We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Salisbury
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Front desk person at both check in and check out were completely unfriendly and barely interactive. No hello and goodbye, thanks for being a Gold member, enjoy your stay, no smiles etc.

Hotel room was very noisy, both from parking lot out front and paper-thin walls.

Room and very clean. Bedding, including the pillows were very old. Bed was uncomfortable.

Ample parking and lots of chain restaurants withina short walk/drive.

I wouldn't stay here again given the noise and uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Courtyard Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Philly Lover,

Thank you for sharing your candid and honest feedback regarding your stay with us in
April, 2013. As the new General Manager of this hotel, I am obviously disappointed with the service that you were (not)provided.

Sometimes there are things that are not in our immediate control like noise from outside or thin walls however old and uncomfortable bedding - will take some time but will definitely be replaced.

Customer service, smiles and friendly staff are things that are totally controllable. This has been a focus of mine from Day1. I am passionate about service and I can promise you that I will make sure my staff feels the same.

I sincerely apologize for your experience and I hope that you WILL change your mind and visit us again. We can block a room for you on the quieter side of the building and I know that the service will be different.

I thank you again for your comments and truly hope that we will see you again.

Yours in service,

Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Salisbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times for the PCA National Dog Show and am always impressed by the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I am a Marriott rewards member and stay at Marriott and Ritz Carlton properties several times a year. This is definitely the nicest Courtyard I have ever stayed at. A very well maintained property with pleasant employees; a bonus is an Outback across the parking lot that saves a drive to a resturant with several other restaurants close by. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Courtyard Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Joanne L,

I couldn't ask for a better guest experience!

I am glad that you have a great time whenever you stay with us! We love having the Poodles here with their parents and I believe we have as much fun as our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Yours in service,

Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel, friendly enough staff. First night went well but the second night my room was infested with ants. I called the front desk and (after a bit of a wait) the night manager came to my room with bug spray in hand. He immediately offered to move me to another hotel (they were full) but I did not want to move, as I was not traveling alone and I didn't want to pack up and leave for one more night in Salisbury.

Although the ants and bug spray smell were horrible, I was impressed with how the hotel handled the situation. First they offered to move me to another hotel and the next morning the manager did not charge me for the second night - I didn't have to ask or "bargain" for some type of compensation.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the breakfast. Plenty of places to eat all around the hotel.

Overall an average stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank rrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Courtyard Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear rrpk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience when you stayed with us at The Courtyard by Marriott in Salisbury, MD. I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience while you were here. Although I am glad that you were pleased with how the situation was handled, events like that can really but a damper on an otherwise great stay.

We have enlisted the help of a leading pest control company that now visits the hotel monthly to ensure we don't have similar problems. I won't say that we will never see another ant, but I truly believe it has gotten much better.

I hope that when in Salisbury the next time, you will come and visit us again.

Yours in service,

Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A friendly greeting will always welcome you to this Marriott Courtyard property. The front desk employees and cleaning staff all seem happy to assist you. Rooms are clean, spacious and thoughtful to the needs of a business traveler (convenient lifting & outlets). Free wi-fi is always a nice touch!

I was present for a business meeting, and the servicing of the meeting room and buffet lunch were very good. (The freshly baked cookies were yummy too!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiB0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl P, General Manager at Courtyard Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Jackib0312,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us in April, 2013. I am thrilled to know that all staff members made you feel welcomed. It is our goal that all guests feel comfortable and genuinely welcomed liked they are a guest in our homes.

I am a new addition to the Courtyard family but I am already feeling great about our hotel.

I know that we will see you again the next time that you travel to Salisbury.

Yours in service,

Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Salisbury, Maryland. The room is always clean, the bed and pillows are really comfortable, and the location is great. I actually left my "back-up" pillow from home in my car overnight. There is an Outback restaurant across the parking lot; on this visit 1st takeout meal there that I have not been happy with, have always been happy with this Outback in the past. Anytime I stay in Salisbury, MD, I will choose this hotel if it is available. I have stayed at 3 other hotels in Salisbury in the past and I truly think this is the best.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor (top floor) and it was great. No noise from other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewey1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of being the recipient of a surprise birthday party at the Courtyard by Marriott on Sat., Mar. 9, 2013. The attention and service could not have been better. My daughter, who lives two hours away, planned the occasion with the hotel staff, and repeatedly stated how accommodating everyone was; from Management to Wait-Staff. The room, the food, the patience of everyone there is to be commended. In this day and time, great service is hard to come by......Courtyard by Marriott Salisbury, you have gone beyond. I will definintely recommend you to anyone; and I thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not as "fancy" as some Courtyards but immaculately clean and quiet (at the end of the hall anyway!). Only downside- no towels. Which I discovered after 9pm, lots of air and windshield time and just a long day... as I was ready to shower. Had to call downstairs and wait for towels, which were brought. I understand they wanted to make sure I was taken care of but a call from housekeeping at almost midnight was not a good idea people. I was TIRED.

Room Tip: All king beds are by the elevators business travelers- just an FYI you'll need a double queen to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
767 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Salisbury
Residence Inn Salisbury
#7 of 14 in Salisbury
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Salisbury

Address: 128 Troopers Way, Salisbury, MD 21804-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
#3 Business Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $125 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Salisbury 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Salisbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Salisbury Courtyard
Salisbury Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing