We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a real restaurant in there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Taverna

Cactus Taverna
Ranked #1 of 193 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There is a real restaurant in there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

First, do not let the store front that the restaurant is located in fool you. The exterior is very plain set in a strip mall location. I never gave the place a second thought until the desk attendant at the hotel recommended it.

And I am glad she did! The interior stucco reminds me of Medditerranean style retaurant with comfortable lighting and pleasant light music playing. This is a great Mediterranean/Mexican/American fusion of food. I had grouper with crab imperial toping and it was fantastic. The fresh steamed vegetables were done very well. Their totilla chips tasted home made and were warm and very tastey. They have a good wine and beer selection. The service here is SPECTACULAR! My server was great and when other servers went by they always checked if I needed more water or more tortilla chips, etc. Very attentive and professional. So, disregard the plain exterior. This place is exceptional in all of the right places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colabear605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glad I checked it out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Gotta love any restaurant where the owner comes up at the end and asks you how you enjoyed the meal and thanks you for coming. Was driving up 13 on a long trip and stopped for dinner, this is a nice spot in a sea of chain restaurants.
The staff is attentive and nice, and the food tastes way more hand crafted than a lot of other Mexican restaurants that have that "just heated up and exactly like the Mexican place down the street...right down to the meal number" feel.
My fajitas were great, my wife and kids enjoyed the soup. Next time my travels take me through the area, I'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All around great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Cactus Taverna. Even though it was 10 pm they welcomed us like it was 7pm. Never rushed us through like some other restaurants would at this hour. Heather who is a manager was our server. She was great! We ordered margaritas but she also gave us samples of their wine margarita and both homemade sangrias. Yummy! The grouper with crabmeat was incredible and so fairly priced at $17.95. The beef medallion kebobs were so tender and tasty. No room for desert but got it to go. Heather finished out our meal with complimentary port. Very nice touch in today's world. We visit Salisbury at least once a month and this will be our dining out spot from now on.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaeDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not many restaurants where the owner comes to visit at your table and makes you feel at home, but this is one. Quite a varied menu, you're guaranteed to find something on it that appeals to you. Mid-range prices and very good food, with friendly wait staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Menu in Salisbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The real attraction here is not the Mexican/Spanish side of the menu. You can get that stuff anywhere. The entrees and service are superb. The Seafood dishes are amazing. Anything with the cream sauce is great. I recommend you go on a Friday or Saturday, but early, since they will be busy and the service and food turn-around is just at a different level. Live music on Fri and Sat, too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianaW528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing