We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Motel 6 Washington DC(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Takoma Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
249
157
93
46
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
157
93
46
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingfull kitchensofa bedbreakfast and dinnerdc areaextended staymetro stationmovie theaterhome away from homeacross the streetbreakfast roomwhole foodswe've stayedthe hotel managerfamily tripfew blockslocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 568 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days here while on a personal trip. The facility itself is quite welcoming and every effort is made by the staff to provide comfort for the guests. Our suite was one of the smaller ones but still very comfortable. The kitchenette was perfect for small food prep and coffee and tea are well stocked. Sleep comfort is great. The 'Lodge Room' where breakfast is served, is furnished with a seating area around a fireplace and wall-mounted tv in addition to the dining tables. Carry-out boxes are provided for those who wish to take breakfast back to their rooms. This room is available to guests throughout the day with coffee & tea service as well. Evening meals are provided Monday through Thursday of which we took full advantage. We were not disappointed. Location is great for restaurants and a Whole Foods is nearby to help stock the kitchenette. Laundry facilities onsite are very clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking a few moments to write us a review! Customer service is our top priority and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to the property and staff. Please be sure to let us know when you may be visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first time coming to the DC area. We saw the good reviews on this hotel, and were glad we decided to stay there. We travel a bit, have stayed in a LOT of hotels, but were especially pleased with this one. Other than the things mentioned by the other reviewers (close to metro, etc) I would also like to mention how great the staff was. Every morning as we left the gentlemen at the door sent us off with a smile and every evening when we came back we were greeted with a warm and genuine "Welcome Back". The staff was also great the few times we needed a local ride--on the first night in the rain to get some food at the grocery (VERY CLOSE AND CONVENIENT), and to the metro. The cleaning staff is also excellent, and we agreed that this is one of the cleanest places we've stayed in.

The fact that it was an extended stay meant that there was extra cabinet space in the bathroom which was nice since we stayed the week. You can also keep snacks in the fridge and cabinets in the kitchen which is nice.

I want to say a word about dinner (served Monday-Thursday from 5-7) since the website calls it a "light dinner" and the hazy descriptions of other reviews left us wondering if we should stock our fridge with more food when we got there so we wouldn't go to bed hungry at night. The dinner served was PLENTY! Examples of some of the meals served: Hot dogs with 3 alarm chili and chips, Stuffed peppers with potato wedges and chicken gumbo, meatballs with marinara and clam chowder, Cajun chicken with rice and vegetable medley.... Basically, some kind of main entree, another side or two, and usually some sort of bread, and soup. You will also be offered sodas, lemonade, and salad with some of the usual toppings. It was GREAT to come right in from running around DC all day and sit right down to eat and crash! I feel that alone makes this place great for families and makes this hotel a head above the rest.

We were on the 14th floor and I don't know if that was the only reason, but we agreed that it was nice and quiet in there considering how busy the area is.

One downside was the slow internet. They said they are working on the problem so it may not be an issue by the time you get there! This was not a big deal for us since we don't go on vacations to sit at the computer, but it did take us a little longer the times we needed to use the internet to print out tickets to events and our boarding passes. Still, this was not enough to bother us.

The other thing is that the AC blew right in the direction of our bed. I don't like to be hot but I don't like it blowing right on me either (makes me cold+sinus trouble). I had my husband (who LOVES to have it blowing on him) sleep on the side by the unit. Still, I could feel it and wished it could have been directed upwards or something.

Despite these things, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for our room! 1410 :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring.
We certainly cannot wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were in DC for the birth of our grandson and needed a spot to stay for 10 days. Found reviews of the Homewood Suites (about 2 miles from our daughter) and decided to try it. The location could not be better, the price was extremely reasonable, but the full breakfast and dinner 4 nights a week were outstanding. Very nice people and very clean rooms. If you are in DC consider this as a first option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After many years with Hilton Honors, this was my first experience with a Homewood Suites and I am now a huge fan! I loved almost everything about this hotel - from the helpful, friendly Valets to the delicious breakfasts and dinners, to our nice room - which though not very big was big enough and well appointed with everything needed for a week's business stay. The metro (red line) is just 5 minutes walk away. So the two very minor things that I didn't love - 1) the small pool which was crowded with kids and as much as the lifeguard tried to encourage them to stay in one area so others could swim, it wasn't very successful. Not her fault, she really tried! 2) The AC in our room worked fine but the room didn't stay cool very long after it shut off. We found that having the fan over the bed also going at the same time helped keep the air mixed and comfortable in the room. Again, two very minor complaints on a stellar week long stay! Would absolutely return to this hotel and also try another Homewood Suites in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You always get a better view from a higher floor - 14 or 13 floors in this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with the Homewood Suites - Silver Spring so much! Customer service is our number one priority and we are so happy to of exceeded your expectations. Please be sure to let us know when you will be back in town for a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

While visiting my daughter's house in Takoma Park, MD, we had a fire. The Bosch dishwasher panel caught fire and considerable damage was done to the house. Her insurance company, USAA, arranged for 3 of us to stay here while the fire damage is being ameliorated. We were pleasantly surprised. The king suite is clean and comfortable. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and even the sofa bed isn't bad. The kitchen is well equipped also. Breakfasts are sumptuous. Today the spread included pancakes, eggs with steak cubes, potatoes, fresh fruit and juices as well as an assortment of bagels, breads, muffins and juices. Dinner is provided Monday thru Thursday nights and has been tasty. Dinner menus are posted for the entire month. An excellent Perk is the free shopping. As long as the bill is at least $10, an employee will do your shopping and deliver the groceries to your room. The only downers is the price of parking. It's great to have a valet bring your car to the door, but $12 a day seems a bit steep. If you stay here be sure to go to Whole Foods....one of the nicest stores ever.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top...14th floor. Very quiet and decent view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hello Manya O!
We want to thank you so much for taking a few moments to write us a review. Although we are so deeply saddened of the reason for your stay , we are very pleased that we were able to make your time with us as comfortable & pleasant as possible. Again we appreciate your thoughts and are glad that the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring could exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews