We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice neighborhood Chinese/Japanese restaurant & it's open every day”
Review of Asian Bistro Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asian Bistro Cafe
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Chinese/Japanese restaurant & it's open every day”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As the title says, this is a nice neighborhood place. We eat here regularly. The food is not exotic, but is always good and reliable. The service is generally fast and friendly and the atmosphere is pleasant. Note- it calls itself Asian Bistro, but really it's Chinese food and sushi. Tried the Pad Thai once and did not do that again. Also, the Chinese food is pretty reasonable, especially considering the large portions, but the sushi is expensive.

Two things of note. There is an extensive vegetarian menu, not just the standard few dishes. Also, the owners have a serious work ethic. Translation - unless the power goes out, come storm, snow or national holiday (including Christmas), they are always open.

BTW, I checked family as the type of visit because I was forced to pick one, but I've actually been her as a couple, with family and with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildlife_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I keep giving this place a try and it always disappoints. It seems popular enough but I don't like it.

Helpful?
Thank NotYourBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hot and sour soup was very good. Great sushi, great kung pao shrimp, very good service. Would definately return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank invenereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Tonawanda
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just OK sushi.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had a taste for sushi, and I guess this place was alright, but nothing too exciting. They seem to have a lot of staff just hovering, although it seemed to be a slow night, so probably looking for something to do. I kind of wish I had chosen the Red Lobster next door.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpmcblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very veggie friendly”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great selection of veggie "meat" entrees, didn't love the one I chose, but other choices might be better and some might like the mild taste of the one I had.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank veggiemaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Bistro Cafe also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing