the DC area. Loved the free parking on the adjoining deck over the weekend! It felt very safe for walking to and from the nearby pedestrian mall--no need to move the car all weekend. The rooms (we had two) were clean and comfortable. My ratings of the sleep quality reflect issues with noise, not the beds or the bedding.

On the less positive side, there was inadequate response to our calls to the night staff regarding drunken partiers returning to the hotel. Loud talking, drunken laughter, and rap music intermittently awakened us several times between 12 and 3:30 am. Offering to move us in the middle of the night was not an acceptable answer to the issue. Reporting the issue to the staff in the morning resulted in apologies and the “comping” of our breakfast bill but really did not take away the irritation and loss of sleep.

And speaking of breakfast, mine had to be the very worst in memory! Eggs so dry it was hard to pick them up on a fork, micro-waved bacon and dry toast. I really think the whole thing was pre-prepared and re-microwaved. It was delivered to my room in a box by a very nice man who appeared to be the sole person working in the "cafe" Sunday morning. I think the trick here might be to ask for something NOT on the limited menu—I notice that another reviewer had success doing that. And speaking of the menu—what’s with the fact no prices are listed for the items on the menus placed at bedside?

The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a one-hour extension until 1 pm for check-out on Sunday morning however they cancelled our electronic room keys about 10 am while we were still in the hotel resulting in some of us being locked out of our rooms. After being re-admitted once, the keys did not work again so we were advised to prop our doors open to prevent being locked out again. Really?

Maybe weekends are just a down time for this hotel but I expected better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that your room accommodations met with your satisfaction and I do apologize that you were disturbed throughout the evening and that we did not take care of that situation to your satisfaction. I will definitely pass on your comments regarding our Bistro to ensure that corrective action is taken so that we can provide a better experience the next time you return to our hotel. We strive to provide the very best in service and product and sometimes fall short of that expectation. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to the Silver Spring area you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, very comfortable accommodations, extremely helpful & friendly staff & a nice cafe for a small bite. Convenient location, only 10 minutes walking from the metro, across the street from Whole Foods & in an eclectic & delicious restaurant hub. I've stayed here for business on several occasions and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenwondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to your next trip to Silver Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the Downtown Silver Spring Mall, thus it was easy for me to shop, dine, and return to my room safely. The lobby was not in the usual ground floor location,but rather on the first floor. The staff did their duty to the letter, the hospitality wasn't warm. Probably because it was the winter season. Snacks were available in the vending machines, ideal for in-between meal snacks, and meals were served in the restaurant.

I particularly like the over-sized hotel windows, which was great for looking out.

No airport shuttle was available, but one can get a reliable super yellow shuttle.
In general the hotel lived up to the hotel chain standards

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is located a 10-minute walk from the Metro Station - Silver Spring / Red Line. The hotel kindly operates a quick shuttle to and from the metro. Many restaurants are located nearby. The Veteran's Convention Center is two blocks away. Excellent location.

Evening service at the lobby "cafe" wasn't the friendliest. However the rest of the staff was professional and courteous. If you get breakfast included in your rate, as with Gov't rate, the details are a bit strange. Order ONE meal selection from the menu at a counter. Don't ask for an extra banana or apple cause it's not included if you order eggs and sausage. The process is definitely weird. Staff should be given more flexibility OR a simple breakfast buffet would seem more accomodating. I really wanted a banana with my breakfast order but had to buy it across the street at Whole Foods Market. Odd...

Room Tip: Lobby is on 3rd floor. Rooms on this level have loud street noise. Building construction is underw...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crpl_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. I do apologize about the noise level, unfortunately due to our location on Fenton St. it is situated on a main thoroughfare in the city. The next time, we would be happy to accomodate you in a room higher up or facing away from the main street which will minimize the noise. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent here 3 nights for business, and I have to say it was a very comfortable experience. Recently renovated, looks good and it offers complimentary wireless everywhere. It also has a bistro which serves breakfast and simple dinners, which is quite convenient. It is also located very close to downtown, walking distance from restaurants and shops.
Personnel overall nice and competent.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank arbitrary_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our staff to be attentive and that the hotel amenities and great location added to you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
523 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring North/White Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range: $128 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing