We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bete Ethiopian Cuisine & Cafe

Bete Ethiopian Cuisine & Cafe
Ranked #75 of 375 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Cuisines: Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

loved it and will come back
great service, people are very friendly - lovely courtyard. Food was quite good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MonkeyGirlBean
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food here is pretty good. The lentil sambusas are great (when available). The vegetarian combo is pretty good (but not exceptional). But they have a fish dish (tilapia) that is DIVINE.

The service varies. Sometimes they are very friendly and sometimes they are not. There is a very nice patio out back and it's a great place to enjoy your meal in good weather.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyGirlBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth finding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Bete is located in a little house situated among giant buildings, but its flavors are as big as the urban architecture outside. My dining companion has traveled to Ethiopia several times and has Ethiopian family members, and she said the sambusas were the best she's ever eaten. Although I've never been to Ethiopia, I am a kitfo fanatic, and Bete's "special" version was indeed special. Yum. Everything we ate was so, so, so delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprocketella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District of Columbia
1 review
“Nice family owned restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A friend and I had a delicious meal. The service was good, and the price was very affordable. My only suggestion is that the yard could be a bit better landscaped. The back yard is such a nice place to eat and it could be so much nicer if it was better landscaped and better groomed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try something new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This cafe is located in the downtown Silver Spring area 7-11 miles from DC. It is however on a side street and can easily be missed. This cafe has both inside and outdoor seating, excellent customer service the staff very welling to explain menu and cuisine. My meal was out of this world good. If you have not tried Ethiopian cuisine this is a great please to get your first taste.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrendaG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bete Ethiopian Cuisine & Cafe also viewed

Silver Spring, MD
Silver Spring, MD
 
Silver Spring, MD
Silver Spring, MD
 

Been to Bete Ethiopian Cuisine & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing