We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
201 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had business in Bethesda, MD, and chose this hotel to save money for my company. The staff is very nice, although $15 valet parking seems to be the only option. I read other reviews and saw that it might take awhile to get my car back in the morning, so I asked for it at 6:30 and had breakfast. At 6:45, the car came. That seems a little bit long to wait, although it wasn't a big deal.

There were a lot of teenagers in the breakfast area in the morning, so I assume it offers discounts to school groups. There was a little bit of hallway noise at night, but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator. Ask for your car a little while before you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your comments and we would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with our valet team. As you stated, this is an area that we are focusing on and we can assure you that the appropriate actions will be taken for us to improve. Thanks again for your review and we hope to have another chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    215
    119
    60
    29
See reviews for
251
119
48
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Two of my good friends and I decided to take a weekend staycation in Silver Spring. We were going to the Flyleaf concert at the Fillmore, so what better location than just a few feet down the street at the Hampton Inn? We got the hotel room at a huge discount, so I can't fairly discuss cost in relation to our visit. The basics you'd desire are all present. There's a pool, a hot tub, and a gym. We requested a fridge, and it was brought up within minutes. The complimentary breakfast was standard in terms of hotel fare, and the rooms are pretty clean. It wasn't spectacular by any means, but I have no complaints. What is spectacular is the location because EVERYTHING is steps away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and we apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn in Silver Spring. Close enough to walk to metro station, however we used the complimentary shuttle as we were doing a lot of walking in DC with kids. Staff was helpful and friendly. Valet service was great-always welcoming when we came back after a long day! Belay in Valet wanted us to feel home and we did! Thanks so much! We stayed outside of DC for price and an indoor pool and glad that we did. Will definitely consider this Hampton Inn again when in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff is clueless and they do not handle problems well. Parking is terrible and the valets are the worst. I do not recommend staying here. They messed up my room and all the offered me was a free 15 dollar valet for a 90 dollar room. They gave us a rollout bed with no blankets or sheets. So basically i payed 90 bucks to sleep on a rollout bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize to you for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. We will be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate team members and make the necessary adjustments. Again, we apologize and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you need to do business in Silver Spring, this place does what it sets out to do. Conveniently located 4 blocks south of the Metro. It is a combo Hampton Inn/Homewood Suites. Rooms litle worn but the bed is comfy and it has free breakfast and free wi fi. It is located near many shops and restaurants and it works for what I needed it for. I wouldn't go there for a romantic weekend get away but if I needed a reliable place to serve as a homebase, it works.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip in April 2013. I used the Metro from Washington DC to get here, which was convenient. The walk to/from the Metro station (Silver Spring Station) was about four or five blocks- not three as advertised by the hotel but still very close and convenient. The area has a lot of restaurants as well as a Whole Foods a few blocks away so food and other services are nearby. The hotel was clean and comfortable and was what I expected from a Hampton. The hotel offered free in-room wireless service, which I really appreciate given the price of the hotel. The complimentary continental service included a mix of cold and hot items- definitely enough options to find something for most people. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient, and I had no problems with the service or facilities during my stay. I would stay here again for business. If you are considering this as a location as a base while visiting the main attractions in Washington DC, I would stay somewhere closer such as Washington DC itself or closer suburbs in Virginia (i.e. Alexandria or Crystal City).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockvlle, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Hampton Inn at Silver Spring has a very nice staff, it is also very convenient to a great deal of shops and restaurants. I had a very good stay and would return to the Hampton Inn at Silver Spring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Property: Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing