We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place for business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

It was a little strange that it is combined with a Hampton Inn with two different check in locations. Everything was standard homewood suites. Breakfast and dinner were good. Of course the managers reception was good too. Beer was nice and cold, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltadwn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello!
We are so pleased to hear of your great stay with us here at the Homewood Suites Silver Spring. We are so happy that you found our food & beverage options to be enjoyable. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    131
    63
    31
    15
See reviews for
197
51
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My concern regarding this property was the parking. I am not usually a fan of valet service but the valet crews were stupendous and I am not kidding when I say my family felt like they were being welcomed home each time we got back from an outing. Belay was especially great. We were in town for six nights for a competition at College Park. We were allowed to leave our van each day in the drive to go change. The complimentary breakfast and dinner were top notch and well tended to by staff. They even encouraged us to take take out the one night we had to leave before dinner. If there was one concern if was the front desk set up. The desk is shared with the Hampton and our person seemed to always be over there instead of manning the phone. This in no way changes my excellent rating. Great rooms and service.
Considering the great amenities and the fact that they had the lowest rates for what we were looking for, we would definitely book this location again.

Room Tip: first room was a corner room, the others were much larger and at the same rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello B M!
First of all thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate all of your input and comments. We are especially delighted to hear that the valet, breakfast, dinner, and the room rate all exceeded your expectations! Please let us know when you will be in town again so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Homewood Suites for work travel. The room was attractive, roomy and comfortable and fast wifi was included.
I stayed on a weekday night. On weekdays the room fee included both supper and breakfast the next day! The meal which was included with the stay was very nice with lots of offerings and healthy too! Being on a short work trip, it was nice to be able to eat right at the hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The valet staff kindly offered to give me directions to my next destination. Also, they offered to quickly retrieve an item for me that I had left behind in my room.
~A very nice spot in this location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave Homewood Suites- Silver Spring, MD a review! We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Downtown Silver Spring suited your needs! Customer satisfaction is our priority. Please let us know when you will be visiting this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the Homewood Suites - Silver Spring with family for a July Weekend getaway visit to Washington DC using Hilton Points. This is a 14 story hotel, (shared with sister property Hampton Inn) in the middle of the Silver Spring, MD.

Parking - Hotel is located in town, a few miles south of the 495 Beltway. You can valet park for $16 per day as there is no on site parking, however on the weekends (7PM Fri - 7AM Mon), parking is free at the garage around the corner located at Fenton St & Cameron St.

Check in - we were traveling with another family and asked for rooms close to each other. Unfortunately we were told the hotel was sold out. The girl at the desk did attempt to make this happen for us, but said she was new to the job and after a few minutes of looking at the computer screen said she could make it work - not a big deal.

Room - One of the main reasons we went with Homewood, was based on a stay at their property in Baltimore's Inner Harbor last summer. There, we had a decent sized kitchen/living room area with separate bedroom area with two double beds. Our room at this location was smaller, with a kitchen utility area just inside the door and then a large room with a double bed and pull out couch. I went to the front desk and asked about having a room with 2 double beds, but was told that all of the Homewood rooms here had 1 bed and a pull out couch. In the end, it wasn't a huge dissatisfier and we made it work. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water. The exhaust vent in the bathroom was LOUD, yet for all the noise seemed to accomplish nothing. The air temp & fan control didn't seem to be working correctly as the wall display kept flashing all sorts of numbers and letters when you touched it and the fan seemed to run constantly, that said the room temp was never too hot or cold. The room was clean and well maintained and the bed was super comfortable.

Dining - We ate breakfast there on Sat & Sun mornings. Food was good, with plenty of items to choose from. Eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, oatmeal, fruit, cold cereal, pastries, etc. While we didnt get to try it, Homewood does offer complimentary dinners Sunday thru Thursday nights as well.

Location - Because we stayed here on a weekend, for dinner, the front desk directed us towards "Downtown Silver Spring" on Ellsworth Dr about a block and half away. This is a pedestrian mall area, with many dining options for all types of budgets. On Friday night there was even a local band playing on the street. Another one of the main reasons we chose this location was for access to the Metro Station in Silver Spring, which is about 3 1/2 blocks (half mile) from the hotel. Easily walkable, which we did, but the hotel can provide a shuttle we were told. For reference, the weekend rate for a round trip from Silver Spring to Smithsonian stop (requires one transfer) is $7.50 per person and takes around 20 minutes if you time things right.

Overall a good place to stay and I would consider coming back for a similar trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ScottfromLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I recently took a new job in Silver Spring which requires that I spend some time out here on a regular basis. In checking the properties, I first selected the Silver Spring Homewood Suites based on their having very competitive rates. Boy what that a great decision. The property is only a few blocks from the center of downtown Silver Spring. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff is very friendly.

I did not try their free breakfast, but that is not a comment on them, but more on me. One of my habits is to visit the local Starbucks to start my day (3 blocks away). The hotel is about 9 blocks from the Metro stop, so it's very convenient for getting anywhere in the district as well.

Room Tip: Higher is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your time with us here at the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. Please let us know when we can expect to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We made very last minute plans to visit Washington DC and when we had difficulty finding a room in DC, we started looking in the surrounding area and that was convenient to the Metro.

This hotel is about 3 blocks away from the Metro and next to a lot of restaurants. However, you won't need a restaurant for breakfast (or dinner if you stay during the week). There is a nice selection of hot and cold breakfast foods, and dinner consists of things like soup, salad a simple main dish, pop, beer, coffee and cookies. We had dinner twice and the food was good and it saved us almost $50 since we didn't have to buy it.

It would be nice if there were rooms with two beds. My two college-age kids
had to share the pullout couch, but they felt it was comfortable enough.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for clean rooms, friendly service and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marshell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello marshell4! Thank you so much for taking some time to write us a review. We are very pleased that you found the rooms clean and our staff friendly! Thank you for staying with us. Please be sure to let us know when you will be in town for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Got a good weekend rate for this hotel.
Parking was free for the weekend in a public lot about a block from the hotel which worked out great. Close to the Metro Station and a lot of restaurants and shops.
Breakfast was good, but there wasn't enough seating, and ran out of some food.
Best to go early to get breakfast.
Room was very nice and comfortable. Has a pull out couch and a full kitchen.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us last month! We really appreciate you taking a moment to write us a review. It is so good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you find yourself in the Silver Spring area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Property: Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Address: 8728 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing