We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Greek Fries!”
Review of The Big Greek Cafe

The Big Greek Cafe
Ranked #21 of 384 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Their phone number is 301-495-2912. They opened the first week of March 2009. I ate there for the first time today and would like to leave a recommendation.
Restaurant details
Description: Their phone number is 301-495-2912. They opened the first week of March 2009. I ate there for the first time today and would like to leave a recommendation.
Wagram, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the Greek Fries!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was a great restaurant in Silver Spring for a quick dinner. We went because of reviews on Tripadvisor and enjoyed dinner. The Greek Fries are tossed with herbs and feta and topped with wonderful tatziki - delicious! We also enjoyed a salad, the special that day and Hercules burger. Dinner is served on disposable plates, so take-out would let you eat with real plates and silverware. There is a stop nearby on the FREE Vango bus or easily walkable in Silver Spring.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lismatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Greek food in the Silver Spring area!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant has THE BEST Greek food in the area. I love Greek food and have been to a many places in the DMV area but this restaurant has the best. Great vegetarian options and the staff are so friendly! It's a cafe set up so nothing fancy but the food is great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSSSSim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't expect to get the roast chicken here!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you have eaten the Greek Roast Chicken here before (not the pita sandwhich or salad, but simply the roasted chicken) you probably would agree it's really good. That's why my entire family loves going there. However, it seems that their supply cannot meet the demand for this particular item. I have been there several times - both weekend and weekday at different times of the day and have been told that they are sold out or that they "just" sold out. I was there 2 days ago and yet again the chicken was not available. I explained that I had been there several times before at various times of the day and week and was told they were out of the chicken. When I asked when would be the best time to come to get this item instead of apologizing for the continous lack of a standard item on their menu, the woman behind the counter got an attitude and said that I should try getting immediately when they open if I wanted the chicken. There has to be a better way of running a restaurant so as to meet the demand if you know a certain menu item is very popular. This wouldn't have been quite so bad, but for the nasty attitude that the woman had when speaking with us. After this experience we left and went to eat at The Greek Place which is only a block away where they actually had roasted chicken available and a very pleasant staff member who waited on us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great fast weeknight meal”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I live near downtown Silver Spring and eat there all the time. This is one of my favorite choices for quick weeknight meal.

The main reason to go here are the huge Greek salads. They are really a bargain and come topped with your choice of gyro meat, fresh grilled salmon, chicken or falafel. All are excellent and the portions are huge. I have never finished a meal in one sitting yet. Service is fast and friendly. The atmosphere is not much, but at these prices, what can you expect?

As others have mentioned, there are two Greek places a couple blocks apart on Georgia. Both have almost the same menu, but this one is definitely better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildlife_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
1,147 reviews
751 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Love their salad dressing; don't miss their fish special”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Be sure you're at "The Big Greek," NOT "The Greek Place" which is two blocks further north. The "Big" is the original (there's a tangled back-story which led to their break-up) and by far the better. The house dressing that comes with their salads is intoxicating. All their ingredients are fresh. When their fish special is available, it's the ONLY thing to consider. We prefer to take out: makes it easier to really savor the food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Greek Cafe also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Been to The Big Greek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing