We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff, clean rooms but dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
“Great staff, clean rooms but dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment I arrived the staff was very polite. The rooms were clean, but dated. Heating/air conditioning system very noisy. Having breakfast and a light dinner in the evenings allowed me a simple one-stop solution after a long day. The parking and luggage unloading situation was difficult as the area for this was extremely tight and congested.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure being your host. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    131
    63
    31
    15
See reviews for
198
51
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I usually nitpick about something but this time..... well, everything was perfect. Quiet, clean and convenient. Close to the Metro, tons of restaurants, chains and otherwise. I even did some clothes shopping that I hadn't planned on! Had a full kitchenette that I will use on a future visit. There's a Whole Foods just a short walk away. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickGMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Here at Homewood we strive for perfection on a daily basis, and its nice to hear when we achieve that goal. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our 4th time staying in this Homewood Suites as our "home away from home" when visiting the DC area. We love the walk to the red line, the abundance of great places to eat nearby, and the DELICIOUS breakfast offered each morning. Our room was just as perfect as always. There's just something about staying here that makes us feel very comfortable. By the end of our 3 night trip, we found ourselves referring to our room as "home."

Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent visit with us. Its a pleasure to be your host on each of your visits. Please stop by my office and say hello on your next visit. Thank you again and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Check in was a bit confusing, as Homewood and Hampton are in the same place. No big deal though. Rooms were nicely equipped and spacious, though showed slight signs of age. Manager's reception (free food and beer/wine) was convenient and nice, though the food was nothing to write home about. Plenty of place to work, which was convenient with meetings being canceled. Staff was understanding and let me check out late (1:00pm) and work from the room.
Overall, great experience. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-Christin... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next stay when you visit the Baltimore/Washington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, NM, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Conveniently located, great restaurants nearby, shopping in easy walking distance, friendly staff, shuttle for places too far to walk, great jacuzzi, small mini-mart. We enjoyed our long weekend visit to the Baltimore-Washington area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The rooms were Excellent and clean. The Valet Parking attendance were super friendly and helpful. All staff were friendly and courteous. It was like home away from home. My family enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location during a recent business trip to the DC area. I chose this hotel for the convenient location and easy access to Baltimore, Downtown DC, and the Beltway. Other than that, I was completely disappointed with the actual property. The front desk staff were unfriendly, and even rude when I checked in. The valet staff is slow, even when calling for your car 15-20 minutes ahead. The rooms are okay, a bit shabby and run down in the bathroom and kitchen area. Even the hallways need some updating (stained carpets, broken ice machine). In the future, I would rather drive a bit more out of my way and stay somewhere I feel more comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vps5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have addressed the issues you brought to our attention with our staff for immediate attention. Again thank you for your comments and we hope you will again visiti us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing