We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Parking situation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parking situation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Parking the facility is in downtown Silver Spring so it understandable that you are tight on parking spaces but provide free parking!!. Its the only reason i am not giving you excellent on everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Aryitey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    137
    69
    34
    15
See reviews for
209
58
21
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my wife while visiting friends and family in the area. Service was average. The location was excellent with many great restaurants and some good shopping nearby. Room was nice with a good layout and kitchenette and it was clean and comfortable. It is a little bit pricey but maybe that is just because of the area of town it is located in. Breakfast could be improved quite a bit but other than that, a nice place to stay. I enjoyed my stay and it met my expectations but did not exceed my expectations for the price. I'd say it is a nice place to stay for short visits in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinman2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel offers an ecomomical rate close to the Washington, DC area. Breakfast and Manager's receptions are a plus to extended stay guests. The staff is extremely courteous, and will do practically anything to accomodate their guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very convenient location and the hotel has all the amenities you could want including small kitchen, breakfast, pool, fitness center, and parking (though a car is not necessary). It's very close to many interesting restaurants, shopping, subway and bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've stayed at better Homewood's, but this one was clean and quiet. They have only one waffle maker for two hotels to share. Only have valet parking and they charge for that. Try to rip off customers by charging approximately 95% markup on water and chips. Good location for metro. Staff friendliness was fair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overall, great experience. A bit pricey. Clean and excellent service. First experience with two hotels under one roof. Facilities were clean and adequate which is important and especially to my wife. The whirlpool was wonderful. Didn't like wet floors in elevators, but sometimes customers aren't mindful of others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We've stayed at the Homewood Suites in Silver Spring many times over the past few years since our grown children live nearby. We are not overly picky but like a nice comfortable room, and these accommodations work for us. They include a large two-room suite with two flat screen TVs, a decent size bathroom, a kitchen (with cooktop, dishwasher, refrigerator, pots, pans and dishes for cooking), free internet access, a daily self-serve breakfast, and $15 a day valet parking (which is a bit pricey but not completely reasonable for the DC area). We have about a 7-hour drive to get to the city and usually bring a cooler of food and drinks with us. The hotel is also in close walking distance to many restaurants and stores in downtown Silver Spring for those who prefer not to bring their own snacks and drinks. The morning breakfast is okay--lots of variety, even if a bit heavy on the carbs. :) The Homewood Suites Silver Spring employees are usually quite helpful and friendly, and we've had no problems with check-in or check-out during our many stays. I particularly noticed during our last stay how clean the lobby areas were--and while waiting for our car from the valet, I watched as an employee carefully cleaned the front windows and furniture. The only major downside is that the Homewood Suites shares a building with the Hampton Inn (where we also stayed once when Homewood Suites was full), and the horseshoe driveway is small and usually pretty crowded. The only delays we've really ever had are waiting to get into the driveway or waiting for the valet to retrieve our car. We recommend this hotel to friends when they visit the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank RetiredEducator13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing