We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky sophistication”
Review of Jackie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Jackie's Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sligo Ave
Transit: Silver Spring Metro station is .6 miles from our establishment (approximately a 12 minute walk). We are 6 blocks south of the metro on Georgia Avenue. Metrobus line 70 stops on Georgia and Sligo Avenue. Metrobus 79 (express) also runs on Georgia Avenue.
Silver Spring MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Funky sophistication”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went for a birthday dinner with a fun group, and picked the right place. As you enter, you can tell the restaurant used to be NAPA auto-parts store. Now there are fuzzy pillows, and old B & W movies projected onto a screen. The waiter was incredibly knowledgeable and efficient. The mini-burgers were perfect for the unadventurous eater, the specials delicious. The only drawback was that something was burning in the kitchen that night, and since the kitchen was visible to diners, the smell filled up the restaurant.
We went to the Side Bar bar next door and finished out the evening. I enjoyed "Marked for Death," a gin concoction that I sipped all night while everyone else drank beer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    15
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Upscale food with a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have eaten here twice. Each time the menu is completely different. Very ambitious and well executed. Drink menu
Is fun and not ridiculously expensive.
The bar is great place to meet friends.
Dining room is festive as well as perfect for a date. However - I suggest an appetizer and sides if you are Hungry.
They also have a martini bar next door.
For next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Up69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingtondc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“re excellent service/incredible ribs and corn on the cob”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went to Jackies for dinner tonight. Its within walking distance of the Silver Spring metro or do what we did - take the 70 or 79 bus up Georgia Avenue from Howard University area. We didn't have reservations, but still got seated in a nice booth. Our waiter couldn't have been better. He was friendly, knew the menu and was there just the right amount. We couldn't have asked for better service. A manager? seems to be roaming the front bar and restaurant making sure everything was going well. We all started off with the ribs and corn on the cob option. It was the highlilght. Highly recommend. Think it was $7 and worth every penney. I orderd the Amish chicken entree. It was ok. I don't think I'd order again. Maybe it was difficlt to top the ribs and corn. Others ordered the steak and said it was excellent. We didn't do drinks so can't comment, but lots of interesting looking drinks wer floating around. There is a small bar up front of the restaurant and a connected bigger bar - ''Side Bar'' next door. Both restaurant and bar were packed. Diverse crowd of young and old, black and white. The restaurant had a very good vibe. The entrees are on the pricey side - $24 and up. Seems like it would be a good first date restaurant. The restaurant wasn't too noisy. We were surprised to hear it closes at 10:30 pm on Sat nights. A little early. There is a parking garage across the street. We will be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newphiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken! Good atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Go on Monday's - the fried chicken's great. Updated decor- looks surprisingly fresh for Silver Spring. There's a nice funky feel to this place. It seems like a regular local hangout. If you feel like heavy after hour drinking, be sure to hit up Sidebar next door

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deadhead_attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, funky atmosphere and fun menu”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Jackie's helped lead the way for other restaurateurs in Silver Spring, so we will always be indebted. It is fun, it has a good vibe, and the drinks and food are similarly fun and funky. Sometimes the waitstaff and management can be a little too cool for school, and that's my only drawback. The side bar is great for parties.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kitty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie's Restaurant also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing