We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star but not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed her for 6 nights following 10 days of site-seeing in New York Baltimore and Philadelphia so needed complete rest This is a perfect spot for that beautiful room looking out to the water with a terrace The food in the evening was very good but expensive service good also. Breakfast was OK service slow each morning when the toast arrived I had to ask for butter and jams no plate to put the toast on so used the table cloth.When we arrived we were given a key and told how to get to it. You would expect to be shown the room and asked if it all OK, also to be shown how every thing works. That is what you should get in a top class hotel.
Saying all this I would recommend the hotel even if at 600 $ including tax it is expensive but lovely.
We have stayed at other Orient Express hotels and the service was a lot better

Room Tip: if you go for a room facing the see go for one that is away from the dining room not because of the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaundenTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Service was impeccable. The rooms are kept spotless and well stocked. I can't say i have ever seen a better housekeeping team anywhere. The grounds are beautiful. Activities are interesting and entertaining. Bert provided a relaxing kayak tour. The champagne tasting was fun. The pool is beautifully landscaped. The views from the room are incredible. We went in September so nearly all of the guests were adults and respectful of the relaxing atmosphere. Such a great weekend away spot for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for water view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billandtammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very beautiful facility and nice Rooms. Staff is very helpful and friendly. They offer bicycles for free to take a ride around what is very great. We joined the kayak-tour and it was a fantastic experience. The Poolarea is small but also very private what is very pleasant.
We also went to the Restaurant and were impressed. They offer local Food with modern and creative touches. The Crab Cakes where one of the best we have had so far.
Only the breakfast service was very slow on every of our four days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very few places are as beautiful as Maryland's Eastern Shore on a late summer day and the Inn at Perry Cabin has a lovely location on the Miles River to take full advantage. The grounds and gardens are delightful.

Our room was located on the first floor in the original or older part of the hotel and had a nice un-screened porch with a water view. The room itself was fine though a bit small for the price [$500 a night] and the bathroom was definitely old school [I believe the last renovation was about 10 years ago]. It's time to replace the bed which was lumpy and the bed frame was old and very creaky even when just getting in and out of it [again I cite the price]. Walls and ceilings must be thin as we could hear voices and foot movements above and voices in the hallway.

The staff generally was quite helpful though I found them a bit detached rather than warm. All requests were promptly taken care of, however. Housekeeping was outstanding in the morning and night turn down.

WIFI is free [really as it should be everywhere now] but breakfast was not included in our room rate and for two tallied up to $50 each day. Seems as though the coffee could at least be included..[nope - $4 a cup]. Nickle and diming at a top resort is always irksome to me. I was particularly surprised that, having left a necklace in the room and calling to ask if it could be found and mailed, I was first asked for my credit card number again in order to get it mailed to me - [this after dropping $2000 for the weekend].

The spa treatments were fine, about on par with other places we've been but the facility could definitely use a face lift - the locker room is small and there is nowhere to sit to even put on your shoes and the waiting room too is small though there is a nice big picture window onto a garden. Again, staff was quite efficient here.

All in all, it's a nice location and you'll have a fine time but the hotel simply isn't as elegant or polished as the prices would dictate.

Room Tip: Definitely on the water side; second floor might be preferable as people do walk by your room if you...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

great place to splurge and spend a few days and nights if you plan on taking advantage of the place! If you are planning on heading out all day and only need a clean place to sleep go else where. This is place is to be appreciated and savored. Rooms and bathroom were beautiful and clean. Room service was cold and wrong but they addressed our needs promptly. Sitting on the lawn over looking the bay is a wonderful way to start and end your day. Make sure to take advantage of the free bikes and smores! Not a great place to bring kids.
The spa was A class - fabulous masseuse. We loved the baci court and gardens. Fridays the serve free champagne at 3ish. High tea was a treat! Wonderful place to spend a ton of money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMBNYC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Director of Operations at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you were able to take advantage of some of our offerings such as the Smores and bicycles. When you come back, you will definitely have to try our kayaks, Yoga and fishing excursion next time!

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I fell in love with the Eastern shore of Maryland mostly because of my stay at The Inn at Perry Cabin. The staff was wonderful and the food in the restaurant was gourmet. The property is beautiful with gardens and wide views of the waterway with sailboats and kayaks. There were classes and activities you could sign up for if you liked. The town of St Michaels was quaint with shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Each time we have stayed at this establishment we have had such a relaxing and pampered experience. The views of the Miles River estuary is so very peaceful and scenic. The rooms are comforting and comfortable. The staff have been nothing but stellar, as is the breakfast dining experience in the nautically themed dining room. An Inn that provides a treasured time in a gorgeous region of the USA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
474 reviews
18.2 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
4.8 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range: $388 - $998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing