We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and have a drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lowes Wharf Marina Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherwood
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited the Lowes Wharf Marina this past weekend and I can only say that I expected Jimmy Buffett to pull up and have a drink with us. The place is great if you want to relax by the water. The owner Paul and the staff were great people who made everyone feel welcome. Paul has a $10 million dollar view but I think he has decided to run a place where he would like to go with a fun casual environment and surrounded on three sides by water. If you want to experience the Eastern shore, go here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a very hard place to give an overall rating to because it was such a shock as we had no idea a place like this exisited in this area (meaning Talbot County or even Dorchester county) So it's a nice Sunday afternoon in August, husband and I wanted a drink and nice lunch and I was given this book for Christmas "Crab Decks & Tiki Bars of the Chesapeake Bay" it said there's a bar and restaurant and Inn in Sherwood, MD Well we know that area pretty good or so we thought, how quaint!....First surprise was at 1 pm when we park there's a guy unpacking his quitar and walking to the bayside of building...hmmmm live music?! What a surprise my husband and I had when we came thru the restaurant out to the waterside and outdoor dining area!! Can we really be just outside Tilghman Island? This was like an ad for some beach party, boat party, volley ball destination. Most of the people of all ages were in bathing suits, playing all sorts of outdoor games, with a swimming area cordoned off and some little kids with their parents. Boats (all motor) were moored just off the bulkheaded beach front on about 10 moorings, an inflatible dingy raced out to bring people back and forth, to and from their boats or some people just waded in to the party. Picnic tables lined up 3 deep from waters edge, with big umbrellas, a fire pit was off to the side for another time of day, dockage for about 15 boats(+-), lifeguard stand, an outdoor bar with sail like shading AND a misting system that kicked in often, double adirondack chairs with umbrellas, a gift shop, boat rentals, WOW this place has it all. I don't think there were many locals here...not that there's anything wrong with it....but that was more like we were expecting. It's a place to watch people and be seen...The waitresses were fine, the food was fine, the live music was a nice mix of Dylan, Marshall Tucker, Neil Young... kind of southern rock. Overall It was just a little bit of "overload" for us but we've already done this been there kind of party atmosphere. I think now that we KNOW what to expect we will come prepared to party hardy. There are rooms at the inn but didn't inquire. FYI we felt most of the boaters were from the other side of the Bay hence the party hardy atmosphere! If we didn't know better we would say we walked onto the set of a 2012 version of BEACH PARTY BINGO!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this place for a short weekend trip to get away. Well lets just say our room was not what was expected for the price as i was accompanied by dirt and sand and the smell of musty mold. The service was horrible! Never get waited on by Gina!! Has a nasty attitude and disposition let alone you can hear every sentence that she bad mouths about her place or employment, that really made me want to stay...NOT!Let alone the fact it's impossible to enjoy a drink at the bar without watching her grope the staff, another blonde with glasses didn't seem to mind the attention which made it worse. The only positive was that the view was impeccable, but i am still Never coming back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachbum4793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Whether you decide to spend the night, you must definitely spend the evening at Lowe's Wharf. The FOOD is very good, whether it's light fare, appetizers or a full meal with homemade chips, yummy cole slaw and well prepared entres.

So much fun to play corn hole, ring toss, volleyball, swim, fish or crab all day and evening.

Anything goes at this more than casual restaurant and the wait staff is so accommodating that you can easily relax and just watch the most spectacular sunset of your entire life. Makes you happy to just be there. What a treat!!!

Don't believe the naysayers, see for yourself. Come early and stay late. Toes in the water, chair in the sand and an orange crush chillin' your hand.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here with another couple for the last six years. The owners are wonderful people and extremely accommodating. The food is great. (grilled tuna sandwich and fresh grilled burgers are a must try) As stated in other reviews the sunsets are simply spectacular.

The rooms.... If your looking for Hilton quality probably best to look at places in St. Michaels. We have always found the rooms satisfactory and if there is a issue the staff is always quick to respond. However, we don't usually spend much time in the room. Usually we are fishing from the bulkhead or lounging in the bay sipping a few cocktails. Most of the time with drink service right to the water which make it nice not having to get out to get a drink.

I personally know several other couples that have stayed here and loved their stay. We also have met dozens of other people over the years that feel the same and see several of them every year.

My advice is to ignore the negative reviews and see for yourself!

Room Tip: Not a room tip but if your are interested in a great charter fishing trip ask the owner to get you i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steelrazor53872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Was looking forward to a romantic , relaxing vacation. -found a dive instead. Dirty , buggy mold rooms. Could not relax for a second , was so uncomfortable. Nothing friendly or inviting here except the view. Would recommend to no one.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went to this Inn this past weekend and was greeted by the most friendly owner! The location is awesome!!! The bar was fun and we got to talk to other guests who were either staying there or visiting them from their boats. Everyone was very friendly! The drinks were priced very reasonably! The location is amazing (even though it is approx. 7 miles from the town of St Michael's). You can sit and enjoy the magnificent sunset!! The fire pit kept everyone warm! This little gem in a tiny town is a place to visit! You will never have a view as wonderful as this! The owner is very accommodating and we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Ask for room #7 or #8. The are waterfront views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherwood
6.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
487 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
12.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
43 reviews
6.0 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
4.6 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowes Wharf Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowes Wharf Marina Inn

Address: 21651 Lowes Wharf Rd, P.O. Box 12, Sherwood, MD 21665-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Sherwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sherwood
Price Range: $118 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lowes Wharf Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maryland's Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay between St. Michaels and Tilghman Island. Come join us in our island like setting and watch our spectacular sunsets. Offering waterfront guest rooms, restaurant, patio bar, marina, crabbing, kayaking, bicycling, or just sitting back on our private beach watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lowes Wharf Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowes Wharf Marina Hotel Sherwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing