We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found that this hotel had great value, it was quiet and clean, the online access and complimentary breakfast were a big plus compared to other hotels. We drove easily to DC from there. We went on the weekend when parking a block away was free, which we were told by the staff so that we didn't pay for valet parking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MargotC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    228
    128
    63
    32
See reviews for
260
125
54
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
418 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

1: I paid $158 for two nights in a clean and spacious room.
2. A great free hot buffet breakfast.
3. $15/day for valet parking that never took more than 15 minutes to retrieve my car
4. Welcoming front desk and staff.
5. One block to many international restaurants.
6. Air conditioning worked fine, and the shower was no mystery to anyone familiar with European travel.
Another couple with whom we were travelling preferred to stay across the street, at the Doubletree -- where they paid a similar rate but had to pay for breakfast. After the first night, said they'd never stay there again. Yes, free internet was not great, and TV channels limited, but tell me where you can stay in downtown Silver Spring, with all its advantages, for anything like what this hotel costs. Suburban hotels off major highways are, perhaps, where some business travelers and mavens should stay to meet their requirements.

Room Tip: As always, away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overall we have had good experiences at Hampton Inns as a low-cost and convenient brand, but some little things left me with mixed feelings about this one. On several of our 6 nights the room was not made up until the very end of the day, for one. The air conditioning worked well until it didn't. The shower temperature control was a bit unfathomable. The swimming pool -- clearly designed for family use with its 3-4 foot depth -- did not open weekdays until 4 pm, and the king bed was too soft. On the plus side, the $15 valet parking was convenient for Silver Spring with attentive service (though the driveway was a never-ending adventure to navigate), the breakfast buffet service was good and the free wireless appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to travel extensively for work. I have about 70 nights in various mid price hotels this year. In my experience, I find the three most important amenities to a good, productive stay are a comfortable bed, fast Internet, and a decent tv.

The beds are comfortable and the decor is what you would expect from a Hampton inn.

The Internet speeds are ridiculously slow. Forget about remote desktoping to your office computer or downloading large files. You get better wireless from McDonald's for free. The wired speed isn't any better. I ran a speed test and it was .73mb/second down and .35mb up!

The flat screen tv's are nice but they have a very limited channel selection and less than 5 channels in hd. Forget about checking the financial news of the day or watching the golf channel. The one hbo channel is in standard definition.

My room was very loud. The air conditioner works well but the blower is loud and the switch operating it is even louder. The toilet has a leak and constantly runs. There was no hot water for about 15 minutes this morning and the hotel seems lightly occupied. The towels are not as plush as you would expect.

Hate being so negative but this place isn't a good value for the price being charged. I would not recommend this hotel to a business traveler and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cawepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We apologize for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay at our facility. We have addressed your comments with the appropriate departments for immediate correction. We are currently upgrading our internet system and making changes to our TV channel selection. Thank you again for your comments and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Alana Smith, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Mills, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good value. Silver Springs has a lot to do for dinning and entertainment. Walking distants to Metro. Clean room very nice staff. Parking is valet only and there is a charge. Weekend parking is free in Silver Springs indoor parking throughout the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was very clean and welcoming. It is very conveniently located to major shopping and food. The continental breakfast was a great start to the day. I would recommend this hotel to others staying in Silver Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while we were apartment hunting. Overall, it was okay, but the complimentary Internet access was HORRENDOUSLY slow. Staff was nice enough, as was the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Property: Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing