We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After many years with Hilton Honors, this was my first experience with a Homewood Suites and I am now a huge fan! I loved almost everything about this hotel - from the helpful, friendly Valets to the delicious breakfasts and dinners, to our nice room - which though not very big was big enough and well appointed with everything needed for a week's business stay. The metro (red line) is just 5 minutes walk away. So the two very minor things that I didn't love - 1) the small pool which was crowded with kids and as much as the lifeguard tried to encourage them to stay in one area so others could swim, it wasn't very successful. Not her fault, she really tried! 2) The AC in our room worked fine but the room didn't stay cool very long after it shut off. We found that having the fan over the bed also going at the same time helped keep the air mixed and comfortable in the room. Again, two very minor complaints on a stellar week long stay! Would absolutely return to this hotel and also try another Homewood Suites in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You always get a better view from a higher floor - 14 or 13 floors in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with the Homewood Suites - Silver Spring so much! Customer service is our number one priority and we are so happy to of exceeded your expectations. Please be sure to let us know when you will be back in town for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    149
    81
    41
    19
See reviews for
240
67
23
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

While visiting my daughter's house in Takoma Park, MD, we had a fire. The Bosch dishwasher panel caught fire and considerable damage was done to the house. Her insurance company, USAA, arranged for 3 of us to stay here while the fire damage is being ameliorated. We were pleasantly surprised. The king suite is clean and comfortable. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and even the sofa bed isn't bad. The kitchen is well equipped also. Breakfasts are sumptuous. Today the spread included pancakes, eggs with steak cubes, potatoes, fresh fruit and juices as well as an assortment of bagels, breads, muffins and juices. Dinner is provided Monday thru Thursday nights and has been tasty. Dinner menus are posted for the entire month. An excellent Perk is the free shopping. As long as the bill is at least $10, an employee will do your shopping and deliver the groceries to your room. The only downers is the price of parking. It's great to have a valet bring your car to the door, but $12 a day seems a bit steep. If you stay here be sure to go to Whole Foods....one of the nicest stores ever.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top...14th floor. Very quiet and decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Manya O!
We want to thank you so much for taking a few moments to write us a review. Although we are so deeply saddened of the reason for your stay , we are very pleased that we were able to make your time with us as comfortable & pleasant as possible. Again we appreciate your thoughts and are glad that the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring could exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for in a family vacation to the DC area. It was just a few blocks walk to the Metro station so the free shuttle that they offered wasn't even necessary. The hotel was clean and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The breakfast in the mornings were amply stocked no matter how early or late you came down and the pool was luxurious with a life guard who could not have been nicer. The valet parking was efficient and if you called ahead, your car was waiting for you. The rooms were fine though a bit tight with the pull out sofa and a cot. But we did utilize the well equipped kitchen accessories. The only issue we had was that the air conditioner was located directly next to the bed and so it blew a cold draft on us the entire night. The noise when the thermostat kicked in was loud and the blowing was unpleasant. The layout of the room was poor. Other than that, we were very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: look at the layout of the particular room to make sure your bed is not on top of the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Simone!
We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts and review. Your comments in regards to the air conditioning have been forwarded to the appropriate personnel. Thank you for your comments so we can address and rectify immediately. We are thrilled that otherwise the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring met your expectations. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your time while with us. Please let us know when you will be in the area again for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Would like to say that there are competitive prices in DC, thus the price at Silver Spring has to be competitive, rather than being on the expensive side. Took Metro from MD to DC. Parking close by at a Public Parking lot with weekdays at 60 cents per hour, free from 7.00 pm to 7.00 am on weekdays and weekends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you found our Homewood Suites – Silver Spring to be a great hotel with an equally great price point. We certainly hope that we can welcome you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

It was a little strange that it is combined with a Hampton Inn with two different check in locations. Everything was standard homewood suites. Breakfast and dinner were good. Of course the managers reception was good too. Beer was nice and cold, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltadwn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello!
We are so pleased to hear of your great stay with us here at the Homewood Suites Silver Spring. We are so happy that you found our food & beverage options to be enjoyable. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My concern regarding this property was the parking. I am not usually a fan of valet service but the valet crews were stupendous and I am not kidding when I say my family felt like they were being welcomed home each time we got back from an outing. Belay was especially great. We were in town for six nights for a competition at College Park. We were allowed to leave our van each day in the drive to go change. The complimentary breakfast and dinner were top notch and well tended to by staff. They even encouraged us to take take out the one night we had to leave before dinner. If there was one concern if was the front desk set up. The desk is shared with the Hampton and our person seemed to always be over there instead of manning the phone. This in no way changes my excellent rating. Great rooms and service.
Considering the great amenities and the fact that they had the lowest rates for what we were looking for, we would definitely book this location again.

Room Tip: first room was a corner room, the others were much larger and at the same rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello B M!
First of all thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate all of your input and comments. We are especially delighted to hear that the valet, breakfast, dinner, and the room rate all exceeded your expectations! Please let us know when you will be in town again so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Homewood Suites for work travel. The room was attractive, roomy and comfortable and fast wifi was included.
I stayed on a weekday night. On weekdays the room fee included both supper and breakfast the next day! The meal which was included with the stay was very nice with lots of offerings and healthy too! Being on a short work trip, it was nice to be able to eat right at the hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The valet staff kindly offered to give me directions to my next destination. Also, they offered to quickly retrieve an item for me that I had left behind in my room.
~A very nice spot in this location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave Homewood Suites- Silver Spring, MD a review! We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Downtown Silver Spring suited your needs! Customer satisfaction is our priority. Please let us know when you will be visiting this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing