We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
nyc, United States
1 review
“...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

overall good value, but no on-site parking (unless you have $15 for valet parking). bath towels missing 2 nights out of 3, required 2 calls to lobby one night to rectify. rooms kept clean, and are spacious enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience with the bath towels on your recent stay with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to not only meet but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    228
    128
    63
    32
See reviews for
260
125
54
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recently organized a trip to D.C. for my 8th grade students. This hotel put us on a floor that was under renovation. They put us on the 2nd floor that had table saws and other debris from the renovation. This was a safety concern, as it was in the stairwell. While it is good proximity to D.C., parking is limited, our bus had a very difficult time dropping us off and picking up. My room also hair ventilation issues, in the middle of the night I heard a sound that was similar to a helicopter propellor. After I investigated, I realized it was the ventilation system.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Please accept our apology for the poor service you received on your recent visit to our hotel. We hope you will give us another opportunioty to meet and exceed your expectations and stay with us on your next visit to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This Hampton Inn is a great place to stay when on a visit to D.C. It is three blocks from the Metro, and in an attractive, 'young' neighborhood with MANY moderately priced restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Wonderful complimentary breakfast to start the day, fresh hot coffee all day, a well trained and smiling staff, with clean comfortable facilities. Top job!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank UConnJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be your host, it was a pleasure and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was fine. The staff was very pleasant, caring, and helpful. They made the stay a very positive experience. The kitchen staff was wonderful in always making sure the breakfast buffet was adequately stocked. The valet parking staff was exceptional in working in very cramped and confining quarters. In a horrible downpour, they cheerfully walked everyone to the entrance with big umbrellas, parked the cars with courtesy and care.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peacecorpsreunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Meets most standards of a Hilton hotel. Rooms were clean, breakfast was nice and good amount of space in the breakfast area. Parking situation could be better but the valet were very good. Had a minor problem with housekeeping replacing towels in the bath and front desk didn't deliver as promised.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 663anthonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived for a one week stay beginning April 5. We were on the 7th floor. The room was quiet but the AC/heater fan was loud. Simply running too fast. The fan did not appear to be adjustable. It can be turned off on the thermostat. 3 blocks from the Metro station. Many restaurants around the hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast food was a little off. Meat offered some days. Unbelievably thin but lots of it bacon offered one day and sausage offered another day that week. Eggs were unusual. Menu switched egg style selection slightly each day. Food was not bad. Just not great. One waffle maker is not enough for the number of people waiting to use it. Apples and oranges offered each day. The woman who replenished the food did a good job. We got a good nights sleep. A little annoyance was I always wondered what the maid would forget each day. Towels, cups, ice bags. Ice bucket was never emptied. Ask if WIFI in the room is free. The directions for connection are confusing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greginlacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, NJ, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Average hotel--the cheapest of the 3 Hilton properties in Silver Spring. An okay choice if you have business at NOAA or elsewhere in downtown Silver Spring. Not a DC destination! Convenient to the Silver Spring downtown food/bar/retail district. Several quite decent restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments reagarding your recent stay at our property. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Property: Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing