We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of El Golfo

El Golfo
Ranked #53 of 447 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 3, 2018

I played a gig here with my band, then ate dinner. The staff and the atmosphere was very nice and supportive. The restaurant had many families and the food was good. The portions were large, and the prices were good. Will be back in the future.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank csharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018

Went early (6pm) on a Saturday. Not a big crowd. Had Chilli Rellanos with beans & Rice. Good sized Margaritas! Also - some red sangria. Portions are huge! Could barely eat the sopapillas we ordered for desert.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jobu212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant supports the arts, the schools, community groups…. They show such a generosity of spirit! Friday night salsa music and salsa lessons rock. The nights for kids’ entertainment are just right for little ones. And happy hour is the best for appies and ‘ritas. The food is always good with generous portions.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

I've been going there for quite a few years now, and always eat the same thing, Rock Fish. I always ask for it not salty. The menu is formidable; quite a lot of seafood and meat choices, all very tasty. I also have white rice with black beans and tostones (fried plantains), and mashed garlic on the side.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hiram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Great service. Generous coupons for the email club members. Punches for frequent visits resulting in free food. And best of all, delicious entrees.
We begin with homemade salsa and homemade chips. How do they make them taste so great?

My husband always orders steak fajitas here, which are excellent. I try different entrees and none disappoint. Today I had duck tacos with wild rice and mango salsa. Last time pechuga rellena. Pato en olives. Pollo al horno. Lomo saltado. Chilles replenish. Shrimp Acapulco. All are delicious. I also recommend the cerviche appetizer and the tres leche dessert.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ebfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Golfo also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Been to El Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing