We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great hotel for business travelers”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here on my most recent business trip, and had no complaints. Rooms were large and clean, hotel was quiet, and staff was friendly. Was glad to see they offered free internet, though it would be nice if they would just offer the premium service to all; especially to companies / agencies that do a lot of business with the hotel. Would definitely stay here agian.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Jeff Z,

Thank you for spending your recent business trip with us at the Homewood Suites Silver Spring. What a pleasure it was to hear about how our staff was friendly!

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with this review.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    142
    76
    39
    19
See reviews for
225
66
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks on business. Location is great as it is within walking distance to the Metro Station, shopping and lots of restaurants. My room included a kitchen (2 burners, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker), comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with plenty of counter space. The air conditioning, however, is very loud and was poorly located so it blew directly on me when lying in bed; I had to block it with articles of clothing and a chair. Breakfast and Dinner were both included and were overall a good experience considering they were free. Staff at breakfast & dinner were wonderful and helpful. WIFI was also included and worked well, though, at night it did slow down (probably due to high usage). Front desk staff were average. Valet parking is $15 a day; there is public parking a block and a half away for $11.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theokitty916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear theokitty916,

First of all, thank you for choosing Homewood Suites of Silver Spring as a place of "home" during your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our kitchen inside the room, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom. However, I am sorry to hear that the AC unit gave a loud noise during your stay with us. Your survey has been shared with the appropriate managers to ensure this is addressed for the future.

We are glad to hear that our staff at breakfast/dinner were wonderful and took care of you. However, we deeply regret that our front desk service was just an average. Our front desk takes a pride with our customer service and we hope we can show this to you next time when you choose our hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our first time staying at Homewood Suites, stumbled upon it while googling accommodation with a kitchenette, and we were happy with the room despite it being a bit tight for 4 people. Maybe better if we had requested for a one-bedroom suite instead of a studio. Kitchenette was convenient with a dishwasher. Room was clean although the towels (including the tea towels) could use some replacements.

Breakfast was very basic, but the 24-hour free flow coffee, tea (and hot chocolate) was a welcome respite.

The staff was indifferent, however, not the usually hospitable Hilton staff that I'm used to. The valet was helpful though, giving us the option to self-park our vehicle at a public parking lot, which happened to be free over the weekend.

Room Tip: Always book the one-bedroom suite if you have more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear SAAzli,

As the general manager at this hotel, I'd like to thank you for staying with us. I deeply regret that your experience with our front desk team was not the usual Hilton Worldwide experience that you always get. Our guest feedback is imperative to our daily operation and we can only get better with feedback, such as yours. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate managers to ensure that we better our customer service in the future.

I hope that you'll stay with us on your next visit so we we'll have an opportunituy to make this up to you. Thank you again for your feedback and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was absolutely the worst Hilton i have ever stayed at. I stayed at this hotel for three weeks, so I had enough time to experience the highs and lows. I had to walk downstairs to the front desk 2-3 times per day to get a new key for my room (usually to have the key fail again the third time, and a maintenance man would have to walk me up and let me in with a master key-which sometimes did not even work). The front desk staff were rude and acted inconvenienced to be bothered by me when I needed a new key. There was a roach infestation in two of the rooms of my fellow associates who also stayed at this hotel on business. The valet parking guys (while very nice) usually took between 30-45 minutes to retrieve the car, making us have to be up an extra hour early before our 5 AM shift. The front desk forgot to apply my Hilton honors number, so I had to request these- which were declined because of the receipt. I had to request a new receipt because the one they gave me was from a "broken printer" that did not print the receipt with totals. The rooms would be very nice if they were clean (include a kitchen, huge bed, couch, two tbs, and a desk), unfortunately they are disgustingly dirty. Hairs left all over the bathroom, sticky kitchen floor, and a weird odor that smelled like BO. Our group will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Betsye C,

I would like to thank you for offering this feedback about your recent stay with us. I deeply regret that you had such a poor experience with our front desk team members as well as valet team mebers. We strive our best to ensure that our guest experience is nothing but superior but we have seem to fail you on this during your recent stay. In addition, we deeply apologize that your room were not clean as expected during your stay. We assure you that this is not the norm, and we will make every effort to ensure it doesn't happen again. Also, we go through deep clean process with our approved vendor for pest control. This service is done on a weekly basis to ensure that we keep pest control under our belt.

I have shared your feedback with appropriate managers so they can follow up accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and I do hope that you allow us another opportunity to service your travel needs as we do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice suite and nice staff. It did take a few times requesting additional towels and a cot for these things to arrive but the staff was always pleasant. Only issues involve parking and sharing the hotel with Hampton Inn. Both lines are owned by Hilton but Homewood Suites tends to be a bit nicer and pricier. When we arrived and saw the sign for both Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites on the building I was concerned. Turns out the lower floors are hampton Inn and the higher floors are Homewood Suites. The staff is the same friendly staff and the dining areas are separate but the other amenities and areas are shared spaces. Not a huge problem but I could see this being uncomfortable for some who aren't expecting to share facilities with a lower rated division of the hotel chain. Overall, the rooms were clean and the kitchenette is terrific. The A/C cools one area much better than the other as the room is divided by the bathroom (we were in a Prime suite). Inevitably those on one side would be cold while the others are warm. Not sure if this is fixable but a little annoying. Also, the thermostat could not simply stay on cool and turn on and off when necessary. If you set the temp higher than it currently is, the heat turns on. Lower the temp and the A/C kicks in. Again, manageable but strange. Price was relatively high (around $200/night) but we traveled during a peak time so it is to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Behzad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Behzad D,

First of all, thank you for choosing Homewood Suites as a place of "home" during your recent visit to Silver Spring area. We thank you for taking your time to share a feedback in regards to your recent stay. Our hotel is uniquly situated as a dual brand in one building. As mentioned above, our friendly staff are taking care of both hotels to ensure maximum guest satisfaction. We do have a specific Lodge (breakfast and dinner area) exclusively for Homewood Suites and a separate sitting area at the lobby to ensure that our Homewood Suites guests are taken care of and enjoy the experience.

Your feedback in regards to our A/C Unit has been shared with the appropriate management team to see what we can do for our future guests, including yourself. We thank you for choosing Homewood Suites and we hope to see you in the near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a tired hotel in need of a makeover. The linens were shabby, the bathroom was missing something (a small mirror, maybe) and it just felt like the entire room needed a scrub down. The a/c unit sounded like a jet engine.

Breakfast was fine, a typical hotel food.

Valet parking, unfortunately, was necessary. The parking deck next door was being demolished, so it's not safe to park there. The other lot is too far. So, you're basically forced to pay $15/day for valet parking. Not ideal.

I liked that the staff remembered our names. Nice touch.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBunny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear TravelBunny36,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing the condition of our guest room. We have recently purchased new linens for the entire Homewood Suites and we hope you can consider staying with us next time and try our New Bedding.

I am so sorry about the valet experience that you had from our hotel. We offer the lowest rate of valet parking fee in the area and the complimentary parking in city is available on the weekend as well as after 7PM during the week.

Is there anything else I can do to ensure your stay is flawless next time? Please let me know by calling me at 301-565-0005. Again, thank you for your feedback and sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Silver Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location for Silver Spring, and related areas such as Bethesda and DC itself. Restaurants and public transportation and shops. Pool good for younger kids. Small gym. Very good breakfasts included in nice breakfast room.

Room Tip: Further from elevator has less hall noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DmS-L89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear DmS-L89,

Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites of Silver Spring as a place of "home" during your recent visit to Silver Spring/Bethesda/DC area. I am go glad that you were able to enjoy our community for few days. Also, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast experience at our New Lodge! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with this review.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing