We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!”
Review of La Malinche

La Malinche
Reserve with OpenTable
La Malinche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 447 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At La Malinche, our tapas menu highlights authentic Spanish and Mexican dishes while also exploring more contemporary tapas, showcasing the very best of this unique and exciting style of eating. Come visit us in the very heart of downtown Silver Spring.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Delicious, every single item. The fish tacos were superb, the patatas bravas also a yummy side. Easy walk from the 3 Hilton properties. Service was attentive. Will go again if we stay on this side of DC in future visits.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Viking-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The historical figure La Malinche is controversial: a hero to some and a traitor to others.
Same with the restaurant bearing her name:I guess some people like it, but we felt betrayed

Room was so dark that patrons were forced to use the light for their phones to read the menu.
Poor light does not mean romantic!

We were served by 3 waiters and 2 food runners, none of them knowing what exactly to do.
Bread and butter came 2 minutes AFTER the appetizers and main course came 2 minutes after the bread and butter.
The was no room on the table to accommodate this unexpected buffet.
The red sangria was definitely the worst sangria of my life! Full of tannins, appeared made with a heavy bodied cheap red wine and had no citrusy notes at all. Lots of small apple cubes already dark red in color and completely overpowered by the heaviness of the wine took up the bottom third of the pitcher.
Worst than sangria was the chicken fajita.
Only 3 small pieces of chicken, bland, without any char lines arrived at the table without any sizzle...
With this restaurant , the DC type of snobbery came to downtown Silver Spring.
Poor cuisine, poor service, poor drinks.
High price.
Betrayal

Will never return.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank dr_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

I came here with a friend to do the bottomless brunch.

This is my second time for food here and it didn’t disappoint. Every dish was great. Mussels were huge. Mimosas constantly topped up.

Will definitely come here again when I’m next in The States!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Draculas_Bride666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We have been here several times and enjoyed it each time. The food is good and prices are reasonable. The service has always been fast and food is prepared very quickly. But I am always worried about a place that seems too empty. No matter what time of day or week we have come it has never been more than half full.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

What a pleasant surprise! Went to brunch with some friends and the food was terrific! and the bottomless sangria was not bad either. Its a good deal as well. The only downside was it was quite loud as it was packed. We were not rushed, we order tons of tapas and consumed all of it. Its conveniently located across from the AFI Silver Theater and up the street Discovery Communications. Plenty of street and garage parking on the weekend.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hatteras01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Malinche also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Been to La Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing