We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice Happy Hour”

McGinty's Public House and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 379 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location and nice Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Did happy hour with my wife and son-drinks and food came out fast and were all very tasty. Our server was from Dublin and was a breath of fresh air.

Helpful?
Thank McKibbinGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    24
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Frog Legs”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When my friend and I finished watching OZ, we strolled up the street and saw this McGinty Pub. We had intended to go the Red Lobster but after looking at the menu posted outside the Restaurant we figured to give it a try.
We started off with the frog legs, which the waiters had told tasted just like chicken but chewy like calamari. And that was totally correct. My friend order the stew sampler. This was a very good choice and if I go back I will order this. It had 3 different stews on there which were all very good. I had the hamburger and fries that weren't bad but lets face it that is a stable at a pub.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“faux Irish”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The booking agent for the bands upstairs is hitting at about a .200 clip. The bartenders usually need a flairgun to get their attention.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big roomy place”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

here with a large business group and had a buffet servered to us. The food was OK. I would prefer to order from the menu.
Beer in bottle was not very cold.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gsk1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average food. Less than average service.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've been here a couple of times. The food was only okay and I didn't feel particularly welcome. Staff took their time greeting me and acted like they were doing me a favor.

That, and the average tasting food sold at high prices, convinced me that I should take myself and my money elsewhere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheryltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinty's Public House and Restaurant also viewed

Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
Silver Spring, Montgomery County
 

Been to McGinty's Public House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing