We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Burmese Food”

Mandalay Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 377 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Burmese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Friends took me to Mandalay for a Burmese experience and as always I was excited to try something new. It's a small restaurant located in a strip malls. Ambiance isn't anything worth raving about -- small booths and tables sprawled across two big rooms that were decorated with some local flavor. We had called earlier to make reservations, but, they said they didn't take any. However, there was no wait on a Saturday evening and our party of four got a table immediately. We asked our waiter for recommendations and he was happy to oblige. The food was great and full of flavors.

We ordered the Nyat KaukSwe Gyaw - the flat noodles that were quite similar to the Thai noodles that comes sprinkled with crushed peanuts. However, I loved the sweet and tangy peanut sauce that it was accompanied with. Awesome!

My favorite was however the PaZun MoteNyinChin Gyaw - the Shrimp sautéed with sour mustard, onion, and fresh cilantro... Simply cooked, yet delicious with some rich flavors.

I am not a big fan of the onion-tomato curry, hence, really didn't like the catfish fried that we ordered.

If you are looking for a Burmese experience, Mandalay certainly fits the bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReenaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    81
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Burmese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friends took us to this neighborhood restaurant. We'd never eaten Burmese cuisine before, so have no means of comparison, but the offerings were fresh, tasty, well-prepared and served promptly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Home cooking, homey atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went to Mandalay for lunch with business colleagues. This was my first experience with Burmese cuisine and it was a pleasant one. I had LetThoke Sone, a mixed noodle dish with fried tofu, potato, and cabbage. It was more like a salad than an entree which was fine for lunch with a nice spiciness that you don't get at the chain noodle shops.

The prices are reasonable -- around 10 bucks for lunch. The atmosphere is homey if a bit worn. I'd definitely return for dinner the next time I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaraunt in Silver Spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

When you first see Mandalay Restaurant in old downtown Silver Spring, I know what you're thinking. "Who in the world would recommend THIS place!?" From the outside, it's not much to look at. Inside, it's much larger than one would imagine. It isn't a dressy, upscale kinda place, but it's nice, and has both booths and many tables. Every time we go there, the front part of the restaurant is full. Why? Because Mandalay has the most exquisite Burmese cuisine in this area. It has a large, highly varied menu, with plenty of dishes, both with meat, and vegetarian, for anyone to love. The service is always good, and the food is always inexpensive and delicious. Try the curried shrimp in coconut milk with green peppers and tomatoes! It is to die for! It is definitely our favorite place in Silver Spring!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting South Asian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took TripAdvisor's recommendation for this restaurant when on a whirlwind trip to the DC suburbs this weekend. It lived up to its past reviews on this site. We did go early on a Saturday night and had no trouble scoring a booth. Service was quick and friendly and the Burmese cuisine different - to me a cross between Thai and Indian. There are LOTS of vegetarian choices. The restaurant is no frills but neat and clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mandalay Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing