We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will pass on staying” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“will pass on staying”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I read all the reviews and our party will pass on staying at the Country Inn and Suites Salisbury. When I read the staff smokes that did it for us all. The Inn sounds doesn't fit our needs for a quiet place for us to rest during our vacation. Also the reviews with a bug problem was very disturbing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank maryland m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Maryland M,

I am sad to read that you and your family are not willing to give the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson an opportunity to show you that we are a wonderful hotel. Each hotel has the opportunity to make changes to improve. As our guests provide valuable feedback, we are able to tweek our current policies to be able to assist our guests needs. We hope that you may consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    48
    28
    52
See reviews for
170
68
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in this place a few weeks ago. We had requested in advance a quiet room.
Upon check-in I was told that the quietest rooms were on the road side, as the parking side would be more noisy. Arriving at our room, it did face the parking lot.... After intervention of the manager Ann Wester, we were now given a road side room where due to the delay in this entire procedure we hastily and left our luggage. As we had a late evening function, upon arrival we discovered that we were less than 100' from a busy main road and all kinds of noise went on until 3AM on the parking lot (which surrounds the entire building...). Sleeping (with ear plugs) was virtually impossible after 6 AM. The bed linen, although clean looked like it had not ironed. The bill for 'fast check-out' was wrongly billed in 2 areas (and substantially over the reserved price).
Ann Webster the manager did correct that. Be aware that she does not have the faintest clue as to what hospitality or tact means. She is the rudest hotel person ever encountered (I slept for most of my life at least 3 nights a week in a hotel). She has an argument for everything... but one that lacks in logic and any form of customer oriented service.
A letter to the chain's customer service, resulted in a sarcastically toned letter that not in the least lead to any customer satisfaction. I may be hard to please, but there are many other and better options to stay in Salisbury than this place.

Room Tip: Look for at least a 4/5 location... and read the reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Flyludo,

Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, MD. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our facility takes each request form our guests and does everything we can to assist. There are times that we are unable to meet each request. In your particular case, we were unable to place you on the other side of the building as the rooms were previously occupied. We were able to place you in a room where there were not any surrounding guests. I have shared your concerns with the hotel team member s so that we may be able to continue improving our guest experiences. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room was very nice but having to park in the back to utilize the only working elevator and lug our bags the whole length of the building was a hassle. It would have been easier to go in se the front and used the stairs but the sports bar next door took all the close parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfixhackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Dfixhackster,

Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, MD. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the parking. We are continuously looking for ways that we can improve our guests’ experience. The Country Inn & Suites is a 3 story building with one elevator centrally located to ease access for all areas of the hotel. I apologize if the elevator was out of order during your stay. We work quickly to repair any unexpected inconveniences. Thank you again for choosing the Country Inn & Suites.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The checkin was quick and easy. The front desk was very nice. The room was large. The shower could use a lil extra cleaning but overall the room was clean and comfortable. The AC worked awesome (thank goodness cause it was close to 100 degrees outside). The breakfast was good nothing fabulous except the make your own waffles. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Tiffany R,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the breakfast and housekeeping teams so we may improve for each of our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reserved two rooms for two nights stay. No cleaning service on BOTH rooms. Some ruthless young people making loud noises near hotel parking lot during 2:00 a.m. So noisy that we cannot fall to sleep. Informed night time front desk person. She said police was called in and resolved noise issue. She also told us to get clean towels ourselves. I found that extremely unacceptable when customers' rooms didn't get clean and have to walk up to front desk to get clean towels. There was no apology at all.
Also found some mysterious undisclosed charges to my credit card account as "temporary" even though the room charges have already been paid in full. I will wait a few days to see if they are "temporary"

Room Tip: Read comments from all available sources to evaluate. Many comments are true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Albert,

Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, MD. I apologize that your rooms were not serviced during your stay. I have shared your comments with my hotel team and also implemented some changes to improve our guest’s experience. To assist our guests with billing questions, we have posted a note located at the front desk explaining the authorization process when checking in. It is a temporary hold that is placed on the account until our guests' check out. After check out it may take your banking institution up to 5 business days to release funds back to your account. I hope that this assists with your questions regarding your billing. Thank you again.
Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I feel at home at this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. This is my #1 choice when in the area. I have been coming here for business for over a year and it has been relaxing 95% of the time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to this "neck of the woods".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrlang61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Irlang61,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience at the Country Inn & Suites. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us. You have truly become part of our family and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We didn't choose this place for our overnight stay, Priceline did. For 67.00 + tax, I would stay here again.We didn't make use of the poo, but from what I did see, the public areas were clean and odor-free. Our room was definitely clean, and had a nice size frig and microwave in it. The coffee set-up in our room had a couple kinds of tea as well as coffee. The furniture was in good shape, and the bed was comfortable. What exceeded our expectations was the extent of the breakfast offerings. I thought there would be bagels, cereal, pastry, and fruit. There were 2 waffle makers, eggs (not so great), sausage patties and hot oatmeal as well. There might have been yogurt, but I wasn't looking for it and didn't see it. The coffee was good, not too weak.

Room Tip: Room 119 was conveniently located near a side entrance, but it did seem a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yazee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_SAMD, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Yazee1,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Salisbury, MD. We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations. Hopefully on your next trip to the area, you will be able to enjoy the heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Salisbury
Courtyard Salisbury
#3 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Salisbury
Residence Inn Salisbury
#7 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury
Address: 1804 Sweetbay Drive, Salisbury, MD 21804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Business Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is currently renovating to improve the comfort of our guests. We appreciate your patience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Salisbury
Country Inn & Suites Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Country Inn Salisbury
Salisbury Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing