We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place”

Historic Savage Mill
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Savage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
washington dc
Level Contributor
328 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quaint place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Neat local place with charm. Interesting mix of shops in a historic mill. Great trip from Washington for 1/2 day.

Helpful?
Thank weekendwonder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting shops to explore”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stopped here with my two teenagers just out of curiosity. We all enjoyed going through the different shops and the kids especially enjoyed the game store where they could go upstairs and try out some of the new games they have for sale. We also went crazy at a second-hand store that sells everything for $5 - blazers, shoes, coats, jeans, etc. - all in excellent shape. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but we passed an ice cream shop that look amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hnewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the trip...”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A variety of shops clustered in an old mill in rural Maryland. The Rams Head Tavern, with outdoor seating overlooking the river, and both dining room, pub, and live music is worth a drive. Excellent food, energetic and enthusiastic service, large portions, and comfortable ambience. Nice place to wander about. The bakery on the main floor of the mill, Bonaparte breads, is superb. Save the bakery for desert and a walkabout. Cross the old bridge and read the signage. Well worth a drive; take your time at lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank buschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic fun”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a great place to walk around the old buildings and when you go inside they have all kinds of shops, including crafts, antiques, artistic collections of all kinds. There is a restaurant called the Rams Head that is right in the middle that has fantastic food! We also found a wonderful french bakery in there also. Only spent a little time so am looking forward to going back and spending time in all the shops.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
583 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“This old complex houses great antique shops and some restaurants”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The antique shops at Savage Mill are very high quality. There are probably 50 to 60 individual dealers covering the whole ballpark of yesteryear products. There are restaurants in the complex and also a modern shopping area on the top level. We recommend the antique shops if that is something of interest to you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Savage Mill also viewed

 

Been to Historic Savage Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing